We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Unforgettable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

Mosaic Farm owner, Kathryn Johnson, and her staff (Warren, Craig, Paula) are so warm and attentive that it felt like I was with family. From the romantic bungalows with gorgeous scenery to the gourmet meals, everything there feels so special. Even though it feels like the best place to do nothing, you will want to enjoy all the fun activities like quad-riding, sun-downers (beach is a scenic 20min open-air jeep ride away), shark-cage diving, and a lot of wine-tasting at the wonderful vineyards in the region, just to name a few. Kathryn's love will extend into every part of your unforgettable trip. What are you waiting for?!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dida1world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    30
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
81
173
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

Truely wonderful few days as part of our honeymoon. Could not recommend it high enough. Setting was stunning, peaceful and relaxing. Accommodation, Food and Hospitality great. We would go back in a minute. Warren, Craig and Tanya in particular deserve a special thanks for making us so welcome.....and now avid bird watchers!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripFan217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

This is hands down the best place to stay outside of Cape Town! It's luxurious and quaint at the same time. It's cozy and the staff feels like family. The staff is very professional and delightful. The beautiful scenery on the farm is breathtaking and it's very easy to stay here and not want to come back home. The amenities are amazing, I loved everything about this place and cannot wait to get back there! This is where you want to stay!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimpossible11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

The rooms are so unique & amazing. Who doesn't love an outside shower?! And our view out into the lagoon is breathtaking. The staff is service minded like none other. The took amazing care of us, including our young daughter. The food was world class. It's just a uniquely amazing place!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2009

We love Mosaic Farms! The setting itself is captivating, especially if you are in to birding. The raised walkway that takes you to your individual bungalow is reminicent of Montana to us, with the gorgeous scenery right outside your door, it really feels like you have the place to yourselves (even if you really do). While we were there, the weather was not very cooperative for outdoor adventures, but we still had a very memorable and wonderful time.

Our arrival was greeted with Craig and Warren showing us to our room-with deep soaking tub, outside shower, huge king size mosquito netted bed-and views for ages. We were hustled into the Land Rover for a sundowner out on Walker Bay-even with the 40 knot gales, it was breathtaking. We saw whales very close to shore while dining on fabulous gourmet hours'douvers.

Next was dinner in the beautifully restored Spookhuis-if you want a romantic dinner, bring nice clothes, this is the chance! All food is organic, local or grown on the property, Chef Craig comes out and tells you what the entrees are, and everything c'est magnifique. The presentation is style worthy, and the flavors are delectable. We had a great time at dinner, and even saw an Owl on the way home to our cottage.

The main room is cozy and wonderful to sit and read in, or look through the telescope at the many birds on the lagoon. The level of care given to preservation of the environment is commendable, as well as the extensive knowledge of the local flora and fauna by Craig. Paula is also extremely hospitable, and we had a wonderful time speaking with her about things to do and see in the region. This is not the touristy area of Hermanus, but 45 mins by car to both Hermanus or Gansbaii, so you can do all the whale watch or shark diving easily from Mosaic. The only difference is, you get to come home and soak in the pool or your own private soaking tub at a 5 star spot!

Advice if you are going on a walking tour or hike, would be to bring long pants and socks, as there were quite a few ticks (most likely conditions and season was just right). None of us got bit, they're easy to spot, but just a word of precaution.

We highly recommend Mosaic to fellow travelers, and the staff make it what it is-relaxing, fantastic, beautiful, and educational. Thank you to Craig, Chef Craig, Paula, and Warren for making our stay memorable!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank passportstampjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeWhaleCoast, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, 26 April 2010
We are so delighted you had a good time at Mosaic Farm and were served well by our staff. Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Mosaic!
Kindest regards,
Kathryn & Breese Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
7.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
5.8 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
8.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
MOSAIC Cottages
MOSAIC Cottages
#5 of 12 in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
9.5 mi away
White Water Farm
White Water Farm
#2 of 12 in Stanford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stanford River Lodge
Stanford River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge

Property: MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
Address: Wortelgat Provincial Road, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Stanford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOSAIC LAGOON LODGE is one of South Africa's finest hidden gems on the famous Whale Coast, 2 hrs SE of Cape Town. On the Hermanus Lagoon with 4x4 beach access, Mosaic is a nature lover's paradise. Here you will be immersed in flowers and bird-life of the Cape Floral Kingdom with activities including: boat cruises, kayaking, beach excursions, quad biking and mountain bikes. Mosaic is centrally located for whale watching, marine tours, cage shark diving and exploring the Overberg Wine Region. LAGOON LODGE is private and secluded with just five safari-style suites. It is built within ancient milkwood trees on the edge of the Hermanus Lagoon with magnificent mountain views. A pampered stay here is fully inclusive of all meals, house beverages/wine/beer and activities. The Mosaic Rain Spa offers massage and skin therapies using only Rain Africa professional products. New in December: the Spa will offer Elemis facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing