We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish Country Retreat”
Review of Greyton Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greyton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greyton Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Greyton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stylish Country Retreat”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

What a delightful surprise Greyton Lodge was. Tasteful, luxuriously appointed rooms. Beautiful garden and pool area. Our hosts were wonderful and made us feel so welcome. Breakfast was excellent, piles of fresh fruit and the hot breakfast done to perfection. I'm hoping to have an excuse to return soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    16
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
19
41
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We were in Greyton for a wedding. Since the wedding venue was not available for guests, we booked this lodge....and what a nice surprise....
It was like coming home. Such a warm welcome, very comfortable and well decorated room and very very nice overall accomodation.
Although they do not serve lunch, officially, at request they fixed us a well prepared lunch! That's service.
We were helped with a stain in a shirt, which was also ironed, so we could attend the wedding as planned and in time!
The morning we left, a booking for our next accomodation was made and a nice bottle of wine given as a goodbye present.
If you go to Greyton, make sure to book at Liz & Hendrik's place!

Room Tip: The room we had, is with all the other rooms in the main building garden faced. Everything is new de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Applemoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

When we called at Greyton Lodge, a recently revamped B & B, in the pretty village of Greyton a couple of months ago, Liz very kindly showed us all the rooms and facilities and gave us a pricelist. We returned to Greyton Lodge this weekend and spent Sunday night there in the Manor House. The rooms are tastefully decorated, Hendrik and Liz made us feel very welcome and we had an excellent breakfast this morning. This is a lovely place to stay at while visiting Greyton. After walking around the village, one can unwind in the beautiful garden with the mountains as a backdrop. Although the rooms do not have TVs, this is not a negative as Greyton is the place you want to visit to relax and enjoy the scenery and escape from city life.

Room Tip: If you prefer to have a bigger bathroom, choose an open plan room. All rooms are on ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the newly renovated Greyton Lodge this weekend. What a pleasure it was. We had a modern room that was extremely comfortable. Being nearly 2 meters tall I requested a extra long bed which was provided. Breakfast was outstanding with freshly baked scones and the best scrambled eggs we have tasted in a long time. The lounge was warm and comfortable with a good selection of wines available. When I booked they kindly booked us into a restaurant in the village for dinner. The garden is a a nice place to sit and relax. Nice venue for a wedding as well. Overall a very enjoyable experience which I can highly recommend.

Room Tip: Tell them your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muttas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My stay at Greyton Lodge was way beyond expectations. The place was bought and renovated just over a year ago. The lodge itself is gorgeous, beautiful public areas and rooms. The only thing which may be a problem for some are the open plan bathrooms in some of the rooms (not all). Okay for single people or couples who are totally comfortable with one another. Breakfast was amazing...you have to try the chef's "with everything" omelette!! Hospitality provided by the owners, Hendrik and Renjsha was wonderful and I was delighted to meet their son on the last day - Hendrie - who was responsible for all the interior decorating which features in the current VISI magazine. I will most certainly be back!!

Room Tip: Entry level bedrooms are small and with open plan toilet/bathrooms. Okay for single people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tesproos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We took a chance and drove 30 kilometres off the N2 and into Greyton at 5.30pm on a Friday evening. We were warmly greeted by host Hendrik and given the last room available for that night. And what a treat it was, with slick furnishings and linen and a most comfortable king-sized bed. The glass divider between bedroom and bathroom is a clever way of creating space -- although it's not always easy sharing such very private area.
Next morning we wandered along the paved paths through the pretty garden, and were welcomed into the lovely dining room by hosts and fellow guests. A fire glowed invitingly in the hearth. and we tucked into an extensive breakfast -- what more could we ask?
As the sun peeped through the clouds, we strolled down to the Saturday morning market -- a regular feature that attracts people to the lovely town of Greyton from near and far.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caldut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordview, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Between the mountians in the main street of Greyton you will find this place. Old style buildings out of the previous century, but modern and upmarket inside. The owner and staff are so friendly. The accommodation clean and the food excellent. A must to visit

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greyton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Post House Country House
0.3 mi away
Cedric's County Lodge
Cedric's County Lodge
#5 of 9 in Greyton
10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Potter's Inn and Brewhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Oewerzicht
Oewerzicht
#1 of 9 in Greyton
282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Greyton EcoLodge
Greyton EcoLodge
#3 of 9 in Greyton
9 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Fiore Garden Centre
#6 of 9 in Greyton
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greyton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greyton Lodge

Property: Greyton Lodge
Address: 52 Main Road, Greyton 7233, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Greyton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Greyton
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing