We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pork belly ever”
Review of The Stanford Table - CLOSED

The Stanford Table
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best pork belly ever”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

This was a great experience. Very very good food and service. Exceptional pork belly dish, but all three of us really enjoyed everything we had. This was one of the two best dinners of our vacation in South Africa. We liked the charming old building with its simple decor and enjoyed talking to the chef/owner. She has created a lovely place with excellent food which is high quality but unpretentious. Would definitely return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cobbett2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, great value!”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This was our first visit to this restaurant (accompanied by my parents for their third visit) and we'll certainly be back! The food was great...prawns in Pernod, fishcake for starters and pork belly, duck salad for main courses; lemon tart, 'almond friand' for dessert...all very tasty and excellent value. This restaurant is a welcome addition to the Stanford scene...bring your own wine (no licence yet and no corkage), great food at this quality and price should make this a first choice!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SmartN01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Total professionalism and flair!”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This chef/owner is a newcomer to the Stanford scene I gather. His restaurant (housed in a typical Victorian cottage on the high street) immediately breathes a level of sophistication which we did not find in other establishments in this charming and truly unspoiled village. (We ate at one other small restaurant on our weekend visit and though it offered food of a high quality it lacked the clear sense of understanding of flavour which is definitely a hallmark of the fare at 'The Standford Table if the 5 meals which our party ordered are anything to go by). Decor is restrained and carefully considered - not minimalist in the true sense but rather uncluttered and restrained but never-the-less welcoming. No music! Hurray just the chuckling sounds of fellow diners enjoying the food. (So may restaurants to my ear, have a cacophony of loud music and deafening conversation! Marion, the front of house person, is jovial and knowledgable - we heard that she is responsible for the starters and deserts - she has a very sure touch and clearly enjoys playing with flavours with great success.

I had the oven roasted tomato tart with a parmesan biscuit-like pastry - substantial, delicious and ridiculously cheap! The pork loin which was a petite but perfectly filling portion served with plain green beans and a delicious mash. The pork itself was a wonderous thing! The basting sauce an inspired mixture of sweet, sour and chilli. The frangipane tart was excellent but looked a little lonely on the plate to me - perhaps a splodge of cream or ice cream?

Really , a most surprising and (by city standards) reasonably-priced meal. No wine licence yet so we took our own - no corkage of course! Bravo Stanford! Bravo Chefs!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Inkululeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I loved the look of the building and the minimalist decor inside. My starter was prawns in Pernod. Delicious! For mains I had duck with a mango salsa. The meat was a most peculiar grey colour and certainly not of the pinkness I normally prefer. The salsa had an overpowering flavour of (dried?) thyme. Desert must have been run of the mill as I cannot remember what I had. Coffee was not offered even when we asked for our bill. Service was noticeably slow but with only one excellent waitress that's to be expected. If this was a school report "Must try harder" would be appropriate!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmarkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
151 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed it”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

The Stanford Table is the new 'kid on the block' in Stanford. It was our first visit and we really enjoyed our Sunday lunch. The food is reasonably priced and surprisingly good. The menu is somewhat limited but none of our party had any problems finding something that they liked. The slow roasted pork belly was among the best that I have tasted. Well done to all concerned. We will certainly return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine7200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stanford Table also viewed

Stanford, Overberg District
Stanford, Overberg District
 
Stanford, Overberg District
Stanford, Overberg District
 
Stanford, Overberg District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing