We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of UK Beers in South Africa”

Walkerbay Estate and Birkenhead Brewery
Ranked #4 of 14 things to do in Stanford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As the first wine and brewing estate in the southern hemisphere, we run a small but growing micro brewery, water bottling plant, winery and vineyard situated in the Western Cape of South Africa. We have much to offer, not only to the beer and wine enthusiast, but to those just interested in visiting our beautiful country estate near Stanford in the shadow of the Klein Rivier mountains. Here you will find out about our exceptional beer,our country estate, our brewery. As of September 2015 the restaurant is under new management called "Birkenhead Galley" separately listed in Trip advisor by the new owners. Come and enjoy our delicious food and freshly brewed beer, and visit our vineyard and winery where we produce Walker Bay Vineyards wines.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A slice of UK Beers in South Africa”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great location, easy to find. Good selection of beers and wines to try and buy. You may need a small tanker of arrange alternative transport to take your purchases home!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    50
    20
    13
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kempton Park, South Africa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst Restuarant Service yet!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

What was supposed to be great family lunch outing with a beer tasting on the 26th of December 2013 ended with us leaving the brewery after waiting for 1,5 hrs for our food and then being told that our order wasn't even started. I understand staffing problems on a day like Boxing day, but then why do you still take food orders?

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CoachBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A trip worth taking”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We have visited the Birkenhead brewery, in Stanford, on many occasions and have always found it to be a very pleasant outing. The staff are always very obliging and helpful. The food is tasty of a good quality and sufficient proportions. The beer is excelent and well brewed. All this coupled to the magnifient mountain views makes this a really worthwhile trip.

The Rowe clan.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
120 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We love the Birkenhead brewery and always make an effort to get to the brewery when we are in the Hermanus area. Well worth the trip. The beer tasting is a must in order to determine your favourite and then sit down with a full glass over your favourite over lunch. All the beers are great but Honey Blonde is a firm favourite amongst our friends and family. Make an effort to be there over lunch time as they make one of the best beer pies I’ve tasted.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We called for a spot of lunch and to visit the Winemaker of the Estate. We had a lovely lunch, we did some wine tasting, which was fantastic and the setting is really something that should not be missed if you happen to be in the area. Highly recommended.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BernadetteHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walkerbay Estate and Birkenhead Brewery also viewed

Stanford, Overberg District
 
Stanford, Overberg District
Stanford, Overberg District
 

Been to Walkerbay Estate and Birkenhead Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing