We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute perfection!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

We spent 2 nights at Mosaic Private Sanctuary to celebrate my husband's birthday. From the minute we arrived until the moment we left we were treated to the best service we've experienced. The team are fabulous, the service was superb - relaxed, friendly, nothing too much trouble. The food - magnificent!
Quad bikes - first time but not the last! Lagoon cruise - to die for! The lodge - luxury, outdoor shower was just the best ever!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanWGala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Wow, we are thrilled you had a great time! Thank you so much for your comments about Mosaic Private Sanctuary and taking the time to share this. We are truly so happy you and your husband had a wonderful birthday celebration. And hope you will come back for more....quad biking, boat cruises, good food ...... I am so grateful for our comments on our team and the service they provide. We do have a fantastic team and appreciate everyone. It is nice for them to read about it!
Hope to welcome you back at Mosaic soon!
Kindest regards
Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    30
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
81
172
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We were aimlessly driving west, and phoned at 6pm to see if there was space available. The staff stayed late to let us into our gorgeous cottage, and arranged a breakfast basket for us, all last minute. They were awesome. if I lived in SA, I would return again & again to this gorgeous location, with the unreal lattice work of ancient milk wood trees. It is superb, the staff only made it more special. With the Hermanus whales & Hemel-en-Aude wine valley such a quick drive away, it's a shame not stay at the Spookhuis on Mosaic Farm!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mknd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
We were fortunate to have you call! Thank you for staying at Mosaic Private Sanctuary, and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Describing the ancient milkwood trees as lattice work is perfect! We do have fabulous staff at Mosaic and as owners, we appreciate everyone one who contributes to making our guests' stay wonderful.
I am so glad you were able to experience the whales in Walker Bay and the delicious wine from the Hemel-en-Aarde Valley.
Hope you can return one day soon!
Kindest regards,
Kathryn Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

I stayed at Mosaic Farms, now Private Sanctuary, for one week in June of 2012 with a small group from the United States!

It was a fantastic stay and the staff was very hospitable and warm. After spending much time with the co-founder of Mosaic, Kathryn, I think I appreciated the stay even more! There has been so much care, love and detail put into this place. The rooms are gorgeous (the heated floors were an extra special touch), the food is wonderful (try the malva pudding) and the view is breathtaking.

Mosaic feels like a little community and I would highly recommend it for anyone looking for a get-away, vacation or retreat. I know I will return some day!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayanni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Jayanni,

It was such a pleasure to spend time with you at MOSAIC and we are so happy you enjoyed your time as much as we did. All our staff sends their regards and we look forward to seeing you again at Mosaic!!

Enjoy the rest of your travels in Africa and we hope to hear about your adventures.

Kindest regards,

Kathryn and the staff at Mosaic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

What a lovely, tranquil area! We stayed in the self catering accommodation at Mosaic. The houses are very spacious, serviced everyday and furnished with everything you could need. The staff are extremely friendly. the Quad biking through the Fynbos in their reserve is an absolute must! Perfect place for a getaway to recharge your batteries!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikaCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Erika,

Thank you for choosing MOSAIC for your getaway and we are so happy you were able to relax in our cottages. That is why we are here and we hope you will come back soon! We hope you will treat yourself to our catered Lagoon Lodge... we will completely spoiled you.
From your other reviews of beer tasting, it sounds like you had a great time in Stanford. It is a charming village.

Hope to see you soon.

Kindest regards,
Kathryn and the staff at Mosaic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Their slogan says it all- it is most certainly a sanctuary on the lagoon.

We stayed at Lagoon Lodge and from the moment we arrived we experienced exceptional service,comfort and food.

The suites offer amazing views over the lagoon and mountains behind and it was a 'wow' moment when we opened the curtains in the morning. The outdoor shower and huge bath were most welcome and little touches like 'knitting bowl', turn down chocolates and putting the heater on were wonderful.

Every meal was superb and choice of local wines excellent.We also loved the excursions we got to experience. The nature walk was informative and quad biking lots of fun.

We will definitely be back and I can recommend this place for honeymooners, wedding anniversaries and those just wanting to get away from the rat race.

Thank you Mosaic Farm !

Room Tip: All Rooms have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iJonty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
HI iJonty M,
Thank you for the wonderful review of MOSAIC Private Sanctuary! It is so great to know that you enjoyed our service (we are SO blessed to have wonderful staff!), the food and activities. AND the mountain views, but we cannot take credit for that - we just found that right place!
We look forward to having you back at Mosaic!
Kindest regards,
Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Our trip to Mosaic Farm went over and above what I imagined in my head before we arrived. The staff are very attentive and friendly. The food and wine was delicious. The accommodation is rustic but luxurious in thatch roofed cabins all intertwined in a Milkwood tree forest. I loved the construction of the cabins, wood, stone and polished concrete floors with little mosaics designed in them, an outdoor shower or big bath to relax in. Our bed looked out through floor to ceiling windows to the most magnificent mountain range and lagoon in front. There were loads of birds to wake us up gently and frogs to lull us to sleep at night. We walked to the Spookhuis with our guide Craig who was great. He then took us on a quad bike ride which was really fun! There is so much to do here, but if you want to just relax you can do that too. It is such a perfect setting. I enjoyed this trip immensely. Thank you!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mothercityhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Hello and best wishes from MOSAIC Private Sanctuary on the beautiful Cape Whale Coast.

It makes us all want to dance to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us! Truly, it means so much to hear that you loved the food, wine, activities, facilities and the natural surroundings. Thank for taking your time to write.

We hope to see you again soon at Mosaic!

Kindest regards,
Kathryn and all the staff at Mosaic
Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

I have traveled the world and spent time on 6 continents and it is difficult to find a place as wonderful as Mosaic. The people, the food, the surroundings are first class. Graeme made our stay perfect. He was there when we needed him and made sure we had everything we wanted. Make sure to go to the point on the ATV's for sundowners! The food is excellent and the staff is there whenever you need them. There is so much to do and also nothing to do which makes it perfect. The grounds are beautiful whether you are walking them or looking at them. The scenery is spectacular! The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. We live in the US and love the Cape region and we know the next time we visit South Africa we will make sure to visit Mosaic Farm!! If you can stay in the Kingfisher Cottage!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skippycp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Greetings from Mosaic, and thank you so much for your review of Mosaic Private Sanctuary in Stanford! We are so sincerely happy you had a good time, enjoyed the natural beauty at Mosaic and were served well by our staff (they are wonderful!). You were here during a beautiful time of year.
We look forward to having you back to experience a few new additions. We are just now opening a spa at Lagoon Lodge. It is semi-outdoor, under a Bedouin tent, with soft netting around. Our menu includes several types of massage therapy, including hot stone treatments, manicure and pedicure. Simone, our Spa Manager and Health Therapist, has worked in the best lodges in South Africa and we are fortunate to have her make Mosaic her home.
We have also added some really fun daytime activities with our pontoon boat - cruise to the mouth of the lagoon at Grotto Beach in Hermanus (pulled on an inter-tube if you wish) and picnic on the beach.
Hope to see you soon and let us know if you are ever in Tennessee!!
Kindest regards,
Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
5.8 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
8.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
MOSAIC Cottages
MOSAIC Cottages
#5 of 12 in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stanford River Lodge
Stanford River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
9.5 mi away
White Water Farm
White Water Farm
#2 of 12 in Stanford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge

Property: MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
Address: Wortelgat Provincial Road, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Stanford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOSAIC LAGOON LODGE is one of South Africa's finest hidden gems on the famous Whale Coast, 2 hrs SE of Cape Town. On the Hermanus Lagoon with 4x4 beach access, Mosaic is a nature lover's paradise. Here you will be immersed in flowers and bird-life of the Cape Floral Kingdom with activities including: boat cruises, kayaking, beach excursions, quad biking and mountain bikes. Mosaic is centrally located for whale watching, marine tours, cage shark diving and exploring the Overberg Wine Region. LAGOON LODGE is private and secluded with just five safari-style suites. It is built within ancient milkwood trees on the edge of the Hermanus Lagoon with magnificent mountain views. A pampered stay here is fully inclusive of all meals, house beverages/wine/beer and activities. The Mosaic Rain Spa offers massage and skin therapies using only Rain Africa professional products. New in December: the Spa will offer Elemis facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing