We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Janet & Mike Lovely retreat with great hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stanford River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Stanford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Janet & Mike Lovely retreat with great hosts”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We wished we could have stayed longer in this very peaceful retreat. The room was very spacious and well appointed with lovely balcony overlooking the Klein river. Valda was very helpful and arranged a great river bird watching trip with Tim who was very knowledgeable.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlows66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    71
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
188
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Friendly hosts, a peaceful setting with great views & good swimming in the river or private pool. The room was private, spacious and cosy all at the same time. Perfectly clean with all the bits n pieces u need if self catering. Its 5 minutes from Stanford town but far enough to feel like the retreat it is. No hesitation recommending this awesome spot.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the porcupine room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoelLana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were staying beginning of this year two times at the Stanford River Lodge and were everytime pleassantly surprised about this peaceful beauty outside Stanford. The hosts Valda and John and their staff are friendly full of stories and good travel hints. The location close to Kleineriver is perfect with stunning views, chances to swim or use their canoo and so much to see in their neighbourhood. The newest gem ist Springfield Estate next door, the stunning Mosaic estate a bit further down the river at the lagoon and close to Walker Bay's beautiful Nature Reserve. And Stanford is developing nicely into an artist's corner with lovely restaurants, galleries, shops and wine estates. We will come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This majestic lodge was a welcome rest for the team after walking 20kms, for African penguin awareness, from Gansbaai. The setting is a little slice of heaven and we felt completely pampered and well rested by morning. The rooms are pure luxury and the entire home is cozy. The pool was a treat too! We hope to return. Thank You Valda & John.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penguins2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

To get away for 3 days (which were toooooo short) and have such a peaceful setting, friendly staff and all the flavours one would need for re-charging your batteries; Stanford River Lodge is tops. Enjoying the bird life, peaceful evenings and just to have the complete break-away from everything, this we find in this tranquil setting. Thank you so much - we will be back and back and back......

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betsgau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My mother and I stayed one night last year and remembered the lodge as a tranquil place, so we wanted to stay again with my aunt from Capetown. We were welcomed by Valda and John, and we spent two nights, each in our own rooms.The rooms all have comfy beds, plenty of space and good baths and showers and some have self catering facilities.
We had a good dinner, nearby recently opened Springfontein Restaurant, which is within walking distance and spent the next day wandering round Standfords small shops, and the Saturday market stopping for coffees and then walked along the river path.
The river lodge is a few miles out of 'town' and a very tranquil place to relax, Bring binoculars as there are lots of birds along the river and Lagoon.
A great place to stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katherine013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed with a friend whilst we were attending a wedding nearby. John and Valda (owners) were extremely welcoming, hospitable and went (way) out of their way to help us. The property itself was attractive, presented very well, clean and set in a lovely peaceful location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleGrizzlyBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
6.6 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
544 reviews
10.2 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
7.7 mi away
White Water Farm
White Water Farm
#2 of 12 in Stanford
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Springfontein Sleeps
Springfontein Sleeps
#4 of 11 in Stanford
19 reviews
1.9 mi away
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
#1 of 12 in Stanford
305 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bellavista Country Place
Bellavista Country Place
#2 of 11 in Stanford
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford River Lodge

Property: Stanford River Lodge
Address: Farm 7, Wortelgat Rd, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Stanford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Klein River there are five beautiful double rooms in the main guest house & 2 self catering studio units each with en suite bathrooms and patios. There is a separate self catering apartment with 3 double rooms, 1 bathroom en suite and a further bathroom, full kitchen facilities, patio. BBQs available. All have stunning views. DSTV, fans, heated towel rails, pure cotton linen, towels, hair dryers, swimming pool, canoes and secure parking. Ideal for water sports or bird watching and situated near Hermanus (whale watching) & Gansbaai (shark cage diving) or just relaxing and soaking up the peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Stanford River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing