We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to get to, brilliant wines and scenery!”
Review of Raka Wine

Raka Wine
Ranked #5 of 14 things to do in Stanford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Raka brand was named after Piet Dreyer's black fishing vessel. Piet's first love has always been the sea. For some 36 years he braved the storms and challenges of the coast, ever in search of the best catch. It is with this same passion that the Dreyer family now pursue the art of wine making. With the rich blessing of earth and elements, the help of a dedicated workforce, the enthusiasm of winemaker Josef Dreyer and the advantages of a modern gravity flow cellar, Piet Dreyer produces his award-winning Raka wines.
The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Easy to get to, brilliant wines and scenery!”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Raka is my all time favorite must-stop winery tucked in the mountain valley near Stanford. The wine tasting hosts are excellent and well informed, and the wine must not be missed! I highly recommend a visit or two!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJewell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois City, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beatiful winery and excellent wines”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This was a wonderful wine tasting experience with beautiful views and delicious wines. We also snacked on biltong here, which was delicious. We bought a few bottles of wine here because we loved it so much.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AandD T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice day”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

This was a great experience for all of us - would do it again. Take the time and drive to Raka, pure bliss

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elnette v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“An unexpected surprise and a welcome treat”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Driving along the road to Stanford from Riviersonderend, on a lovely country road, we came across the Raka winery. We have tasted the red blend called Quinary before, so we paid the winery a visit. Tasting is R10 a glass and we tasted the Sauvignon Blanc and Spliced, Quinary and Biography Shiraz. They were all good and the young woman who conducted the wine tasting was informative and chatty. We came away with 6 bottles of wine which we squeezed into the already full car. We will certianly be back!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AntSomersetWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raka Wine also viewed

 
Stanford, Overberg District
Stanford, Overberg District
 

Been to Raka Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing