We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cape Cottages McGregor
Nearby Hotels
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Schoone Oordt Country House(Swellendam)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
82
24
1
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
24
1
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerlovely towndouble bedwalking distance to restaurantsself catering cottagetranquil settinglovely cottagewe loved our stayamazing gardenat homebraai areaattention to detaillittle extrasworth a visitan absolute gemcity lifea great stay
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2013

On four occasions in the last few years my husband and I enjoyed a magical escape at the Cape Cottages in McGregor. We particularly liked Pear Tree Cottage. Simon and Bronwyn couldn’t be warmer hosts. We took full advantage of all the luxuries offered to us:- crisp white linen; a shower under the stars; a cosy fire; wine on the veranda and, of course, the wonderful picturesque ambiance of McGregor.

As a direct result of staying there, we have decided to live in McGregor permanently.

Jennifer Stipcich

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen C, Owner at Cape Cottages McGregor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Pear Tree Cottage is one of the original McGregor cottages and a personal favourite of ours too - and instrumental in bringing us to McGregor - it was love at first sight!
McGregor is certainly a quaint little place quite unlike any other and a lovely place to visit - and an awesome place to live.
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review of our cottages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

What a truly delightful little place Sunbird Cottage is. From the fairy lights strung in the tree outside to the Robins that come and visit while you tarry in the garden. I especially loved the outdoor shower which offered a much-needed departure from my 'everyday' routine. Thanks again to Bronwen and Simon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen C, Owner at Cape Cottages McGregor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2016

We are so pleased you enjoyed your romantic stay at Sunbird and enjoyed the wild birds. We have recently added nectar feeders for the Sunbirds which has attracted dozens of the exquisite little birds and the gardens are alive with their little piping whistles. Plus the local flock of some 30 Guinea Fowl now also visit the gardens in the early morning and late evening which is a real privilege. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We have stayed with Bronwen and Simon Chuter, and in both Hoepoe and Sunbird Cottages on and off since they launched them, and until we moved to the village. Not only are both cottages beautifully apportioned, but Simon and Bronwen could not have been more accommodating of our foibles. They were also very open to suggestions (As I said, they had just started out when we first visited :)). We continue to recommend Cape Cottages to friends who come to the village, and who also report that they had a fabulous stay, and appreciate the hosts' "invisibility", particularly as their home adjoins both Hoepoe and Sunbird cottages. Tom and I wish them well!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GingerMelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen C, Owner at Cape Cottages McGregor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2016

Many thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed your stays with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Pear Tree Cottage looked lovely when we arrived but certainly did not live up to first impressions. There was a lot of dust and the fireplace had not been cleaned from the previous visitors neither was firewood supplied as promised. The shower ceiling is very low and took almost 15 minutes to drain, the surrounding areas got soaked and there was no bath mat. Fire safety regulations are definitely a HUGE concern as there is no exterior high pressure hose and the internal extinguisher had not been tested for 15 months! The garden appeared pretty until we took a closer look - only to find old braai coals, a disused mat and other disgusting litter around. This clearly indicated a lack of care and pride in the property.
The owner (Bronwen Chuter) was unbelievably rude on arrival, with a bad attitude and zero social skills. If we had not already prepaid for the accommodation we would have left immediately. She is a disgrace to the tourism and hospitality industry in McGregor. We would NOT recommend staying at any of her cottages if visiting McGregor.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen C, Owner at Cape Cottages McGregor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in Pear Tree Cottage, as my husband Simon said you were delighted with the cottage when he welcomed you and showed you around.

I was not at the cottage at your arrival, but was called in specifically by yourselves to provide documentation to prove that the outstanding balance was payable, which I did, and I have.

Whilst the deposit that you had paid was less that 50% of the total amount, we did reach agreement and accepted a reduced amount from you, and had hoped that this matter had been resolved.

In our opinion this review has nothing to do with Pear Tree Cottage - which is a charming mid 19th century Victorian cottage situated in a quaint little country "village that time forgot" which is much loved by guests and residents alike - or the service and welcome you received from Simon, and all to do with the fact that you did not want to pay the outstanding balance legally owed to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

All you need for a relaxing holiday with lovely romantic touches - fairy lights strung in the tree outside, a little chocolate by your bedside, flowers all around and tealight candles ready to be lit. Perfect with a honeymoon or those looking to have a break from the mundane. After a stay in Sunbird you will definitely leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated.

Double bed, bath and double-headed outdoor shower. Kitchen has a microwave oven and a 2 plate stove. There is also a Weber and it just just devine sitting on the verander. We visited in May and enjoyed the light streaming through the red leaves.... stunning!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MannyOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen C, Owner at Cape Cottages McGregor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2016

Ahhhhhhhhh a true romantic - so pleased you enjoyed the romantic touches at Sunbird and we look forward to accommodating again soon. Thanks for the lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews