We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stanford River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Stanford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful getaway”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed at Stanford River Lodge for 3 nights whilst in Stanford for a wedding. It's a wonderful and peaceful location as each roon has it's own private verandah which looks onto the Klein river, with the beautiful mountains in the background. The rooms are clean and comfortable (ours was a self-cateting one). The hosts are very friendly and John gave good tips for mountain-biking routes. Definately recommend this venue if you're coming to Stanford.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MishRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    71
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
187
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Our 2 day stay at Stanford River Lodge was memorable. John and Valda welcomed us early evening and made sure we settled in well. For the rest of the stay their staff and they were discreetly around whenever we had a need. Although the place was fully booked, it was wonderfully private and we felt as if the place belonged to us. The spacious room was suberbly decorated, and the floor to ceiling views had magnificent views over the river and mountains. We would recommend this for a quiet, tasteful and genteel country breakaway.

Room Tip: The Kingfisher bathroom has a magnificent view while taking a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the0dyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at Stanford River Lodge whilst over in South Africa for a wedding and we had a fabulous stay. John and Valda were extremely helpful and hospitable and give us really good advice on where to eat and drink nearby. We had the room with the four poster bed and the views from the balcony were amazing. The drive to the property is on a bit of a rough road and at least 5 mins from Stanford itself but when you get there it's well worth it. Highly recommended for a chilled out break.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dylanejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Stanford River Lodge. A quiet, peaceful, tranquil place to stay that had us feeling relaxed and rejuvenated in no time. The owners are friendly and welcoming. It is great base for exploring Standford and the surrounding areas and attractions. The self-catering room in which we stayed (otter room) was neat, clean,private and stocked with everything you need to be able to cater for yourself. It was great to be able to just jump into the canoe and go for a paddle down the river. Barbecues on the deck overlooking the river, refreshing swim in the pool, afternoon naps and exploring the surrounding attractions had us feeling like we should have booked for another night. Thank you very much Valda.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HelMui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We wished we could have stayed longer in this very peaceful retreat. The room was very spacious and well appointed with lovely balcony overlooking the Klein river. Valda was very helpful and arranged a great river bird watching trip with Tim who was very knowledgeable.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlows66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Friendly hosts, a peaceful setting with great views & good swimming in the river or private pool. The room was private, spacious and cosy all at the same time. Perfectly clean with all the bits n pieces u need if self catering. Its 5 minutes from Stanford town but far enough to feel like the retreat it is. No hesitation recommending this awesome spot.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the porcupine room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoelLana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were staying beginning of this year two times at the Stanford River Lodge and were everytime pleassantly surprised about this peaceful beauty outside Stanford. The hosts Valda and John and their staff are friendly full of stories and good travel hints. The location close to Kleineriver is perfect with stunning views, chances to swim or use their canoo and so much to see in their neighbourhood. The newest gem ist Springfield Estate next door, the stunning Mosaic estate a bit further down the river at the lagoon and close to Walker Bay's beautiful Nature Reserve. And Stanford is developing nicely into an artist's corner with lovely restaurants, galleries, shops and wine estates. We will come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
6.6 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
542 reviews
10.2 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
9.6 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Springfontein Sleeps
Springfontein Sleeps
#4 of 11 in Stanford
19 reviews
7.7 mi away
White Water Farm
White Water Farm
#2 of 12 in Stanford
112 reviews
1.9 mi away
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
#1 of 12 in Stanford
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford River Lodge

Property: Stanford River Lodge
Address: Farm 7, Wortelgat Rd, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Stanford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Klein River there are five beautiful double rooms in the main guest house & 2 self catering studio units each with en suite bathrooms and patios. There is a separate self catering apartment with 3 double rooms, 1 bathroom en suite and a further bathroom, full kitchen facilities, patio. BBQs available. All have stunning views. DSTV, fans, heated towel rails, pure cotton linen, towels, hair dryers, swimming pool, canoes and secure parking. Ideal for water sports or bird watching and situated near Hermanus (whale watching) & Gansbaai (shark cage diving) or just relaxing and soaking up the peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stanford River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing