We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super”
Review of Old Village Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Village Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 McGregor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had a great two days at The Old Village Lodge. Nicolaas was a perfect host and made smashing breakfasts. The garden room with outside seating area was delightful. The lodge is conveniently place in the middle of the small town, which has a lovely restaurant. It's the ideal place to relax and the pool was very inviting.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JTM700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

My stay at the Old Village Lodge was very relaxing and enjoyable. Nicolaas the lodge owner went out of his way to make my visit a memorably one. The breakfasts were excellent and on par with any five star international hotel. My air conditioned room was extremely comfortable and well decorated. The lodge is set in the most wonderful garden with a sparkling pool to cool off in after a hot days drive around the Breede Valley vineyards.
Set in central McGregor The Old Village Lodge is well priced and definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Try the room with own patio overlooking the lush garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zimbo Traveller H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Quaint, characterful old building with the most comfortable, tastefully decorated bedrooms and bathrooms. Personal attention from the owners was outstanding as was the breakfast. The pool in the garden was the perfect cooler and long enough for a little exercise as well. A perfect resting place during my business trip,

Room Tip: The Garden Room has a patio that looks out onto a delightful garden.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Tikari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

What a great find. My wife and I were lucky enough to be the only guests during our three day trip to McGregor. We stayed in the garden room, which has its own patio directly leading into the garden. The garden is a delight to walk around, with small seating areas hidden in various corners of the garden. The small pool area had plenty of loungers and seating.
All rooms are beautifully decorated, as is the lounge and outside patio where we had breakfast.
Nicolaas is a wonderful host, and is a master when it comes to baking and creating lovely fruit/yogurt dishes for breakfast. His muffins and scones were absolutely delicious, but his croissants have to be the best I have ever tasted, and are even better with some of his home made jams.
McGregor is a small village, but it is a lovely place to stopover and chill out for a few days.
Deli Girls is a lovely place for a coffee, and we had a couple of meals at Tebaldis, which is a very pleasant restaurant serving lovely food.

Room Tip: The garden room is the best as you have your own patio leading to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CIDHMORE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My husband and I travel between Cape Town and Knysna frequently and much to our delight discovered The Old Village Lodge in Mcgregor . We have had the pleasure of staying in this delightful guesthouse a number of times and can recommend it without hesitation. Nicolaas is a wonderful host with great attention to detail, not to mention his abilities in the kitchen. The rooms are beautifully decorated, clean and very comfortable. The old house has been immaculately restored, and the garden with pool is stunning. Absolutely perfect!

Room Tip: All rooms are great....the room at back of the house has a delightful patio overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Koblyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christy6708, Owner at Old Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Kobus and Lynn,
Thank you for your very positive review and recommendation. We try to keep our standards as high as possible, and that goes with the breakfast where I try to do something different every time.
Thank you for choosing Old Village Lodge every time you travel around here, and it is always nice to see you and Kobus. It is always a pleasure having you as our guests.
Kind regards,
Nicolaas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in February and very much enjoyed our stay. The rooms are very luxurious and have a real touch of flair, superb value for the price you pay. For me the big treat was the pool which was probably the longest experienced during our stay in South Africa, and what a totally delightful garden with nooks and krannies everywhere.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank frenchpoodle80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

If you haven't been to Mcgregor, maybe this is a good reason to go.
The Old Village Lodge is wonderful guesthouse with immaculate gardens, beautiful, large and very clean rooms and a lovely pool. Everything is perfect ! Our host Nicolaas surprised us once more with a delicious breakfast. It was our second time there, but for sure we will be back as soon as we can. Once more thank you for a lovely stay!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JJK98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christy6708, Owner at Old Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Janja,
Thank you for this very positive review, and thank you for choosing Old Village Lodge again for your stay. It was good to see you again. Our aim is to keep the gardens maintained for our guests to wander and enjoy the beauty. We aim to keep our rooms on high standard, and find positive feedback very rewarding. Thank you once again, and I hope to see you next year again.
Kind village regards,
Nicolaas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McGregor
20.4 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
590 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fountain Place
Fountain Place
#2 of 8 in McGregor
106 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Bonheur Guest Accommodation
20.1 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
13.8 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Village Lodge

Address: 69 Voortrekker Rd, McGregor 6708, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > McGregor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in McGregor
Price Range: £63 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Village Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ANY OTHER SITE AVAILIBILITIES MAY BE WRONG OTHER THAN OWN SITE. Old Village Lodge is an upmarket guest house offering three elegant air conditioned bedrooms, elegant private lounge and dining area, undercover patio's and a large pool to cool down in. The tranquil established garden with quiet sitting areas and walkways is the perfect place to find some peace and tranquility. Full English breakfasts are served with a delicious fruit & savoury muffin platter. Delicious country cuisine for dinners are available on request. Be our guest... Relax and rejuvenate your soul. Prices from R600 per person sharing and R850 for single stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Old Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing