We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treetop retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greyton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anna's Country Accommodation
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We wanted to spend a romantic night in Greyton and the Treetop Cottage certainly delivered! Arty, cozy atmosphere. Perfect for a couples' quick weekend away. Close to all the restaurants and also provides well for self catering purposes.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GrotmanOlivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Anna's Country Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

We spent a week in Anna's Garden Cottage and counted the days before leaving. What a huge disappointment. The room itself dark and dingy, situated in a overgrown dark creepy garden. I have never seen such a disgusting shower area, an absolute nightmare...horrid green walls, disgusting non slip mat and bathroom mat, with green towels that were so thin and had to last us our complete stay. We couldn't wait t leave and would have if it were for the fact that we had already paid upfront. The kitchen facility is almost non existent with a single bread knife to act as our cutting blade. No proper kettle we had to use a teapot to boil water. The place felt dirty and unkempt. We hated it! Such a big disappointment.

Room Tip: Only choose the Treehouse, Lavender cottage and Garden cottage so dark you almost need a torch durin...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank VanRowe1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

a treehouse in greyton?!! what a surprise awaited us, the treehouse is part of anna's collection of houses, your car is parked off street and the outside is grown with plants and trees and everything you can think of. the steps leads you to a small deck/stoep and a sliding door into the house. here you will find a small basig, microwave, gas plates, all your crockery and cutlery, bar fridge, if you had enough of greyton's quisene, you can make your own food or just have braai outside. the double bed has comforter and a down duvet, in a small cupboard you will find a tv with basic channels, a slipper bath looking out into the garden but also part of the room, outside shower, seperate toilet what more to you want it feels like you are in africa!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yvettealbertse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This was my husband's first visit to South Africa, and I could not have chosen a more intimate or charming venue for our time in Greyton. We stayed in the Tree House, which was an absolute treat. Though only one room, it offered more than enough space for our needs with a stand-alone bath, outdoor shower, kitchen, outdoor dining area, as well as braaiing area. We were charmed by the interior design and Anna's hospitality. We're definitely hoping to return there when we're back in the country!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed two nights in the Tree House and found it absolutely wonderful - magical.

It comprises one room, but there's plenty of space for a couple. The kitchen is minute, but has everything except an oven - we called ahead and then changed our plans for out first night's supper to something we could make on the gas stove.

The slipper bath is situated in front of floor to ceiling windows; you feel like you're bathing in the tree tops! The full moon was out, we switched off the lights. It was, well, magical! There's an outdoor shower too. Both bath and shower cannot be seen from down below; they're completely private.

There's a romantic little table indoors at which to eat by candlelight, and a spacious sheltered deck outside with four chairs. Down below there's a big braai area; it seems as though they've made the most of the space available so that if you have friends nearby you can invite them round for a braai.

The cottages are a 2min walk from the Saturday morning market (10am-midday) at which you can buy excellent quality things to eat. We bought delicious cheese, pesto, honey, lemon curd... You get the idea. There's also lovely veggies and fruit available at astonishingly low prices (bags of apples and naartjies for R5 each...)

It's also near, but not on Main Road along which there's a wide variety of restaurants. We ate at Searles and enjoyed a good, well priced meal.

At the information office (also on Main Road) you can get maps and descriptions of the walks in the town and the hikes in the nearby nature reserve.

Don't miss the Von Geusau Chocolate Factory. There's a range of tasters and a wide variety of hand made chocolate on offer. Expensive but oh, so good.

We thoroughly recommend the Tree House with just one caveat - if the wind blows, the house creaks and groans alarmingly - the tree trunks actually come through the house!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank robdotinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We booked on-line and paid in advance, hoping for a dog-friendly place for a few days. We were assured of a garden for our dog, but when we arrived we were horrified to see an overgrown, neglected piece of land, where, in the heat of summer, could be home to snakes etc. The cottage was very dark and dingy, with beds on either side of the main room, built into the walls like cupboards. The basin in the bathroom was so small, even washing one's face would be impossible. The little gas plate in the kitchen was really inadequate. We found another place, and just said goodbye to the cost of the first night. Great pity.

Room Tip: Do not book Mark cottage. There are two cottages advertised, and perhaps the other one offers a hig...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jeannieC875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greyton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Post House Country House
4.9 mi away
Oewerzicht
Oewerzicht
#1 of 10 in Greyton
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Potter's Inn and Brewhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cedric's County Lodge
Cedric's County Lodge
#5 of 10 in Greyton
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Fiore Garden Centre
#6 of 10 in Greyton
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna's Country Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna's Country Accommodation

Address: 1 Cross Market Street, Greyton 7233, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Greyton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Greyton
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing