We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we had booked for a longer stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fountain Place Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 7 McGregor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“Wish we had booked for a longer stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

What a pleasure! We stayed at Fountain Place for 1 night in December and we were very pleasantly surpised! We originally thought that it might not be very glamorous due to the affordability - boy were we wrong! The room was beautiful and it complimented the McGregor scenery. We left early the Sunday morning for Stellenbosch and even though it was lovely, we wished we had rather stayed another evening in McGregor instead. Mark and Jane were so kind and very helpful with any queries. The breakfast was really nice. We had a super time! We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
62
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed with Mark and Jane recently and from the moment we arrived they made us very welcome,they go to great lengths with their attention to detail in every way.
We are regular stayers in McGregor and can honestly say Fountain Place comes out on top.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnrachelbeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

We are McGregor fans - this is a very special little village with a charm that makes you think you've stepped back in time! Fountain Place was the perfect place to stay. Mark, our kind, attentive and gentle host; comfortable clean rooms, a good shower, yummy breakfast...what more could you want? Not for party animals...

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bushbaby61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Owen, Velddrif
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2010

We found Fountain Place Guesthouse to be just what we were looking for. Far from the madding crowd and convenient for sight-seeing in the area. Our hosts Mark and Jane were very friendly, helpful and the service at their venue was impeccable. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends. The special weekend offer was also good value for money. The accommodation was wonderful and we felt as though we had the whole place to ourselves.
Loved it and will be back!!
Thanks!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McGregor
0.4 mi away
Old Village Lodge
Old Village Lodge
#1 of 7 in McGregor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Bonheur Guest Accommodation
2.4 mi away
Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cape Cottages McGregor
Cape Cottages McGregor
#3 of 9 in McGregor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
19.7 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
10.4 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Place Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Place Guesthouse

Property: Fountain Place Guesthouse
Address: Corner Barry & Meul Street, McGregor 6708, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > McGregor
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in McGregor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step through the gate at Fountain Place Guesthouse and feel the stresses and strains of everyday life fall away as you enter our beautiful secret garden. Follow the sound of the fountains onto our vine-covered courtyard and be warmly welcomed by owners Justin and Linzi Carlisle, through your own private entrance and into your exquisite suite, complete with your own private lounge. Allow yourself to forget about time and technology for a day or two... Or as long as you desire... And just immerse yourself in the sheer pleasure of soul-soothing relaxation and rejuvenation... A mere two hours' scenic drive from Cape Town, Fountain Place is for those who enjoy 'the nice things in life' and, as such, no expense has been spared to ensure that your comfortable stay is one that will remain in your memory long after you leave us... Until you return once more... Situated in the picturesque village of McGregor in the heart of the Robertson Wine Valley, Fountain Place is a romantic and relaxing haven only 2 hours drive from Cape Town. Built in 1862, Fountain Place is a Provincial Heritage Site and is housed in a white-washed and thatched traditional building. It is tastefully and comfortably furnished with antique furniture, high quality, contemporary fittings and unique decorative items. There are two guest suites, comprising bedroom with fireplace, lounge with tea/coffee-making facilities and bar fridge and a bathroom with rain shower. Each lounge leads onto the vine-covered courtyard via its own private entrance and each bedroom looks onto the tranquil garden. For added luxury, gowns and slippers are provided, together with a carafe containing a complimentary nightcap. A high quality full two course breakfast is served on fine English bone china at beautifully laid private dining tables in the courtyard, under the vines (or in private indoor dining areas in colder months). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fountain Place Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing