We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond expectations”
Review of Greyton Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greyton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greyton Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Greyton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My stay at Greyton Lodge was way beyond expectations. The place was bought and renovated just over a year ago. The lodge itself is gorgeous, beautiful public areas and rooms. The only thing which may be a problem for some are the open plan bathrooms in some of the rooms (not all). Okay for single people or couples who are totally comfortable with one another. Breakfast was amazing...you have to try the chef's "with everything" omelette!! Hospitality provided by the owners, Hendrik and Renjsha was wonderful and I was delighted to meet their son on the last day - Hendrie - who was responsible for all the interior decorating which features in the current VISI magazine. I will most certainly be back!!

Room Tip: Entry level bedrooms are small and with open plan toilet/bathrooms. Okay for single people.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tesproos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Greyton Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

We took a chance and drove 30 kilometres off the N2 and into Greyton at 5.30pm on a Friday evening. We were warmly greeted by host Hendrik and given the last room available for that night. And what a treat it was, with slick furnishings and linen and a most comfortable king-sized bed. The glass divider between bedroom and bathroom is a clever way of creating space -- although it's not always easy sharing such very private area.
Next morning we wandered along the paved paths through the pretty garden, and were welcomed into the lovely dining room by hosts and fellow guests. A fire glowed invitingly in the hearth. and we tucked into an extensive breakfast -- what more could we ask?
As the sun peeped through the clouds, we strolled down to the Saturday morning market -- a regular feature that attracts people to the lovely town of Greyton from near and far.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caldut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Between the mountians in the main street of Greyton you will find this place. Old style buildings out of the previous century, but modern and upmarket inside. The owner and staff are so friendly. The accommodation clean and the food excellent. A must to visit

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Whilst looking for a quality relaxing short break from Cape Town, we came across Greyton Lodge via recommendation from the Greyton publicity association. We could have not had a better experience, Liz and Hendrick a brother and sister team from the North West Province were incredible spending large amounts of time chatting with us and pampering us for those three days. They also provided wonderful advice to a range of activities and ensured that we linked up with the right individuals when going out for a meal, cup of coffee or site seeing in the surrounding farmland. Nothing was too much for them and the contemporary yet respectful decor, artwork and facilities were both professionally done but maintained the charm and grandeur of Greyton. Liz and Hendrick certainly brought tasteful balance to what could have been a tried and staid old colonial building. The lodge is on the main street (literally) in Greyton and we spent most of the time walking and enjoying the varied craft, artisanal and specialty shops and restaurants. For my mother and I this has certainly become one of our favourite lodges within an hour and half of Cape Town, making it easily accessible by car just off the N2. For small weddings, family events and similar it is a spot on venue. A Saturday evening dinner at the Blue Door restaurant just down the road from Greyton Lodge is also recommended. The tasty wholesome breakfasts and afternoon meals at the lodge made the stay easy and relaxing, especially when spending time in their lovely garden soaking up the warm sun.

Room Tip: The rooms are in separate buildings from the main lodge building, so for elderly guests book rooms c...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshwellGlasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The perfect Greyton retreat. A modern take on a grand old dame, the decor and ambience worthy of a spot on Top Billing! Hendrick, Liz and team, welcoming you and ensuring that your every whim is satisfied, in an assuming fashion. They do the 'small' things well and effortlessly. We will be back. The Domingo's. PS. If a romantic weekend is what you're after, a request for a 'non open plan bathroom' may be considered, your choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheDomingos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Greyton Lodge is a must when staying in Greyton. Lovely little town with little shops and restaurants. The Lodge is perfectly situated and in convenient distance of all there is to see. Excellent rooms, beautiful setting, excellent service, wonderful breakfast.

Room Tip: We stayed in room No. 7. Very comfortable. The bathroom is part of the bedroom which might not suit...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HenryAmsinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

we loved our stay in this quaint little town. the Greyton Lodge is fresh and modern in the midst of an old world charming town. the interior is very different. the gardens are beautiful, rooms a llittle small and the open plan bathrooms are really not nice! Especially on a romantic break-away... The owners and his family is excellent hosts and makes you feel very much at home. Youmight be lucky to have live music on a friday night! Great place for a romantic weekend!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charmaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greyton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Post House Country House
0.4 mi away
Old Potter's Inn and Brewhouse
4.9 mi away
Oewerzicht
Oewerzicht
#1 of 10 in Greyton
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cedric's County Lodge
Cedric's County Lodge
#5 of 10 in Greyton
10 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Fiore Garden Centre
#6 of 10 in Greyton
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greyton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greyton Lodge

Address: 52 Main Road, Greyton 7233, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Greyton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Greyton
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing