We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“African penguin waddlers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanford River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stanford River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Stanford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“African penguin waddlers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

This majestic lodge was a welcome rest for the team after walking 20kms, for African penguin awareness, from Gansbaai. The setting is a little slice of heaven and we felt completely pampered and well rested by morning. The rooms are pure luxury and the entire home is cozy. The pool was a treat too! We hope to return. Thank You Valda & John.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penguins2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    70
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
177
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

To get away for 3 days (which were toooooo short) and have such a peaceful setting, friendly staff and all the flavours one would need for re-charging your batteries; Stanford River Lodge is tops. Enjoying the bird life, peaceful evenings and just to have the complete break-away from everything, this we find in this tranquil setting. Thank you so much - we will be back and back and back......

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank betsgau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

My mother and I stayed one night last year and remembered the lodge as a tranquil place, so we wanted to stay again with my aunt from Capetown. We were welcomed by Valda and John, and we spent two nights, each in our own rooms.The rooms all have comfy beds, plenty of space and good baths and showers and some have self catering facilities.
We had a good dinner, nearby recently opened Springfontein Restaurant, which is within walking distance and spent the next day wandering round Standfords small shops, and the Saturday market stopping for coffees and then walked along the river path.
The river lodge is a few miles out of 'town' and a very tranquil place to relax, Bring binoculars as there are lots of birds along the river and Lagoon.
A great place to stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katherine013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed with a friend whilst we were attending a wedding nearby. John and Valda (owners) were extremely welcoming, hospitable and went (way) out of their way to help us. The property itself was attractive, presented very well, clean and set in a lovely peaceful location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleGrizzlyBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We spent two nights at the Lodge in February this year in a self catering room. After a longer days driving than we had planned (so many beautiful places to stop off at) we had a very warm welcome from Valda. The room was very spacious and we could not believe the views which re- energised us immediately, and we were running down to the jetty planning our water adventures on the Klien river, soaking up the peace and beauty.
Stanford Town is small and friendly made for snacking and browsing. We were lucky enough to get a short notice river cruise booking and impressed the other cruisers, by pointing out the lodge as we slowly travelled up river.

This is a great place and we will be looking for an reason to come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank O7288WOTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I had booked a room for two nights in the Stanford River Lodge, because I had a wedding nearby. I ended up spending relatively little time in the Lodge, but what I time I did spend..... Lovely! Beautifully located, warm and kind proprietors, very nice and clean rooms, comfy beds.... Anyone thinking of staying in that area, do not hesitate to book!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goof W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We have just enjoyed a weekend at the River Lodge in Stanford in one of the self catering rooms called the Otter room. We room has spotless and catered for all out needs. It felt very private even though we were close to the next room, we didn't hear anything other than the birds and crickets. It is a great place to go and chill - get away from all the noise and pollution !! We will definitely be back for another visit in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
6.6 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
13.9 mi away
Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino
7.6 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
White Water Farm
White Water Farm
#2 of 12 in Stanford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
3.3 mi away
MOSAIC Cottages
MOSAIC Cottages
#5 of 12 in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bellavista Country Place
Bellavista Country Place
#2 of 11 in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford River Lodge

Property: Stanford River Lodge
Address: Farm 7, Wortelgat Rd, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Stanford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Klein River there are five beautiful double rooms in the main guest house & 2 self catering studio units each with en suite bathrooms and patios. There is a separate self catering apartment with 3 double rooms, 1 bathroom en suite and a further bathroom, full kitchen facilities, patio. BBQs available. All have stunning views. DSTV, fans, heated towel rails, pure cotton linen, towels, hair dryers, swimming pool, canoes and secure parking. Ideal for water sports or bird watching and situated near Hermanus (whale watching) & Gansbaai (shark cage diving) or just relaxing and soaking up the peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Stanford River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing