We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt Like Family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Felt Like Family”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My wife and I were so pleased with our experience at Mosaic Farm. They went out of their way to make all of the details of our honeymoon so special, including drawing a bath and lighting candles for us two nights in a row! You can really choose the experience you want there...you can go laid back or spend the entire day doing activities. We enjoyed the quad biking, boat cruise, and beach trip so much. We loved our lagoon lodge with private outdoor shower. The view of the mountains was splendid....right from our bed! We didn't even have to get up to enjoy the beautiful views!
We really enjoy connecting with people on holidays, and the staff was an absolute pleasure. They feel and act like a big family, with everyone pitching in to help everyone with a smile. Johan, Amber, Nadine, Marcelino, and Simone were just fine people to spend three days with.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Tom H
We are all so thrilled you were pleased with your experience at Mosaic Private Sanctuary. We love to spoil honeymoon couples and want to thank you for spending yours with us. Thank you also for letting us know what you appreciated at Mosaic - especially our staff, who you are right .... feel like family. We are so glad you enjoyed all our activities, and our rooms with private outdoor showers, and of course the mountains views which are every where.
We hope you will return to Mosaic!
Kindest regards,
Kathryn and the Mosaic Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    30
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
84
176
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

So much more than we expected! Attention to detail and super accomodating staff, a little gem of a place in the middle of a blissful private sanctuary. Whale-watching, hiking, wine tasting and relaxing in nature make the days fly by.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Philippe,
Thank you for joining us at Mosaic Private Sanctuary! We are so happy went beyond your expectations, as this is our goal with every guest! We are in a "blissful private sanctuary" but close to so much happening. We are so glad you saw whales on your trip and enjoyed the hiking, wine and nature.
We all hope you will return soon!
Kindest regards,
Kathryn and the Mosaic Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

- very stylish lodge, magnificent views on surrounding mountains
- very professional, friendly staff, excellent service level
- great food, wine,
- excursions and sundowners
- quiet, hidden gem, price corresponds to quality



  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Kristen,
The Mosaic Team is so happy you enjoyed your time at Mosaic Private Sanctuary! And everything that goes along with it ..... privacy, mountain views, our excellent staff and service level, great food/wine and the fun excursions you experienced. Thank you for taking the time to write and we hope to see you again soon.
Kindest regards,
Kathryn and the Mosaic Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect, as I hadn't been this way before, but it was a wonderful surprise if you are looking for peace and calm. Lovely walks along the edge of the lagoon and you can drive to a massive, wave smashed secluded beach, if you have a 4x4. The cottages are well equipped, though a bit close together. I loved the wood burning fires and the massive outside braai. Very friendly staff and we'll definitely go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Steve,

We are thrilled you had a pleasant surprise on arriving at Mosaic and found what you were looking for.....peace and calm! With our gorgeous mountain views, 933 hectare private location, position on the Hermanus Lagoon and fantastic flowers and birdlife, our guests find a peacefulness at Mosaic that is hard to come by. I hope you were able to see whales at the beach.

We look forward to having you back at Mosaic and hope you will try our all inclusive Lagoon Lodge. All food, house beverages and activities are included. Remember that if you stay in our cottages again, you can also add on activities on Mosaic and food from our cafe' in the 1892 Spookhuis.

Hope to see you soon.
Kindest regards,
Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Large well appointed cottage. Everything we needed and more. Nice location but remote. Access road was challenging after rain but all good. 40 minute drive to Hermanus. Nice walks along the coast. Great place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank brownr89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
We are so happy you had a wonderful stay at Mosaic Private Sanctuary and enjoyed the beach walks where the whales are! Our rain has been crazy this past winter and the roads department is finally out fixing the roads.
We hope you will return to South Africa again and enjoy more time at Mosaic!
Kindest regards,
Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a beautiful location. Bungalows are secluded, private and romantic. Staff is very attentive and caters to guests interests. Hotel tubs are amazing. Views are second to none. Loved this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMVanKerkhove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, General Manager at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Der Neil

It is so wonderful to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at Mosaic. We are spoiled with natural beauty and with the arrival of spring, it is even more special with carpets of flowers and an abundance of birdlife. I will be sure to send your kind words onto our staff at lagoon lodge.

Regards

Marcelino Henckert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

After a safari, driving on the "other" side of the road around South Africa and 8 k of potholed road, Mosaic was a haven of rest, relaxation and activities. We did not get in our car for four days! The owners are gracious stewards of this property with an eye to detail in the five cottages, whose materials are all locally sourced. The food is exquisite, and the chef aims to please: ostrich and venison, yummy puddings and buttery croissant and French press coffee at breakfast? The entire staff is warm and attentive. Amber offered to lend me her wellies, and I tried picking up her British terms. We even enjoyed our first night and day buffeted by wind and rain, catching up on our sleep and venturing out in 14 c for the outdoor shower, which warmed us up. You can stay busy: a walking tour of flora, kayaking (alas, the winds were against us, though we tried) quad biking and sundowners at the beach. The flower cover is amazing, showing nature at her best recovering from a fire. It is easy to see what a lovely site this would be for weddings and small conferences. My one regret is that I did not buy more from the tasteful gift shop -- far superior to what you will find at the airport. Just lovely.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelbeeSantaFe_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Travelbee,
We all thank you for your wonderful review of Mosaic!
Mosaic IS a perfect place to relax and catch up on sleep, especially after getting up at sunrise after a safari. We are so happy you were able to find the comfort you did being pampered by our staff, Jurie's delicious food and not being in your car for four days. The outdoor shower is to enjoy a true "African bush experience."
It was quite hectic during our last fire at Mosaic, but as you saw, the display of colors of nature are spectacular once springtime comes. Even the smallest of fynbos plants burst with color.
We are so glad you found wonderful things at our gift shop. Simone is the mastermind behind our shop and spa. She sources very unique gifts and artifacts, many directly from the people who make them.
We hope you will return to Mosaic!
Kindest regards,
Kathryn and all the Team at Mosaic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
7.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
7.9 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
909 reviews
5.8 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
MOSAIC Cottages
MOSAIC Cottages
#5 of 12 in Stanford
53 reviews
9.5 mi away
White Water Farm
White Water Farm
#2 of 12 in Stanford
108 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stanford River Lodge
Stanford River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Stanford
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge

Property: MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
Address: Wortelgat Provincial Road, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Stanford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOSAIC LAGOON LODGE is one of South Africa's finest hidden gems on the famous Whale Coast, 2 hrs SE of Cape Town. On the Hermanus Lagoon with 4x4 beach access, Mosaic is a nature lover's paradise. Here you will be immersed in flowers and bird-life of the Cape Floral Kingdom with activities including: boat cruises, kayaking, beach excursions, quad biking and mountain bikes. Mosaic is centrally located for whale watching, marine tours, cage shark diving and exploring the Overberg Wine Region. LAGOON LODGE is private and secluded with just five safari-style suites. It is built within ancient milkwood trees on the edge of the Hermanus Lagoon with magnificent mountain views. A pampered stay here is fully inclusive of all meals, house beverages/wine/beer and activities. The Mosaic Rain Spa offers massage and skin therapies using only Rain Africa professional products. New in December: the Spa will offer Elemis facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing