We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing experience and good for seeing the animals”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Garden Route Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Relaxing experience and good for seeing the animals”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked this lodge way ahead and were looking forward to it. Its a nice remote place good to relax and have some rest. We had a chalet/rondovel with view on the watering hole where apparently animals come to drink (we didnt see them as in winter they have enough water around) but still the view and sunsets are very beautiful and you can see them from your private terrace. Meals (breakfast and dinner) are in buffet form, plentiful and you can for sure find something you like, there is also a souvenir shop. The game drives are fun, you can see a lot of animals and the groups are small.

We also had a massage included, so they drive you into the game reserve privately and drop you off a the spa that is located in the park and you can enjoy your massage, these visits are private so you can really have an hour of complete private relaxation in the spa with view on animals (we saw the giraffes!)

Having read also the other comments here I would list a few comments here how we experienced it:

- Yes it is not a real large wildlife park, but if you want to see the animals and many of them in short time, this is the way to go, you can also feed the elephants by hand on one of the evening drives (at least it was in our program) and thats kind of fun. We also saw a cheetah just 2 m of us lying and digesting one of the springbocks she ate so its kind of good for close up looks and the drives are fun as the area is beautiful.

- Yes its buffet style food, but its good to pick sth out you want and the barbecue is fresh made and delicious. The personnel was very nice and friendly, drinks are very reasonably priced.

-Chalet, we had a private greeting with champagne and hand made (as it appeared) sweets, very nice and the chalet was very clean and cosy. You might want to not take endless warm showers as the warm water is limited but reasonably enough for 2 people to shower morning and evening. The toilets work (just because i saw a comment somewhere that they are not for solids? - they work perfectly and water pressure in showers is also good (just to mention as in some places in south africa this was an issue)

- The rangers were young but very friendly and the game drives were fun. If you take the morning drive really dress warmly (especially if you are visiting like us in winter) it gets very cold but you get ponchos and a thermo bottle to sit on :) the groups for game drives are small (not like in Kruger national park for example) so you can ask questions and feel not like in an overstuffed tourist bus

-The restaurant where you can buy snacks during the day also has a happy hour, and has great non alcoholic smoothies and iced drinks, to really cheap prices! We would have expected more expensive drinks in lodges like this so we were happily surprised.

- I dont know about the other rooms, but chalets have no wifi, in common areas though there is.

Room Tip: Chalets are nice as you have your own private porch/terrace and great evening views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerGRGL, Front Office Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review, 20 November 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful and descriptive review.
We are delighted to hear that you had a relaxing experience, enjoyed the meals, the Chalet with the beautiful view the fun Game Drives and that you could see most of the animals up close.
We really appreciate your valued feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon in the near future.
Best Regards
Megan Claassen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    261
    49
    16
    6
See reviews for
302
425
24
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The best 2 days in south africa, we had an amaizing stay in the lodge ❤❤❤❤
It was full of romance, danger, excited and joy.
My whole family love the game drive and the staff.
It sure worth to go back to.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Om N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerGRGL, Front Office Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review, 2 November 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad to hear that you had an amazing stay, experienced romance, danger, excitement and joy and that the whole family loved the Game Drive and the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Megan Claassen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff and great guides!

Ari is great with the kids as is Abie.

Highly recommended.

We were there in 2010 and the reserve has expanded exponentially since then.
The number of animals and the guides knowledge makes it a fantastic experience.

The elephant interaction with Moya and Selati was a highlight for the kids.

Don't think about it, just go!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerGRGL, Front Office Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review, 2 November 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the Game Drives with the knowledgeable guides and the interaction with Moya and Selati. It is always wonderful to hear how friendly the staff are and how great Arie and Abie were with the kids. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Regards
Megan Claassen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our first taste of a private game reserve and while it is small and easily accessible, it provided us with the game drive opportunity we were looking for. Our Ranger was very knowledgable and both the early evening and early morning experiences were great. We were part of a large travelling party and the level of service and support from members of the team, particularly Stephanie made our stay very special. The quality of food was excellent. We would highly recommend a room with a view of the water hole - peaceful and great views.

Room Tip: Water hole rooms have great views and are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerGRGL, Front Office at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your beautiful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, the excellent food and the wonderful Game Drives with the knowledgeable ranger. We are delighted to hear that staff, particularly Stephanie made your stay special. We look foward to welcoming back in the near future.

Best Regards, Megan Claassen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Garden Route Game Lodge. And the bonus was the winter special rates. Having had lunch here some years back we decided to sleep over at the lodge on route to Mossel Bay. Since last we were there it has new owners and quite a bit bigger. The accommodation is superb, we stayed in a bush chalet and the meals are divine. We had a lovely game drive where among others we saw elephant, cheetah and lion. After breakfast on the day we checked out we also enjoyed a Reptile Park tour, on the premises. The staff are all very professional and friendly and very eager to make your stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerGRGL, Front Office at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that the staff were professional and friendly and that you had a wonderful and memorable stay. We are so pleased that you got to see most of the animals, enjoyed the lovely game drives, the superb accommodation and the divine meals. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards, Megan Claassen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albertina, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

What a wonderful day at the Garden Route Gamelodge. I can recommend for any one to come and experience the game drive. The guide was excellent Lumè has so much knowledge and I have learned something from her, and so she learned something from me. Then we went for lunch and the food was of the highest quality and the waitresses are very helpful and Annette, thank you for all your kindness
Tania de JAger

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tania641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerGRGL, Front Office Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review, 2 November 2014
Dear Tania,
Thank you for taking the time out to write such a wonderful review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Game Drive, Lume is a very knowledgeable Guide and really is always a pleasure learning something new from her. We are glad to hear the food was reached to your standards and as well as the Waitresses. Annette is very kind and helpful Manager. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Welcome regards Robyn Maasburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had a great stay at the Garden Route Game Lodge for a very afforcable price. We were able to go see the animals (elephants, white rhino, cheetah, lion, buffalo and many antelope), the buffet dinners and breakfasts were very good and our chalet was luxurious and comfortable. If you want to have a wonderful getaway to see some game near Cape Town and the garden route, I recommend this place.

Room Tip: I would definitely go for the chalets, not the lodge rooms. Much more private and tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerGRGL, Front Office Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review, 2 November 2014
Dear Guest.
Thank you for your beautiful review. We are delighted to hear you had a great stay with us. We are pleased to hear you got to see plenty of animals. It always great to hear the food was great and that you were pleased with the accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards Robyn Maasburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albertina
3.0 mi away
Albertinia Hotel
Albertinia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Albertina
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
50 reviews
17.8 mi away
Gondwana Game Reserve
Gondwana Game Reserve
#2 of 34 in Mossel Bay
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
#7 of 34 in Mossel Bay
225 reviews
9.1 mi away
Indalu Game Reserve
Indalu Game Reserve
#3 of 34 in Mossel Bay
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Samara Private Game Reserve
Samara Private Game Reserve
#2 of 14 in Graaff-Reinet
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Route Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Route Game Lodge

Property: Garden Route Game Lodge
Address: N2 | 5km after Albertinia towards Mossel Bay, Albertina 6695, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Albertina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Albertina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Route Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the backdrop of the majestic Langeberg mountain Range, the Garden Route Game Lodge guards the entrance to South Africa’s world famous Garden Route Coast.Only 3½ scenic hours drive from Cape Town, this malaria free, family owned and operated private game reserve is home to an abundance of animal and birdlife including the Big 5.Visitors to the Garden Route Game Lodge can enjoy game viewing in open Landrovers, luxury accommodation and a memorable dining experience in one of our African style restaurants. Our friendly staff and management are there to anticipate your every need to complete your unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Route Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Route Game Hotel Albertina
Garden Route Game Lodge South Africa/Albertina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing