We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect getaway in the Overberg area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“perfect getaway in the Overberg area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed at the farm in Milkwood Cottage No.1 at the end of April and enjoyed our stay.

Upon check-in the staff was very helpful with tips and with the restaurant offerings and recommendation for activities.

The location is excellent and the cottage was just what we were looking for. Nice and cosy and at the same time light and modern.

After arrival we immediately went on a quadbike tour for over an hour and the scenery was breathtaking. My son was in the expert hands of Craig and had a ball. In the mornings we took two kayaks out on the lagune and paddled around. We had coffee, hot chocolates and cake in the afternoon and dinner was also taken care of with a delicious and well presented platter of wraps and cheeses.

My son was taken on another long quadbike tour, while my daughter and me were packing.

We enjoyed our short drive home with the beautiful memories we made and made plans to come back with firends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lourensriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Dear Elke

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay with us, it was great to have you with us here.

I am pleased that you felt so well treated by our staff and that your son loved the quad biking, it is by way the best way to experience our property.

Both myself and the team look forward to seeing you very soon.

Kind Regards

Graeme Parker - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    30
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
81
173
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Milkwood cottage 3 with my family over the Easter weekend 06-8APR'12.

The reception I got on arrival was warm & inviting. The cottage was clean spacious and ideal for our family getaway.
For a self catering unit with an indoor BBQ facility, it was very well equipped, had modern fixures/features and best of all, it offered housekeeping the next morning too which one will hardly ever get in most self catering chalets!

There were just 2 things which needs some improvement however, one being the stove which I feel was a bit dated in comparison with the rest of the fixtures and the kettle which was heavily corroded at the element, so we could not use it. Otherwise everything else was perfect!

Whilst not on the same level at the Duminy self catering cottage, this unit offers real value for money and is ideal breakaway from the concrete jungle. Unfortunately it rained the entire weekend of my staybut we all had a fabulous time playing boardgames in the lounge/living area by fireplace which replenished with wood every morning.

I will definitely visit again in the near future!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nazlee786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Dear Nazlee

Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us, it was such a pleasure to have you and your family staying with us.

I'm really greatful for your feedback regarding both the stove and the kettle, I will be looking at these accordingly this week.

Am so glad that you had such a great stay with us, and that it was an enjoyable break for you away from the hectic life of Cape Town.

Looking forward to having back to stay in the near future!

Kind Regards

Graeme Parker - General Manager Mosaic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I spent a weekend at Mosaic Lodge in March. I've done my fair share of staying at hotels and lodges, so there are some things I expect and look to see if the hotel has thought to stock. Mosaic Lodge blew those expectations out of the window - each room is fully stocked with anything you might needm from binoculars to birding books... they have literally considered everything. The food was delicious and the staff so friendly. Thanks for a delicious stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Catherine,
We are so excited to know that you had a good time at MOSAIC Private Sanctuary in South Africa! And that we exceeded your expectations. That is our goal, as we want everyone who enters to feel pampered, enjoy the scenery, staff, food and wine.
We hope we can serve you again soon at Mosaic!
Kindest Regards,
Kathryn
Co-owner
Inquire about our winter specials at Mosaic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Visited Mosaic with my fiance and family in January and we were blown away! The Duminy Cottage was lovely! We enjoyed the beautiful views of the lagoon from our porch, cooking on the braai, and gazing at the stars at night from the balcony. We loved having the option of self catering from the kitchen and found that it was stocked with the necessary cookware and spices, BUT we became hooked on the delicious picnic baskets that were prepared by Nadine!

There were so many options when it came to activities! We drove quad bikes, kayaked in the lagoon, took a cruise on the pontoon boat to the beach, played bocce ball by the Spookhuis, and even watched a flock of 150+ flamingos fly around and feed in the lagoon. There were so many lovely places to relax and enjoy the scenery!

We were so impressed with the staff at Mosaic. The manager, Graeme, greeted us warmly and was always available to answer questions or to suggest more activities! Nadine was very flexible when it came to our lunches from the Spookhuis and accommodated our dietary restrictions and preferences.

We were thrilled with our experience at Mosaic and would strongly recommend our friends and family to visit... the sooner the better!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Dear Rachel

Thank you so much for your comments about our property, we loved having you and your fiance with us during the festive season.

Fantastic to hear that you were able to spend time relaxing, exploring the area and also doing so many of our activities.

It's wonderful that are staff made you feel so at home and catered for your every need, especially providing you with our delicous breakfast baskets.

We look forward to having you both back with us soon, and maybe even celebrating your wedding with us.

Take care and stay in touch!

Kind Regards

Kathryn, Breese, and the Mosaic Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Spent 3 nights there in the Bantis lodge. After staying in the city of Cape Town it was just the perfect place to relax and discover the environment with an absolutely great & friendly staff. Breakfast and Dinner/Winelist were very good, especially the Desserts....Big thanks to Craig, Octavio and of course the Chefs and the rest of the crew. Ramin & Renate

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Docfumanchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhereWildThingsAre, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, 6 April 2015
We hope you will enjoy Mosaic again soon, for good food and wine, fun activities and our caring staff.
Kindest regards,
Kathryn and the Mosaic Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed at Mosaic Farm for New Year and we had a fabulous time. We were warmly welcomed by Craig when we arrived and given a fabulous soft drink cocktail, freshly made. We made every use of all the lovely facilities, including quad biking, bug hunting, kayaking. We were taken for sundowners to the beach in the UNIMOG by Octavia and Graham who were fantastic hosts. We also started New Year's Eve with sundowners on the lagoon and spent the evening partying with fellow guests and staff and enjoying the most delicious food cooked by Wilma. Our children were made to feel most welcome and had such fun with all the staff who really engaged with them. We loved watching the pink flamingos every evening whilst having pre-dinner drinks on the terrace. We loved the location and the peace and serenity there and lazy lunches at the Spuikhaus. We can't wait to come back...perhaps for a spot of whale watching next time! Thanks to all the lovely staff and Kathryn for the most memorable time with you. The Bradford Family from the UK

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrbradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Dear Hugh, Emma, and boys

Thank you for your wonderful comments about Mosaic, it was so special having you with us, and our team really enjoyed the time they spent with your family.

Joshua and Daniel were both such fun, well mannered, and it was fantastic to see their enthusiasm and excitement in everything they did, and saw during their stay.

Our new years celebration was such a memorable one, and it was a stange feeling when you left, we really missed you!!

We can't wait for you to return, and can definately recommend Whale Season, the weather is usually warm and sunny, and the Southern Right whales are frequently seen from the beach.

Take care and stay in touch!

Kind Regards

Kathryn, Breese, and the Mosaic Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed in this lodge over Christmas. It couldn't have been better. When we arrived we were amazed to find how picturesque, something you'd expect from an architectural digest.
The staff was more than friendly, they quickly learned our names and treated us as friends. The chef created amazing meals and was more than happy to make adjustments to fit our diets. On Christmas day, we were brought out to a beautiful empty beach for wine and snacks. Later that night our Christmas dinner was the finest I have ever had.
This was the most relaxing and beautiful hotel I have ever visited.
Definitely a must if you are in South Africa. It's a bit of a drive from Cape Town but yo use driving through a beautiful and amazing wine region, so it's not a bad drive at all.
Don't miss this extraordinary hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear JB2050

Thank you so much for you kind words about your stay with us at Christmas. We are so happy that you chose to spend this special and festive period with us.

It's great that you had such a fantastic time on the beach, with nobody around. It is a special activity of ours, and a very popular part of our daily programme.

We're so glad that you enjoyed the interaction with our staff, the food, and the beauty of our property and the surrounding area.

We looking forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Kathryn, Breese and the Mosaic Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
7.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
5.8 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
8.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
MOSAIC Cottages
MOSAIC Cottages
#5 of 12 in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
9.5 mi away
White Water Farm
White Water Farm
#2 of 12 in Stanford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stanford River Lodge
Stanford River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge

Property: MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
Address: Wortelgat Provincial Road, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Stanford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOSAIC LAGOON LODGE is one of South Africa's finest hidden gems on the famous Whale Coast, 2 hrs SE of Cape Town. On the Hermanus Lagoon with 4x4 beach access, Mosaic is a nature lover's paradise. Here you will be immersed in flowers and bird-life of the Cape Floral Kingdom with activities including: boat cruises, kayaking, beach excursions, quad biking and mountain bikes. Mosaic is centrally located for whale watching, marine tours, cage shark diving and exploring the Overberg Wine Region. LAGOON LODGE is private and secluded with just five safari-style suites. It is built within ancient milkwood trees on the edge of the Hermanus Lagoon with magnificent mountain views. A pampered stay here is fully inclusive of all meals, house beverages/wine/beer and activities. The Mosaic Rain Spa offers massage and skin therapies using only Rain Africa professional products. New in December: the Spa will offer Elemis facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing