We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stanford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stanford Valley Guest Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
76 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Located about 45 mins from hermanus the Stanford farm is located in a beautiful and tranquil setting. The rooms are quite rustic in perfectly tune with the farm environment. The guest house is on a farm so that you can stroll down to greet the horses or watch the resident pig in its sty. Lovely experience. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sangeev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
19
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Warm welcome, lovely rooms, lovely staff!! Eric, the owner, is a lovely man! Absolutely stunning location, breath taking! Would (hopefully will) go back there and stay!! Family friendly place, my two nieces didn't even miss the TV! Thanks for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jusclack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I stayed on the farm for a wedding which booked the whole farm for the event. The idyllic charm of the venue was outstanding and the rooms were clean, cosy and just right. It is self catering and shops are a short drive away although my room did not have a kitchen (others do). I would definitely visit again when back in SA.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkSweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sissinghurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This was really close to the wedding we had to go to very simple room with 3 beds, shower (it leaked a bit) bamboo ceiling was lovely, fantastic views of the mountains and no light pollution so the most wonderful view of stars I have ever seen. No catering so a fridge in the room would have been nice, the room was not serviced but for 2 nights this was not a problem. Do take your own drinking water, as in so many country places it is brown! Very helpful hosts happy to lend a hairdryer and give me use of an iron. South African rustic at its most charming.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We were lucky enough to stay in a self catering cottage on the farm in September. The cottage 'Erica' was lovely , it far exceeded our expectations. A comfy bed , a beautiful bathroom with a courtyard and outside shower.. a kitchen , with a dining table and wood burning stove for warmth.
Our host was lovely , the farm and area itself are magical.. and we had a super weekend.... Thanks Eric !

Room Tip: The water here is full of Tannin... don't be suprised when your bath water looks like tea... it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiliFaerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
18.2 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
1.0 mi away
White Water Farm
White Water Farm
#2 of 12 in Stanford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
8.6 mi away
Stanford River Lodge
Stanford River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
#1 of 12 in Stanford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
9.5 mi away
Bellavista Country Place
Bellavista Country Place
#2 of 11 in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
5.9 mi away
Blue Gum Country Estate
Blue Gum Country Estate
#10 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Valley Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Valley Guest Farm

Property: Stanford Valley Guest Farm
Address: R326 | 10 km from Stanford, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Stanford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanford Valley Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically situated 10 km from the historic town of Stanford, Stanford Valley Guest Farm provides a restful and picturesque base from which to tour both the Overstrand and Overberg regions of South Africa's Western Cape. Close to Caledon, Hermanus and Gansbaai, there is no shortage of "things to do," but we have plenty of space for hiking and swimming in our large dam right here on the farm. Our accommodation comprises of a total of 19 en suite rooms of which 7 are self-catering. Our restaurant, Manor House, opened its doors November 2015 and is already a firm favorite on the culinary scene! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing