We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McGregor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tanagra Wine + Guestfarm
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Wonderful retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We spent a blissful weekend at the Hill Cottage, which is the ideal spot for a couple looking to get away from it all for a bit. The cottage has beautiful finishes and is equipped with everything that you need for a weekend away. Tanagra is a beautiful farm and Robert and Anette are very friendly and helpful hosts. The wine and grappa are a treat so definitely do a tasting. We will return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyFeet84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
145
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

My husband and I booked into Tanagra for 3 nights to follow part of the Cape Epic Mountain Bike race. It was absolutely fabulous. We had the loft Studio which has masses of space and a balcony overlooking the dam where we enjoyed our first evening watching the sun set with a bottle of Heavenly Chaos which we had sampled earlier at the wine and eau de vie tasting with Anette. We self-catered and ate at the Studio every night, where we could totally unwind and relax on a very comfortable settee ( a cd player is also provided). We enjoyed the pool and did most of the marked walks around the farm. Even though we had torrential rain the second night and gale force winds the next which disturbed our sleep we had a wonderful time and will definitely be back. Thanks Anette for your very warm welcome.
P.S. The boxed bottle of Shiraz arrived home safely and we have already broken into the Lemon Eau de Vie - delicious!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My wife and I recently spent a long weekend at Tanagra. We stayed in the Hill Cottage. Set amongst the vineyards overlooking the valley we found this to be the perfect retreat! The cottage is kitted out with everything you may need and more, including an espresso maker and cups! There are both front a back braai areas, which makes braaing possible in any wind! A small splash pool is perfect for those hot summer days! We spent a lot of time on the lovely stoep overlooking the valley admiring the vibrant bird life! There are also a number a lovely walks of varying distances on the farm, one to a dam on the nearby Vrolijkheid Nature Reserve, excellent for bird wathcing. Another walk has a number of labelled Karoo plants, complete with colour photos! The farm makes their on wine and grappa / eau de vie, available for tasting and purchase. The hosts, Robert and Anette, were extremely friendly and helpful. Anette makes her own jams, which are also for purchase! All and all a wonderful stay! We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Hill cottage or Faraway for a private / secluded stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun_Stell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We received a charming McGregor welcome from Anette and Robert after a long day of delayed flights, traffic jams and the hottest day recorded for years. We stayed in the loft room and were very comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding - home made preserves, sourdough rye bread, fresh farm eggs - Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chlandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

My wife and I have traveled quite a bit throughout South Africa, and love long distance road trip to experience our beautiful country. This is a slightly belated review, but in September 2013 we had the pleasure of staying at the Faraway unit. I can safely say that it’s the best South African venue we've ever experience. Granted, I do have a weakness for the Western Cape. However, once up at the Faraway unit after a short gravel road drive, you genuinely feel that you’re the only human beings for miles, and you don’t see a soul – while at the same time feeling completely safe. The tranquility is incredible and the semi arid vegetation and mountain views are sensational. We spend many long hours on the veranda looking out as the sun went down. The architecture is modern, and the unit acts as a self sustaining unit in terms of power, which is absolutely fine. Big glass doors open up onto the vistas, with a small plunge pool outside. A small CD player is included if needed, and the nice thing is you can play the music as loud as you can without bothering a soul  . Guests Robert and Anette who own the farm are a lovely, welcoming and down to earth couple, and the boutique winery at the main area of the farm is a must-visit. Really can’t wait to go back, hopefully sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jared L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

On our first visit to the sleepy village of McGregor we booked in for 3 nights at the beautiful Tanagra wine farm in the bluegum suite. What a great experience. On arrival were were met by owners Anette and Robert who were very welcoming. We were very happy with our suite which had everything we needed and was spacious and tastefully furnished. We also had a lovely stoep with BBQ facilities. The room was simple yet modern. Wonderful bed. Gorgeous linen. Great fan which was much appreciated in the stifling heat. I must say that although there is no air conditioning, the fan suffices at keeping you cool.
The farm has some lovely walking trails and a pool for guests to enjoy as well as a beautiful dam which is perfect for watching sunsets. The nearby Vrolijkheid nature reserve also offers more opportunities to enjoy the pristine surrounds.
Be sure to book breakfast with Anette! Her breakfasts are awesome! Wonderful produce prepared with love and on most days eau de vie produced on the farm.
Tanagra is a great place to recharge your batteries. And since the network signal is weak on the farm ( with the exception of the office) you really can get away from it all. This venue would be lovely in winter and summer. Would love to stay at Faraway cottage next time.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravi_K13524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Tanagra was just perfect from the beginning to the end of our stay, which was 2 nights in the Loft Room. From Anette's efficient communications when booking (also booking a local restaurant for us), to the wonderful wine and "grappa" tasting, and beautifully appointed rooms with everything you could possibly need. The fabulous breakfasts (with suprises!) which take place around a large wooden table, so it was a real social time to chat and catch up with other guests and our hosts. The farm is a most beautiful place and one can hike and not leave its boundaries (although we did, crossing a dirt road and entering the neighbouring Vrolijkheid Reserve! We felt so relaxed and rejuvenated after our stay which is a wonderful thing in this busy world. We left with our boot groaning with wine and homemade jam etc. Annete and Robert are the most wonderful hosts and we will most definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McGregor
1.0 mi away
Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor
2.6 mi away
Fountain Place Guesthouse
3.0 mi away
Old Village Lodge
Old Village Lodge
#1 of 7 in McGregor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Cape Cottages McGregor
Cape Cottages McGregor
#3 of 9 in McGregor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
10.9 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
12.1 mi away
Bonnievale River Lodge
Bonnievale River Lodge
#2 of 10 in Bonnievale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanagra Wine + Guestfarm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanagra Wine + Guestfarm

Property: Tanagra Wine + Guestfarm
Address: Vroljkheid, McGregor 6708, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > McGregor
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in McGregor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanagra is an idyllic wine and guest farm with character in the McGregor Valley providing a stylish and yet authentic countryside experience in upmarket and tastefully furnished accommodation (Self Catering and B&B)for the wine and nature lover. Relax under the magnificent old wild fig tree in the garden or at the pool, watch the birds, which are there in abundance, stroll along, swim or go fishing in the big dam, go for anything between a leisurely walk in the vineyards or the veld to a more serious hike in the adjoining Vrolijkheid Nature Reserve. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing