We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place to Sought of Safari” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Route Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden Route Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, japan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Sought of Safari”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

The Garden Route Safari park is as good place to see African animals on the Cape if you are pressed for time. The staff are friendly and efficient and you will see a wide variety of animals in an environment that is as close to their real environment as you can get.

Getting There

I drove from Cape town to the park in Albertina and the drive was quite pleasant about four hours. Unfortunately, we could not key in the address into the car navigator and there are no signs warning you that the safari park is near. So if you are driving down from Cape town it is five minutes on the left past Albertina.

The Checkin

When we arrived they had our names at the gate. The duty manager Byron met us and directed us to the reception desk. Megan the receptionist was very efficient

The Restaurants

The restaurants are clean and the staff is helpful. The buffet was plentiful and if you were interested in trying some of the local game they are all on the barbecue (brai). The ladies on the grill were very helpful and the waitresses were friendly.


The Safari Excursion

The 'safari' excursion was a great way to see the animals. Our guide for the two excursions was Lume, she was very knowledgable on the game we saw.. In the evening and morning drives I saw a lot of the animals the park had. Unfortunately on the evening ride my partner did not see so many animals as she had the middle of back row of the truck. A good hint for anyone going out on these drives. Try to get the front row as you can see all the animals or try to sit next to the driver but the worst seat would be in the middle of the middle row I noticed the girl who sat there could not see much.

The Accommodation
We stayed in the chalet and it was clean and tidy. The were some little headaches like the hair dryer not working and the door lock sticking but not really a bother. The chalets are getting older but not a great problem.


Finally if you can afford the time and the money it is well worth the trip. But one little bug bear was that I was given a questionnaire and I answered the the questions favorably then I got an email from the manager asking me to add a review to trip advisor. I really did not appreciate that and it left a slightly sour taste in my mouth for obvious reasons. Even though we had a good experience you wonder about how many other reviews were coerced to improve ranking on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerGRGL, Front Office Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this beautiful and descriptive review, we always enjoy great feedback and it’s wonderful to hear how friendly and efficient the staff are. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the meals, the Game Drives and that you got to see plenty of animals. Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding the hair dryer and the door lock, this has been resolved.
We ask all our guests to review us on Trip Advisor; we really value all the feedback we receive. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Regards
Megan Claassen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    250
    46
    16
    6
See reviews for
288
414
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed over at the Garden Route Game Lodge on our way from Cape Town to Knysna and wow what an unexpected enjoyable experience! So much can be said. The staff are special people who are committed to customer service in a genuine way, from the guide to the waitress. Everyone seems happy and eager to be part of the team. The animals are a treat and you are guaranteed a memorable game drive. Do the walk around the camp and visit the reptile centre. You can feel the love: the animals are loved and the animals love being there! So much attention is given to detail. The restaurant has a great atmosphere and the food is truly excellent. I want to go again!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guest J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerGRGL, Front Office at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you had an unexpected enjoyable experience and felt the surrounding love. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere in the restaurant, the excellent food, the memorable Game Drive and the service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future with big smiles.

Best Regards, Megan Claassen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The staff are so helpful, the ranchers can not do enough for you. We happened on a tortoise wandering the grounds, the ranchers were excited as we were! They gave an impromptu talk on tortoises, it was wonderful. The two safaris were incredibly special, you just have to remember the animals are not performers and will show themselves if they want! I would urge everyone to go to the beauty treatment, you get a 15 minute guided tour of the reserve on our own as the ' beauty room' is past the elephant Area! I was able to stop and watch the elephants on my own for a few minutes, left me speechless! The food is top class and the rooms are wonderful, I can not recommend this lodge high enough. The wine for the meal was only £4.00, so even though they have a captured audience, they do not abuse this. Wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rlglenn652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerGRGL, Front Office at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this beautiful review. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay, got to see the tortoise and the Ellie, and enjoyed the wonderful rooms, the special Game Drives and the Spa treatment. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards. Megan Claassen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked this lodge way ahead and were looking forward to it. Its a nice remote place good to relax and have some rest. We had a chalet/rondovel with view on the watering hole where apparently animals come to drink (we didnt see them as in winter they have enough water around) but still the view and sunsets are very beautiful and you can see them from your private terrace. Meals (breakfast and dinner) are in buffet form, plentiful and you can for sure find something you like, there is also a souvenir shop. The game drives are fun, you can see a lot of animals and the groups are small.

We also had a massage included, so they drive you into the game reserve privately and drop you off a the spa that is located in the park and you can enjoy your massage, these visits are private so you can really have an hour of complete private relaxation in the spa with view on animals (we saw the giraffes!)

Having read also the other comments here I would list a few comments here how we experienced it:

- Yes it is not a real large wildlife park, but if you want to see the animals and many of them in short time, this is the way to go, you can also feed the elephants by hand on one of the evening drives (at least it was in our program) and thats kind of fun. We also saw a cheetah just 2 m of us lying and digesting one of the springbocks she ate so its kind of good for close up looks and the drives are fun as the area is beautiful.

- Yes its buffet style food, but its good to pick sth out you want and the barbecue is fresh made and delicious. The personnel was very nice and friendly, drinks are very reasonably priced.

-Chalet, we had a private greeting with champagne and hand made (as it appeared) sweets, very nice and the chalet was very clean and cosy. You might want to not take endless warm showers as the warm water is limited but reasonably enough for 2 people to shower morning and evening. The toilets work (just because i saw a comment somewhere that they are not for solids? - they work perfectly and water pressure in showers is also good (just to mention as in some places in south africa this was an issue)

- The rangers were young but very friendly and the game drives were fun. If you take the morning drive really dress warmly (especially if you are visiting like us in winter) it gets very cold but you get ponchos and a thermo bottle to sit on :) the groups for game drives are small (not like in Kruger national park for example) so you can ask questions and feel not like in an overstuffed tourist bus

-The restaurant where you can buy snacks during the day also has a happy hour, and has great non alcoholic smoothies and iced drinks, to really cheap prices! We would have expected more expensive drinks in lodges like this so we were happily surprised.

- I dont know about the other rooms, but chalets have no wifi, in common areas though there is.

Room Tip: Chalets are nice as you have your own private porch/terrace and great evening views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerGRGL, Front Office Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review, 20 November 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful and descriptive review.
We are delighted to hear that you had a relaxing experience, enjoyed the meals, the Chalet with the beautiful view the fun Game Drives and that you could see most of the animals up close.
We really appreciate your valued feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon in the near future.
Best Regards
Megan Claassen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The best 2 days in south africa, we had an amaizing stay in the lodge ❤❤❤❤
It was full of romance, danger, excited and joy.
My whole family love the game drive and the staff.
It sure worth to go back to.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Om N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerGRGL, Front Office Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review, 2 November 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad to hear that you had an amazing stay, experienced romance, danger, excitement and joy and that the whole family loved the Game Drive and the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Megan Claassen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff and great guides!

Ari is great with the kids as is Abie.

Highly recommended.

We were there in 2010 and the reserve has expanded exponentially since then.
The number of animals and the guides knowledge makes it a fantastic experience.

The elephant interaction with Moya and Selati was a highlight for the kids.

Don't think about it, just go!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerGRGL, Front Office Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review, 2 November 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the Game Drives with the knowledgeable guides and the interaction with Moya and Selati. It is always wonderful to hear how friendly the staff are and how great Arie and Abie were with the kids. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Regards
Megan Claassen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our first taste of a private game reserve and while it is small and easily accessible, it provided us with the game drive opportunity we were looking for. Our Ranger was very knowledgable and both the early evening and early morning experiences were great. We were part of a large travelling party and the level of service and support from members of the team, particularly Stephanie made our stay very special. The quality of food was excellent. We would highly recommend a room with a view of the water hole - peaceful and great views.

Room Tip: Water hole rooms have great views and are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerGRGL, Front Office at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your beautiful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, the excellent food and the wonderful Game Drives with the knowledgeable ranger. We are delighted to hear that staff, particularly Stephanie made your stay special. We look foward to welcoming back in the near future.

Best Regards, Megan Claassen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albertina
3.0 mi away
Albertinia Hotel
Albertinia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Albertina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
17.8 mi away
Gondwana Game Reserve
Gondwana Game Reserve
#2 of 30 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
24.7 mi away
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
#7 of 30 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Indalu Game Reserve
Indalu Game Reserve
#3 of 30 in Mossel Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
3.3 mi away
Zoutpan Struishuis Guest Farm
22.8 mi away
De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Route Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Route Game Lodge

Property: Garden Route Game Lodge
Address: N2 | 5km after Albertinia towards Mossel Bay, Albertina 6695, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Albertina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Albertina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Route Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the backdrop of the majestic Langeberg mountain Range, the Garden Route Game Lodge guards the entrance to South Africa’s world famous Garden Route Coast.Only 3½ scenic hours drive from Cape Town, this malaria free, family owned and operated private game reserve is home to an abundance of animal and birdlife including the Big 5.Visitors to the Garden Route Game Lodge can enjoy game viewing in open Landrovers, luxury accommodation and a memorable dining experience in one of our African style restaurants. Our friendly staff and management are there to anticipate your every need to complete your unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Garden Route Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Route Game Hotel Albertina
Garden Route Game Lodge South Africa/Albertina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing