We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility, nature at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stanford River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Stanford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2011

My husband and I stayed a couple of nights first week January 2011. The setting is awesome, on the Stanford River and looking onto the most incredible mountains. The room are fabulous and offers privacy. There is so much one can do - walks, hikes, swimming, boating, canooing, bird watching, cycling etc Stanford village is lovely. John and Valda add a great personal touch and are super people with a great deal of information on the area. The best B&B in Stanford and surrounding area by far! Would have loved to have stayed longer. Thank you for a splendid stay. Nick & Sonja, Cape Town

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonjaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2010

We just spent a weekend at this lovely B&B. The standard of the accommodation is very good and just about brand new having only been operating for 1 year. The room that we stayed in was on the second storey with a balcony overlooking the river and mountains. Beautiful outlook! The bird life is good, and one can sit on the balcony watching the river and mountains with a glass of wine in hand for hours and be happy! It is nice and secluded, but close to Stanford Village which is 3kms away. Be sure to have lunch (but book!) at the fabulous Mariana's - an absolute highlight of the weekend.

Stand out features of the room: a huge open shower, and a free standing huge bath. Really romantic! There was a little fridge, coffee making facilities, and wine glasses - convenient for a snack or drink.

One suggestion I would make is that for the size of the room, the bed could have been bigger. It was a double, but could have been an extra length Queen or King. That would have made it perfect!

The owners Valda and John were lovely, engaging and welcoming. We warmed to them immediately and you can see that they are really passionate about making your stay as great as possible.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetfrangipani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We stayed in this beautiful house for three nights. The house is furnished to the highest standard with beautiful bedrooms and bathrooms. The hosts are friendly, attentive and very knowledgable about the area. Its a very good centre for touring this area, and a lot more reasonable than staying in Hermanus, in fact the rates are extremely reasonable for the very high standards. The first night we ate in a restaurant in the town called Paprika which was very average, but the other two nights we used the Weber barbecues provided. We bought fIllet steaks for four in the local supermarket for under £8! We borrowed a canoe, saw wonderful birdlife - blue cranes on the lawn! - and will certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morgan44Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Beautiful setting. Amazing views. Unbeleivable value. No one will find a more perfect weekend getaway while living in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pbirkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

Stanford River Lodge is the perfect place to explore the area around Stanford. We stayed there for the second time this year (both times in the self-catering units); and it's fantastic. The rooms have all one needs and are tastefully furnished. There's even an underfloor heating when it gets cold in winter. Valda und John, the hosts, are very friendly and helpful and can always give advice as to what to do in this area. The location directly at the river is also a big plus - birdwatching made easy just from your stoop! Stanford River Lodge will see us again!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuhamboTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

The location is fantastic - situated on the riverside, with views across to the mountains. The room was spacious, very well equipped, perfectly comfortable with all necessities and extras. A large porch with table and chairs allowed us to sit and admire the surroundings in peaceful relaxation and tranquility. Guests have full use of the lodge lounges/TV/fireplace.

The rates are very reasonable in return for what we received.

Went for a paddle in the canoe down the river which is very beautiful, calm, deep with lots of birdlife.

We did not have any meals at the b&b as breakfast is optional - which allowed us to try the local restaurants - which are very good.

The hosts are very helpful, friendly, well informed on the area and were willing to go the extra steps to ensure an excellent and enjoyable stay.

I definitely recommend this establishment as a worthwhile destination.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Av v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2008

We booked at Stanford River Lodge for a bit of relaxation and peace. After looking at the pictures on their website we decided it looked very peaceful and we were not disappointed. It is situated on the Klein River and you have the most fantastic views from your room of the river and the mountains beyond. There was even a view from our bath! Our room was fantastic (better than the pictures) it was luxuriously furnished, fresh new linen, immaculately clean and we lacked for nothing. We went canoeing on the river and saw an otter. The bird life there is great and rush hour in the morning is when the birds flew one way and in the evening when they flew back! The silence at night was only interrupted by the frogs croaking. John and Valda were very accommodating and friendly hosts, booking us in at restaurants in the village and we had a wonderful meal at Paprika. Stanford is half way between GansBaai where you can go shark cage diving and Hermanus to see the whales (we only did the whales). There are many things to do around Stanford like wine tasting, horse riding, quad biking etc but we did not have enough time to do them all. It was tonic for the soul!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank paul1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
13.9 mi away
Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino
6.6 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Springfontein Sleeps
Springfontein Sleeps
#4 of 11 in Stanford
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
White Water Farm
White Water Farm
#2 of 12 in Stanford
116 reviews
1.9 mi away
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
#1 of 12 in Stanford
316 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bellavista Country Place
Bellavista Country Place
#2 of 11 in Stanford
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford River Lodge

Address: Farm 7, Wortelgat Rd, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Stanford
Price Range: £50 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Klein River there are five beautiful double rooms in the main guest house & 2 self catering studio units each with en suite bathrooms and patios. There is a separate self catering apartment with 3 double rooms, 1 bathroom en suite and a further bathroom, full kitchen facilities, patio. BBQs available. All have stunning views. DSTV, fans, heated towel rails, pure cotton linen, towels, hair dryers, swimming pool, canoes and secure parking. Ideal for water sports or bird watching and situated near Hermanus (whale watching) & Gansbaai (shark cage diving) or just relaxing and soaking up the peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Stanford River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing