We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a quiet weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect, as I hadn't been this way before, but it was a wonderful surprise if you are looking for peace and calm. Lovely walks along the edge of the lagoon and you can drive to a massive, wave smashed secluded beach, if you have a 4x4. The cottages are well equipped, though a bit close together. I loved the wood burning fires and the massive outside braai. Very friendly staff and we'll definitely go again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Steve,

We are thrilled you had a pleasant surprise on arriving at Mosaic and found what you were looking for.....peace and calm! With our gorgeous mountain views, 933 hectare private location, position on the Hermanus Lagoon and fantastic flowers and birdlife, our guests find a peacefulness at Mosaic that is hard to come by. I hope you were able to see whales at the beach.

We look forward to having you back at Mosaic and hope you will try our all inclusive Lagoon Lodge. All food, house beverages and activities are included. Remember that if you stay in our cottages again, you can also add on activities on Mosaic and food from our cafe' in the 1892 Spookhuis.

Hope to see you soon.
Kindest regards,
Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

Large well appointed cottage. Everything we needed and more. Nice location but remote. Access road was challenging after rain but all good. 40 minute drive to Hermanus. Nice walks along the coast. Great place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank brownr89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

We are so happy you had a wonderful stay at Mosaic Private Sanctuary and enjoyed the beach walks where the whales are! Our rain has been crazy this past winter and the roads department is finally out fixing the roads.
We hope you will return to South Africa again and enjoy more time at Mosaic!
Kindest regards,
Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a beautiful location. Bungalows are secluded, private and romantic. Staff is very attentive and caters to guests interests. Hotel tubs are amazing. Views are second to none. Loved this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NMVanKerkhove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, General Manager at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Der Neil

It is so wonderful to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at Mosaic. We are spoiled with natural beauty and with the arrival of spring, it is even more special with carpets of flowers and an abundance of birdlife. I will be sure to send your kind words onto our staff at lagoon lodge.

Regards

Marcelino Henckert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

After a safari, driving on the "other" side of the road around South Africa and 8 k of potholed road, Mosaic was a haven of rest, relaxation and activities. We did not get in our car for four days! The owners are gracious stewards of this property with an eye to detail in the five cottages, whose materials are all locally sourced. The food is exquisite, and the chef aims to please: ostrich and venison, yummy puddings and buttery croissant and French press coffee at breakfast? The entire staff is warm and attentive. Amber offered to lend me her wellies, and I tried picking up her British terms. We even enjoyed our first night and day buffeted by wind and rain, catching up on our sleep and venturing out in 14 c for the outdoor shower, which warmed us up. You can stay busy: a walking tour of flora, kayaking (alas, the winds were against us, though we tried) quad biking and sundowners at the beach. The flower cover is amazing, showing nature at her best recovering from a fire. It is easy to see what a lovely site this would be for weddings and small conferences. My one regret is that I did not buy more from the tasteful gift shop -- far superior to what you will find at the airport. Just lovely.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TravelbeeSantaFe_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Travelbee,
We all thank you for your wonderful review of Mosaic!
Mosaic IS a perfect place to relax and catch up on sleep, especially after getting up at sunrise after a safari. We are so happy you were able to find the comfort you did being pampered by our staff, Jurie's delicious food and not being in your car for four days. The outdoor shower is to enjoy a true "African bush experience."
It was quite hectic during our last fire at Mosaic, but as you saw, the display of colors of nature are spectacular once springtime comes. Even the smallest of fynbos plants burst with color.
We are so glad you found wonderful things at our gift shop. Simone is the mastermind behind our shop and spa. She sources very unique gifts and artifacts, many directly from the people who make them.
We hope you will return to Mosaic!
Kindest regards,
Kathryn and all the Team at Mosaic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

we arrived in Cape town and on our way to Mosaic we saw whales and penguins. our milk wood Cottage was lovely and the staff could not have helped us more that they did.

many thanks to them for our great start to our holiday in South Africa

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Catherine,
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your time and our staff at Mosaic! And you saw whales and penguins! The whales in Walker Bay by Mosaic is one of the best places in the world for land based whale watching. These magnificent giants are truly awesome to see and our area goes to great lengths to protect the whales and penguins.
We hope you will return to Mosaic and our staff will look forward to spending time with you again,
Kindest regards,
Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Our stay at the Milkwood Cottage 2 was short, sweet and serene. We found the staff smiling, helpful and very welcoming! The surrounds are a perfect getaway from the rat race of city life and definitely a place well worth returning too ... except for a day or two longer the next time :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GypZee1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, General Manager at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Zahida

I am so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking time to give us feedback and the great review. Mosaic is a very special place where one can get away from the rat race and just truly relax. Our staff is always prepared to go above a that you need more than 2 days to enjoy the property and all our nature based activities.After days of rain the long awaited sun has returned together with more whales.

Hope to see you soon,hopefully for a much longer stay

Marcelino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Mosaic was the perfect sanctuary for exploring and pampering. We felt so well cared for. The staff did everything within their power to please. Accommodations were superb and beautiful, dining was phenomenal, and experiences full of fun. Learning about Fynbos and riding on quads with Jacob was delightful. Amber did everything to make sure we were provided with all our needs. Truly, every detail was tended to. We miss Mosaic, its setting and gorgeous surroundings and would recommend a stay here for lavish acommodations, beautiful scenery, and sundowners at the beach, along with staff doing their best to make the experience so memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Gary & Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, General Manager at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Gary and Pat

Thank you for the great review and for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to ensure that our guest experience the best visits possible to Mosaic during their travels. Our accommodation and setting is suburb, a place where one can truly relax and get away from the rat race. Thank you for the compliments on our service, our staff is exceptional always willing to go the extra mile and Amba is a gem. Spring is around the corner and the whales are back in numbers. We are looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Marcelino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
7.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
708 reviews
7.9 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
946 reviews
15.8 mi away
Arabella Hotel & Spa
Arabella Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kleinmond
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
418 reviews
1.5 mi away
MOSAIC Cottages
MOSAIC Cottages
#5 of 12 in Stanford
61 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stanford River Lodge
Stanford River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Stanford
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge

Address: Wortelgat Provincial Road, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Stanford
Price Range: £328 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOSAIC LAGOON LODGE is one of South Africa's finest hidden gems on the famous Whale Coast, 2 hrs SE of Cape Town. On the Hermanus Lagoon with 4x4 beach access, Mosaic is a nature lover's paradise. Here you will be immersed in flowers and bird-life of the Cape Floral Kingdom with activities including: boat cruises, kayaking, beach excursions, quad biking and mountain bikes. Mosaic is centrally located for whale watching, marine tours, cage shark diving and exploring the Overberg Wine Region. LAGOON LODGE is private and secluded with just five safari-style suites. It is built within ancient milkwood trees on the edge of the Hermanus Lagoon with magnificent mountain views. A pampered stay here is fully inclusive of all meals, house beverages/wine/beer and activities. The Mosaic Rain Spa offers massage and skin therapies using only Rain Africa professional products. New in December: the Spa will offer Elemis facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing