We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at The Post House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Post House Country House
Ranked #1 of 7 Greyton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Post House. The service was excellent, everybody was so friendly and helpful. Dinner, especially the chicken and couscous, butternut soup and chocolate pavlova, was perfect. The advertisement - " Give that man a Bells - was shot in The Post House Pub, a small enchanted bar. The most popular place in this cold was the couch in front of the fireplace - they even served our dinner there. Thanks Heidi!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra101600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Following a very disappointing start to our visit to Greyton the situation was salvaged by a very pleasant stay at The Post House where we were fortunately able to find accommodation. Their well appointed rooms all open onto a gorgeous garden where one can enjoy the tranquility. A lovely secluded pool area is also available. The dining room is charmingly decorated with thought and sensitive to the age of the building. The staff are well trained, obliging and attentive.
The old English style pub had a roaring fire where we enjoyed a pre dinner drink. Breakfast was well prepared and served in the dining room followed by coffee on the balcony outside from where we watched the village waking. We look forward to our next visit to Greyton and another stay at The Post House

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GassinT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

we stayed for 1 night without prior booking. there are a few other b&b's in greyton, a village where you think any minute an ox waggon might come down the road. very quite. as we came through on a monday only 1 restaurant was open. breakfast at the posthouse was served on our veranda. small pool. lovely little garden. the whole experience was charming.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welltravelledHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Greyton is a lovely little town, a romantic getaway. The gardens of the post house are beautiful and definitely make for an enchanted entrance to any of the rooms. One can sit in the garden during the day reading a book and just soaking up the sun and enjoying the peacefulness. At night its ideal for after dinner drinks. The room is average and some of the furniture a bit tired - for example torn upholstery. The breakfast lacks some sparkle and it not what I expect from a 4 star establishment. There was only 2 simple hot dishes yoghurt and museli, two breads and 3 cheeses. The fruit salad was going brown. Breakfast does not need to be a lot of foods but it should be something enjoyable and special in a 4 star establishment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CJvdV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4628
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Moved here very quickly looking for clean and comfort after the horror of The Auberge (a b&b also in the village) and we found it at The Posthouse. Good sized rooms, clean and comfortable. The staff were very approachable, friendly and helpful unlike the Auberge. Breakfast was very good, delightful gardens, nice little plunge pool, with sunbeds and pool towels. Manger was quick to discount room after a night where the aircon was faulty. I would definitely recommend this b&b!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

my experience in Greyton was a unforgettable time ,the food was fernominal, the service excellent and the rooms just perfect , me and my fiance will always remebr our stay at the Post House in ryeton a Must stay over if you around in the western Cape

Room Tip: the rooms in the middle is large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malinda2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We booked 2 nts 'luxury' accomodation. 100% payment was taken from our account 8 1/2 hrs before we arrived. Room had no fridge, no safe, no Wi-Fi and no TV. These facilities were only available inside the main building which was opened up between 08.00 hrs and 16.30hrs. The 'Guest House' had none of the welcoming feel which we experienced at the other 7 places we stayed at over 3 weeks. It was also the most expensive of all the other 7 places even though it had the fewest facilities. As an overnight stay at half their rates it would be fine, but as a luxurious two night stay with time to enjoy a bit of luxury it was a dead loss.

Room Tip: Don't pay anything until you have viewed the room and assessed value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank itma_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greyton
15.4 mi away
Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino
0.0 mi away
Old Potter's Inn and Brewhouse
4.8 mi away
Oewerzicht
Oewerzicht
#1 of 10 in Greyton
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Old Village Lodge
Old Village Lodge
#1 of 8 in McGregor
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Fiore Garden Centre
#6 of 10 in Greyton
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Post House Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Post House Country House

Address: 20/22 Main Road, Greyton 7233, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Greyton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Greyton
Price Range: £75 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Post House Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Country House in Greyton, offering Bed and Breakfast to the discerning traveler. The property has 14 well appointed on-suite guest rooms and 1 family unit. The original building is beautifully restored and was declared a national monument in 1994. The property is typical of elegant old world country charm with modern comforts. Complimentary afternoon tea, an old world English pub, friendly staff and beautifully maintained gardens are just a few of the reasons our guests love to return. The Post House in Greyton, Overberg is within walking distance to art galleries, restaurants, the Saturday morning market and other local attractions. Greyton is a popular mountain biking and mountain biking destination and The Post House offers enthusiasts of both activities a place to rest after a day of outdoor activity. The property offers guests access to our unlimited 4Mbs wifi hotspot in the main building and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Post House Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing