We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stevens family from Stellenbosch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor
Certificate of Excellence
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stevens family from Stellenbosch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We found the service very friendly and always willing to be helpful and accommodating. The room was neat and clean and very spacious even with a 10 year old child sharing. Very tranquil and quiet - a great setting to unwind. The views are great and the grounds well maintained. We had lunch and dinner there and found the food of high standard and good value. We highly recommend Lord"s. Martin Stevens

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    27
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
100
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

What an awesome stay we had over a long weekend! Even our 5 year old son had an awesome time, since Matt and Colin went out of there way to make his stay memorable. He fed ducks, enjoyed walking in the beautiful surroundings, loved the personal attention from uncle Matt and uncle Colin and loved his sleeper couch. Besides a perfect and very romantic setting, every meal we had was awesome....so much so that we didn't even try out any other restaurants in the area! The Lodge is near enough both Robertson and McGregor to go sightseeing and wine-tasting.....but you may like us, prefer to enjoy the natural surroundings, peace and quiet that the lodge has to offer. Highlights were sundowners overlooking the valley every evening! We will definitely be back as one doesn't often find such great service and attention to detail, Matt and Colin are the perfect hosts. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania7004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed at Lords for a long weekend during McGregor 'Slow' Wine Festival. What a fabulous stay!... Awesome natural surroundings and the most stunning venue. Peacocks and ducks waddle across the lawns and water features tinkle and sparkle in the sun. Beautiful and rustic rooms, with lovely proper duvets and fireplaces ready to go. Most importantly Matt and Colin were the most brilliant hosts, looking after us with an authentic care that exceeded all conceivable expectation. The food was sensational, the wine was superb. We'd recommend you do it. Definitely.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjkcjkcjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lord's Guest Lo... M, Owner at Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
This is terribly sad and sorry to hear of it.

As management we are concerned and very sorry to hear of you unsatisfactory experience during your stay. Please accept these explanations to the issues raised, as we host many weddings and special events, so contrary to your perception, strive to make them memorable occasions for all the right reasons. We apologise that this did not seem to be the case for you, even though you kindly acknowledge the "picturesque surroundings and beautiful cottages" you experienced.

We understand that there were complications with your stay, in that you wished to use the chapel - for which we usually charge. There may have been confusion, as it was offered as per e-mail on the 28 March 2014, but not booked, so you made your own access, for which we waivered the cost.

Coffees and teas and any other beverages are not included in the accommodation costs, for which breakfast are complimentary - and the feedback we have received is that they are of best international quality and locally supplied as well. We will review the quality of coffee in light of your remark.

Our understanding is that the mini bar drinks bill, which was disputed during check-out, has been waivered as well.

We hope that this goes some way to appropriately recognising your needs. We do have a personal involvement with out visitors and endeavour to encourage our staff to enjoy a good service relationship too. Our returning guest of which there is many, suggests that we do get it right.

We accept that this was not your perception and we are not trying to defy any hospitality practices. Please reconsider visiting Lord's Lodge again in the near future in order to rebuild on our relationship.

Kind regards
Matt Bronkhorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had such a good time!!! This was our 2nd visit to Lord's and recommending it to our friends and colleagues. What a peaceful place and so beautiful. We enjoyed every moment of our stay. Hope to be back for more, soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Petre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Having studied hotel management, I pay attention to detail everywhere we go. Lords guest lodge is truly one of my favorite destinations and the service is absolutely incredible!

The rooms are immaculate and the small personal touches really makes it special. My fiancé and I got engaged at Lords and we could not have asked for anything more perfect. Matt and Colin made the evening and the rest of the weekend so special for us (:

We would recommend Lords any day of the year and its perfect for families as well as romantic get always.

Good times!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. MacKenzie has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chanel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secunda, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed here for one night (wish we were here longer) in an Executive Unit, with our 3 year old daughter. From the moment we arrived we were treated like Royalty. Nothing was too much trouble. It was a really cold day and we could relax by the fire in our room. We were the only guests for the night (it was a weekday), so we could decide on dinner and breakfast time! Our hosts were courteous and the food was out of this world!! Our daughter thorougly enjoyed all the ducks and other poultry. After breakfast she was given bread to feed them from the patio, which was a big treat for her. Lord's really understand that it is the small, thoughtful things that make the difference. We would love to go back. Oh, and don't forget to have some of their wine - very nice!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koala1629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Fabulous place to stay, beaut cottages with stunning views. Food outstanding and the people went out of their way to make our weekend memorable! The cottages were very tastefully furnished and included a fireplace.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Erilda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McGregor
2.4 mi away
Fountain Place Guesthouse
3.0 mi away
Cape Cottages McGregor
Cape Cottages McGregor
#3 of 9 in McGregor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.9 mi away
Old Village Lodge
Old Village Lodge
#1 of 7 in McGregor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Le Bonheur Guest Accommodation
8.2 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
11.0 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor

Property: Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor
Address: Koningsrivier Road, McGregor, 6708, McGregor 6708, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > McGregor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in McGregor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is hard to imagine a more splendid setting for a supremely elegant venue that takes one back to a time of extravagant luxury and exemplary refinement. With 4 star management and exquisite style you can not help to feel like royalty during your stay. Inspired by the surroundings and its rich heritage, Lord's Guest Lodge overlooks the expanse of the Valley and the blue mountains beyond. Situated atop the Koningsrivier hills between Robertson and McGregor, just off the R62, Lord's Guest Lodge welcomes you to a place where time stood still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing