We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Joy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a Joy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We were a group of 4 and stayed here for only 1 night but had dinner on two occasions both great and washed down by the stunning Lords wines . A fabulous place to sit back and relax our stone cottage was spacious and extremely comfortable, unfortunately our weather was not great but that did not detract from our stay here in this beautiful guest lodge.
A huge thank you to Collin and Welhelm (probably both spelt incorrectly, sorry) you were both fantastic and we hope some day to be back to renew our friendship.

Room Tip: The cottages are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    26
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
96
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

A group of friends met up at Lords and had an amazing experience with Matt and Colin over New Year. Great setting, wonderful views and equally great hosts who just cant do enough for their guests. Wonderful spot to stay and unwind in the Robertson wine lands area of the Western Cape. Centrally located to use as a base to experience the area. Definitely going back soon

Room Tip: try and ask for a cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights just before Christmas.
The location and views were stunning.
We loved our stone cottage which was spacious yet cozy and the shower was brilliant.
We had a problem with our loo and it was fixed instantly by McIver(?). Nothing was too much trouble.
We had dinner both nights which was well presented and delicious, especially the lamb.
Breakfast on the terrace was very pleasant but strange for us to sit outside in December in brilliant sunshine listening to very subtle Christmas music in the background!
Wilhelm was always extremely attentive, friendly and courteous.
Sundowners by the pool were hilarious as we were entertained by our hosts Matt and Colin.
We enjoyed the tortoises and the macaws (Muscovy ducks actually)!
What a perfect end to our trip.
Would stay again for longer and sample more of Lord's wines!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We found the service very friendly and always willing to be helpful and accommodating. The room was neat and clean and very spacious even with a 10 year old child sharing. Very tranquil and quiet - a great setting to unwind. The views are great and the grounds well maintained. We had lunch and dinner there and found the food of high standard and good value. We highly recommend Lord"s. Martin Stevens

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

What an awesome stay we had over a long weekend! Even our 5 year old son had an awesome time, since Matt and Colin went out of there way to make his stay memorable. He fed ducks, enjoyed walking in the beautiful surroundings, loved the personal attention from uncle Matt and uncle Colin and loved his sleeper couch. Besides a perfect and very romantic setting, every meal we had was awesome....so much so that we didn't even try out any other restaurants in the area! The Lodge is near enough both Robertson and McGregor to go sightseeing and wine-tasting.....but you may like us, prefer to enjoy the natural surroundings, peace and quiet that the lodge has to offer. Highlights were sundowners overlooking the valley every evening! We will definitely be back as one doesn't often find such great service and attention to detail, Matt and Colin are the perfect hosts. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania7004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed at Lords for a long weekend during McGregor 'Slow' Wine Festival. What a fabulous stay!... Awesome natural surroundings and the most stunning venue. Peacocks and ducks waddle across the lawns and water features tinkle and sparkle in the sun. Beautiful and rustic rooms, with lovely proper duvets and fireplaces ready to go. Most importantly Matt and Colin were the most brilliant hosts, looking after us with an authentic care that exceeded all conceivable expectation. The food was sensational, the wine was superb. We'd recommend you do it. Definitely.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjkcjkcjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lord's Guest Lo... M, Owner at Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
This is terribly sad and sorry to hear of it.

As management we are concerned and very sorry to hear of you unsatisfactory experience during your stay. Please accept these explanations to the issues raised, as we host many weddings and special events, so contrary to your perception, strive to make them memorable occasions for all the right reasons. We apologise that this did not seem to be the case for you, even though you kindly acknowledge the "picturesque surroundings and beautiful cottages" you experienced.

We understand that there were complications with your stay, in that you wished to use the chapel - for which we usually charge. There may have been confusion, as it was offered as per e-mail on the 28 March 2014, but not booked, so you made your own access, for which we waivered the cost.

Coffees and teas and any other beverages are not included in the accommodation costs, for which breakfast are complimentary - and the feedback we have received is that they are of best international quality and locally supplied as well. We will review the quality of coffee in light of your remark.

Our understanding is that the mini bar drinks bill, which was disputed during check-out, has been waivered as well.

We hope that this goes some way to appropriately recognising your needs. We do have a personal involvement with out visitors and endeavour to encourage our staff to enjoy a good service relationship too. Our returning guest of which there is many, suggests that we do get it right.

We accept that this was not your perception and we are not trying to defy any hospitality practices. Please reconsider visiting Lord's Lodge again in the near future in order to rebuild on our relationship.

Kind regards
Matt Bronkhorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had such a good time!!! This was our 2nd visit to Lord's and recommending it to our friends and colleagues. What a peaceful place and so beautiful. We enjoyed every moment of our stay. Hope to be back for more, soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Petre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McGregor
2.4 mi away
Fountain Place Guesthouse
3.0 mi away
Cape Cottages McGregor
Cape Cottages McGregor
#3 of 9 in McGregor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Bonheur Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Old Village Lodge
Old Village Lodge
#1 of 7 in McGregor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
11.0 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
8.1 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#3 of 24 in Robertson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor

Property: Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor
Address: Koningsrivier Road, McGregor, 6708, McGregor 6708, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > McGregor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in McGregor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is hard to imagine a more splendid setting for a supremely elegant venue that takes one back to a time of extravagant luxury and exemplary refinement. With 4 star management and exquisite style you can not help to feel like royalty during your stay. Inspired by the surroundings and its rich heritage, Lord's Guest Lodge overlooks the expanse of the Valley and the blue mountains beyond. Situated atop the Koningsrivier hills between Robertson and McGregor, just off the R62, Lord's Guest Lodge welcomes you to a place where time stood still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing