We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gratious staff and ok rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mtubatuba
York Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
273 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Gratious staff and ok rooms”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night. The room was okay but as been mentioned by others the layout of the room with the bathroom open to the rest of the room is different.The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The breakfast was good and the buffet at dinner was somewhat limited.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainelytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    44
    32
    8
    2
See reviews for
16
37
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
350 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is an excellent hotel situated near the game park and close to the estuary. I stayed one night and found the room clean, well appointed, and the bed was excellent. Breakfast was included in my room and there were more than enough choices, and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westgalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
913 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 656 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed here for one night only after an afternoon in Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Park and on our way to the St Lucia boat cruise next morning. We stayed in a a lovely chalet with huge beds and Protea's unique open plan shower and toilet en suite set up( not for everyone) Bed was so comfortable and chalet very spacious. We had a buffet dinner - the usual fare quite good, our group got it for 1/2 price as they were unable to offer any a la carte option that evening due to delivery problems ( or so they said). Nothing in the immediate vicinity of this hotel but a good stopping off point between attractions.

Room Tip: The chalet rooms are very spacious if you don't mind an open plan bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Nice hotel not too far from Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Park and also the St Lucia Boat Cruise.

Standard room has only a glass curtain between the beds and the shower, which seems to be a common layout for Protea hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozitravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

It's a great place, with rooms in chalets in the middle of an extensive garden. My room was very big, the bed very comfortable. Very practical bathroom with a shower (however the direct access from the shower and the toilet to the room could be embarrassing while traveling in duo) and good shampoo and shower gel.
I appreciated the relative calm (well, the N2 road is not very far) and I wished I could enjoy the swimming pool but it was far too cold.
The restaurant offers a huge buffet, but like many places in South Africa, it's heavy food only.
The staff is helpful and very nice, discreet and efficient.
Overall, a good stay but a hotel without any african atmosphere... That's the "charm" of this kind of hotel, no disappointment, no charm...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paris-eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This again shows what can be done. The staff are most efficient. Management is always available and on site. Catering for our guests is always a pleasure here, as all their requests are met. The Boma dinners are a definite PLUS. The new look rooms are spacious and with Wi-Fi too. The buffet was good with the clients having choices as to what they wanted.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I only spent one rainy night at this hotel. It was terrential and the internet service was down. The room was clean, I couldn't see the grounds due to the storm but that is no fault of the hotel. The one thing I do remember is the tomato soup the hotel served during dinner. It was the most delicious soup I've ever had. Rich, creamy...oh I wish I had gotten the recipie. The soup alone made me wish I was there for another night.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mtubatuba
34.9 mi away
Imvubu Lodge
Imvubu Lodge
#1 of 1 in Meerensee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
10.4 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
10.7 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Richards Bay Waterfront
35.0 mi away
Premier Hotel The Richards
Premier Hotel The Richards
#1 of 8 in Richards Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
35.0 mi away
Splendid Inn Bayshore
Splendid Inn Bayshore
#7 of 8 in Richards Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River
Address: Off the N2 | 40 Km North of Richard's Bay, Mtubatuba 3935, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Umfolozi River)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Mtubatuba
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mtubatuba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Umfolozi River - Diversity in the Wetlands of Central Zululand. Protea Hotels Umfolozi River is ideally located in the Greater Hluhluwe/Umfolozi Game Reserve area, only 40km north of Richards Bay. The hotel offers spacious, air-conditioned rooms/chalets, as well as 2 family chalets, with satellite TV. Make yourself at home, with extensive dining facilities and bar area. Don’t forget that you can relax and wind down by the pool and Lapa area. Looking for some adventure? Nearby activities include the Greater St. Lucia Wetlands Park, Hluhluwe/Umfolozi Game Reserve, world-renowned birding spots, whale and dolphin watching, boat cruises, horse riding, golf, fishing, kayaking, beaches and quad bike trails. Protea Hotel Umfolozi River is within easy reach of the Hluhluwe/Umfolozi Game Park and Great St. Lucia Wetlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing