We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mtubatuba
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was our fourth hotel in five days and it was simply another great facility.

As with the other hotels very friendly and helpful staff, a comfortable and clean room and excellent dinner and breakfast buffets.

A good stopping point after another long day on the road

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Senior_Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

It was an impromptu stay as my colleague fell ill during a trip to Hluhluwhe. We were immediately allocated rooms without much fuss. All attention was given to ensuring that my colleague was comfortable. I took to looking round. It was beautiful. Close to the Game parks. Stunning layout with a lot of trees and flowers and stairs as the rooms were chalets on extensive grounds. The room itself was excellent and the meals aaaah: scrumptious. Good value for money. I definitely will be back to explore more fully

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EseO80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night. The room was okay but as been mentioned by others the layout of the room with the bathroom open to the rest of the room is different.The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The breakfast was good and the buffet at dinner was somewhat limited.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mainelytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is an excellent hotel situated near the game park and close to the estuary. I stayed one night and found the room clean, well appointed, and the bed was excellent. Breakfast was included in my room and there were more than enough choices, and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westgalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed here for one night only after an afternoon in Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Park and on our way to the St Lucia boat cruise next morning. We stayed in a a lovely chalet with huge beds and Protea's unique open plan shower and toilet en suite set up( not for everyone) Bed was so comfortable and chalet very spacious. We had a buffet dinner - the usual fare quite good, our group got it for 1/2 price as they were unable to offer any a la carte option that evening due to delivery problems ( or so they said). Nothing in the immediate vicinity of this hotel but a good stopping off point between attractions.

Room Tip: The chalet rooms are very spacious if you don't mind an open plan bathroom
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Nice hotel not too far from Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Park and also the St Lucia Boat Cruise.

Standard room has only a glass curtain between the beds and the shower, which seems to be a common layout for Protea hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozitravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

It's a great place, with rooms in chalets in the middle of an extensive garden. My room was very big, the bed very comfortable. Very practical bathroom with a shower (however the direct access from the shower and the toilet to the room could be embarrassing while traveling in duo) and good shampoo and shower gel.
I appreciated the relative calm (well, the N2 road is not very far) and I wished I could enjoy the swimming pool but it was far too cold.
The restaurant offers a huge buffet, but like many places in South Africa, it's heavy food only.
The staff is helpful and very nice, discreet and efficient.
Overall, a good stay but a hotel without any african atmosphere... That's the "charm" of this kind of hotel, no disappointment, no charm...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paris-eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mtubatuba
20.0 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
10.7 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
19.8 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
173 reviews
15.4 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
20.0 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River

Address: Off the N2 | 40 Km North of Richard's Bay, Mtubatuba 3935, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Umfolozi River)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Mtubatuba
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mtubatuba
Price Range: £53 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Umfolozi River - Diversity in the Wetlands of Central Zululand. Protea Hotels Umfolozi River is ideally located in the Greater Hluhluwe/Umfolozi Game Reserve area, only 40km north of Richards Bay. The hotel offers spacious, air-conditioned rooms/chalets, as well as 2 family chalets, with satellite TV. Make yourself at home, with extensive dining facilities and bar area. Don’t forget that you can relax and wind down by the pool and Lapa area. Looking for some adventure? Nearby activities include the Greater St. Lucia Wetlands Park, Hluhluwe/Umfolozi Game Reserve, world-renowned birding spots, whale and dolphin watching, boat cruises, horse riding, golf, fishing, kayaking, beaches and quad bike trails. Protea Hotel Umfolozi River is within easy reach of the Hluhluwe/Umfolozi Game Park and Great St. Lucia Wetlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing