We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We loved the quiet surroundings and amazing bird life around the lagoon. The staff are welcoming and take pride in their work. The sunset tour to the beach was very special. The stars in the sky is awesome. We would love to go back to stay in the lovely self-catering cottages.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank caracal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Thank you for staying at Mosaic Private Sanctuary and for your great review. We are so happy you enjoyed our staff, the birds, beach and the night stars. We hope you fully relaxed and that we will see you again soon at Mosaic!
Kind regards
Kathryn and the Mosaic Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 327 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mosaic farm, tranquil environment and beautiful setting (would recommend a bit more investment in the kitchen equipment for self catering purposes & given the rate paid)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and the tranquility at MOSAIC Private Sanctuary. Thank you for commenting. We would love it if you could email us and let us know your suggestions for additional kitchen equipment that you think would be handy. It helps us so much to see our facilities from our guests' eyes. Please contact us on the email address posted on TripAdvisor.
Kind regards,
Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Wonderful place to relax and rest. The accomodation was lovely and we really enjoyed our stay. Everthing was very clean and the service extremely nice and helpful. We can highly recommend to visit the Mosaic Farm.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JudithN861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Thank you so much for staying at MOSAIC Private Sanctuary and for your great comments and for recommending Mosaic. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, our accommodation and staff. We hope to see you again at Mosaic!
Kindest regards,
Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed in the large self-catering house called Duminy. It's a great house in a fantastic setting (five stars if we were rating only the setting). The service was rather unprofessional and the welcome perfunctory. We felt that what was provided at the housewas rather stingy, especially for the price: tiny toiletries; two or three sticks of firewood. Also R20 was added to our bill for a few firelighters. As we paid thousands of rands for a short stay, we felt these extra charges were mean to the point that it colored our perception of our experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cobbett2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear Cobbett2,

We are so disappointed that your stay in the self-catering cottage did not meet up to your expectations but are glad you enjoyed the setting on the lagoon. We have given your comments a thorough review, especially regarding service. Our guests normally rave about how well they are treated by our staff and if anyone provides anything less, we do more training.

We do want to note that we provide unlimited firewood free to all our self-catering cottages for indoor use in the fireplaces and outdoor use at the BBQs (the majority of establishments charge for this). There is a large stack of wood just outside the glass door by the fireplace in the Duminy, as well as the indoor basket that is stocked daily. We provide kindling and one fire starter per stay, and additional fire starters are available for purchase at the Spookhuis.

We hope you will return one day and perhaps stay in our Lagoon Lodge, which is fully catered and offers a large range of guided activities.

Kind regards,
Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Loved our stay, pity we couldn't stay longer but will definitely be back! The views and scenery are even better than the photos suggest; also loved the remoteness of the location despite being just outside the now very busy hermanus.

We stayed in the duminy cottage which was perfect for 2 couples but has plenty of space for a few more in the loft. Very elegantly furnished and the layout is spacious with many areas, inside and outside, to enjoy the environment. Outdoor shower is always a winner!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2013

Hello and thank you for your great review of Mosaic Private Sanctuary! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in the Duminy Cottage and the surroundings. We also appreciate your comment about being better than the photos. It is had to photograph the immensity and expansiveness of the mountains in just a photo.
We hope you can come back and stay longer and perhaps experience our fully catered Lagoon Lodge.
Kindest regards,
Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Excellent lodge! Outstanding service, accommodation, food.

When you are at the Mosaic you must go to Walker Bay for sunset, if possible on a quad, a place you will not forget.

This retreat is place to relax and indulge yourself.

Ps: you will like the outside shower!!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank endaxi0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Thank you, thank you for your wonderful review of Mosaic Private Sanctuary! We are thrilled you enjoyed every part of your stay. And that you saw a great sunset. There truly is something so magical about witnessing the sunset on the secluded Walker Bay Beach.
We hope to see you again at Mosaic.
Kindest regards,
Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This is one of the best holiday experiences we have ever had. A fantastic set-up of five luxury huts on the side of a lagoon, facing mountains. Never been so relaxed as when sitting on our terrace with no noise but the many birds.The shared area houses a small outdoor pool and bar and restaurant/lounge. The attention to detail has been meticulous with decor and comfort.
Apart from the setting and the wonderful staff, what helps elevate this is the all-inclusive trips laid on. We had our own guided nature walk, trip to an amazing beach, river trip, quad biking. The staff use every opportunity to provide info, wine and snacks. A four-course evening meal is also provided and the food is five star. I could not recommend this enough, we will definitely return. Thanks to Amber and her wonderful staff for a fabulous, memorable stay.

Room Tip: Room 1 (Kingfisher) has the best view, I think. Number 2 is the family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rubybirkenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Wow, what a comparison for Mosaic! We are all so happy you loved your stay at Mosaic, all the activities and were able to relax. We think this is what vacations are for! The songs of the birds truly are beautiful. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!!
Kindest regards,
Kathryn, Amba and the staff at Mosaic Private Sanctuary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
15.8 mi away
Arabella Hotel & Spa
Arabella Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kleinmond
856 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
738 reviews
5.8 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
MOSAIC Cottages
MOSAIC Cottages
#5 of 12 in Stanford
62 reviews
8.7 mi away
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
#1 of 1 in Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge

Address: Wortelgat Provincial Road, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Stanford
Price Range: £310 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOSAIC LAGOON LODGE is one of South Africa's finest hidden gems on the famous Whale Coast, 2 hrs SE of Cape Town. On the Hermanus Lagoon with 4x4 beach access, Mosaic is a nature lover's paradise. Here you will be immersed in flowers and bird-life of the Cape Floral Kingdom with activities including: boat cruises, kayaking, beach excursions, quad biking and mountain bikes. Mosaic is centrally located for whale watching, marine tours, cage shark diving and exploring the Overberg Wine Region. LAGOON LODGE is private and secluded with just five safari-style suites. It is built within ancient milkwood trees on the edge of the Hermanus Lagoon with magnificent mountain views. A pampered stay here is fully inclusive of all meals, house beverages/wine/beer and activities. The Mosaic Rain Spa offers massage and skin therapies using only Rain Africa professional products. New in December: the Spa will offer Elemis facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing