We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely end to SA adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Our travel agent recommended staying at the Mosaic Sanctuary as an enjoyable end to our SA adventure and she was right. We stayed at the Milkwood cottages where the setting is stunning with beautiful views over the lagoon from the well appointed cottages. The staff were all lovely & helpful & the food was delicious and plentiful. Travelling with two teenage boys, the inclusive activities, kayaking, quad biking & a guided walk along the lagoon were all we had time for, easily kept them entertained. We stayed for 3 nights & although the weather was poor on one day, the peace & tranquillity still made that day enjoyable. I would have enjoyed a longer stay & a return visit.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank shancy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KF J, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

We are so happy you took your agents recommendation and stayed at Mosaic and that you found it so peaceful. Peace and tranquility are just some of our specialties! Our inclusive activities at Lagoon Lodge are fun for young and old and we are so glad you enjoyed all you did.
We hope we will see you again and for a longer stay!
Kindest regards,
Kathryn and the Team at Mosaic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

My secret weekend away could not have been any better, The views, service, food and wine were all top notch and the accommodation and activities made for a great family outing. Even during a violent storm we were comfortable and warm. Great work Mosaic!

Room Tip: Room Number 2 has great views and is close to the main house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ClemD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KF J, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you so much for sharing information about your recent stay at Mosaic Private Sanctuary. We are so thrilled your "secret" weekend away was everything you hoped for and you enjoyed our views, food, wine, accommodations, activities and especially our staff at Mosaic! We hope to see you very soon again at Mosaic.
Kindest regards,
Kathryn and the Mosaic Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Myself and three friends stayed in one of the Milkwood Cottages at Mosaic Private Sanctuary for just two nights, and we regretted not staying there longer. The setting is idyllic and the staff are friendly, and the Spookhuis really lives up to its name at dusk - really spooky! Kayaking is offered without extra charge, and going out into the lake during sunset is some experience indeed. Overall a real gem in the area!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarge1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcelino23, General Manager at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Sarge 1989

Thank you for taking your time and writing such a great review. I am delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your kayaking experience on the lagoon. It is often the staff that determines the guests experience and thank you for commenting on this.

Hope to welcome you back again

Marcelino and the Mosaic family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was one of the best places we visited as a part of our honeymoon to South Africa. Set amidst a wonderful landscape, Mosaic is truly a heavenly experience ... One that is hard to be explained in words. The approach to the lodges gives you a feeling that you are entering a place far away from the mundane chores and has its own beauty and charm to entice you. We stayed at the beautiful Lagoon lodge and loved every bit of it - The beautiful view from the bed, the fire place, the bath (which makes you feel a part of nature) ... Spookhius has its own charm and is a wonderful place to have lunch. The staff here is wonderful and is always there to help you out if you need anything. Particular mention of Vitalis, Moses and William, who made our stay a memorable one. Also special thanks to Kathryn and her husband, who were the most wonderful hosts.

Do not miss out on the nature walk where you get to spot some wonderful birds, the cruise, the quad bike ride ... And the most of all, the sunset at Walkers Bay - You'll never forget it !

Hope to go back there sometime ... And to all going to South Africa, particularly couples on honeymoon, and those looking to go away from the city and experience some peaceful time with loved ones, this place is a must visit - It's an experience you'll cherish forever !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vinay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KF J, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Vinay,
We are honored that you chose to spend your honeymoon at Mosaic Private Sanctuary and are truly humbled by all your wonderful compliments about Mosaic! We are so happy you enjoyed everything about your stay and that we were able to make it one that you will cherish forever. We loved getting to know you and and your lovely wife. I have some awesome photos of you two and the spectacular sunset we all experienced at the beach. I will send them.
We hope to welcome you back at Mosaic soon....perhaps anniversary!
Kindest regards,
Kathryn and the Mosaic Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at the Duminy Cottage for 3 nights - what a perfect place for two families of 8.
When we arrived, we had an excellent lunch at the cafe and then settled in. Except for a day out for shark cage diving, none of us wanted to leave this heaven of beauty and tranquility.
The kids had their fair share of action canoeing on the lagoon or riding with quads through the dunes or horsebackriding on a farm nearby, while the adults took pleasure in cruising the lagoon for a sundowner or just staying on the porch, enjoying the scenery and preparing dinner on the outside braai.
Very friendly staff, well apointed cottage, good beds and bathroom, even one outdoor shower - and a breathtaking scenery.

Room Tip: Duminy Cottage is great for 4 adults (two en suites) and up to 5 kids (upstairs 5-bed open room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jos689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcelino23, General Manager at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for such a positive and wonderful review. It was fantastic to have you and your family at Mosaic and I am truly happy to hear that you did not want to leave.

I will be sure to pass on your review to the Mosaic family

Once again, thank you for the kind review and for having such a wonderful time with us

Marcelino and the Mosaic family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Mosaic milkwood cottages is a perfect family retreat even in winter. The cosy fireplace makes for a great place for kids to play and fall asleep. Kayaking on the lagoon is fantastic way for kids to explore. The owners and staff friendly and accommodating and went out of there way to make us feel welcome. Spookhuis has been beautifully restored and obviously taken lots of money, love and energy! Self catering cottages make it easy and flexible for families with the option of picnic baskets from the Spookhuis kitchen and well as lovely lunches, cakes and hot chocolates by the fire. Would definitely recommend this as a family destination.

Room Tip: Duminy cottage has the best views....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UGOAWOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcelino23, General Manager at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for taking your time and writing this great review. I am glad that you and your family enjoyed our accommodation, service, food and activities. With Winter upon us we certainly love the cold evenings, gathering around the fire with hot chocolate, marshmallows and great wines from our cellar. It’s the owners’ hope that the 1892 Spookhuis will host our guest in comfort and enhance the enjoyment of the natural surroundings and at the same time change people’s lives through job creation in our area.

Looking forward to your next visit

Marcelino and the Mosaic family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

What a wonderful place off the beaten track. The setting is idyllic - on the banks of the Hermanus Lagoon (like something out of Swallows and Amazons). We (family of 4, 2 adults and 2 kids aged 8 and 10) stayed in one of the luxurious Lagoon lodges with stunning views of the lagoon. Our friends (also a family of 4) stayed in one of the self-catering cottages (but food is served there if you want) which was also stunning. Simone and her team (particularly Vitalis and Vivienne) could not have done more to make us feel welcome and comfortable. There are lots of fun activities planned to keep the kids amused but brilliant for all ages - kayaking, quad biking, nature walks, sunset trips to the beautiful Walker Bay beach, complete with huge sand dunes. The food is second to none and the team made a fabulous 'Xhosa' hut birthday cake for our daughter's 8th birthday. This is a must-do destination for families.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shellispevick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcelino23, General Manager at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your special memories of your stay here at Mosaic with us. Your positive feedback and compliments with regards to the food and service will be passed on to the Mosaic family. It was a privilege to celebrate your daughter’s birthday with her. Gift will be so thrilled to hear that his cake made a lasting impression. We do hope to welcome you back at Mosaic in the near future.

Thank you

Marcelino and the Mosaic family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
7.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
755 reviews
1.5 mi away
MOSAIC Cottages
MOSAIC Cottages
#5 of 12 in Stanford
67 reviews
7.5 mi away
Bellavista Country Place
Bellavista Country Place
#2 of 11 in Stanford
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
#1 of 1 in Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
744 reviews
9.5 mi away
White Water Farm
White Water Farm
#2 of 12 in Stanford
130 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stanford River Lodge
Stanford River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Stanford
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge

Address: Wortelgat Provincial Road, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Stanford
Price Range: £289 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOSAIC LAGOON LODGE is one of South Africa's finest hidden gems on the famous Whale Coast, 2 hrs SE of Cape Town. On the Hermanus Lagoon with 4x4 beach access, Mosaic is a nature lover's paradise. Here you will be immersed in flowers and bird-life of the Cape Floral Kingdom with activities including: boat cruises, kayaking, beach excursions, quad biking and mountain bikes. Mosaic is centrally located for whale watching, marine tours, cage shark diving and exploring the Overberg Wine Region. LAGOON LODGE is private and secluded with just five safari-style suites. It is built within ancient milkwood trees on the edge of the Hermanus Lagoon with magnificent mountain views. A pampered stay here is fully inclusive of all meals, house beverages/wine/beer and activities. The Mosaic Rain Spa offers massage and skin therapies using only Rain Africa professional products. New in December: the Spa will offer Elemis facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing