We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cannot wait to return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cape Cottages McGregor
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“cannot wait to return”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

we stayed here last year and absolutely loved it!!
sunbird cottage was gorgeous
our hosts attentive and informative
Macgregor delightful
this year we have booked hoopoe cottage which Simon kindly showed us round last year
I was shocked by the 1 poor review and feel it is inaccurate and most unfair
treat yourself to a relaxing hideaway to replenish your soul
thankyou bron and simon, we look forward to seeing you again soon
gill x

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen C, Owner at Cape Cottages McGregor, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thanks so much for your support and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Bronwen & Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    21
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
63
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My boyfriend and I needed to get away from the busy city. We stayed in the Pear Cottage, which was amazing. It had everything we needed. The fireplace made the atmosphere cosy and romantic. Everything was perfect, Simon promised us when we leave, we would be relaxed. He was right. Mcgregor has so much culture and history. Simon is friendly and very accomodating. You cant go wrong to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdeleD1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen C, Owner at Cape Cottages McGregor, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Pear Tree Cottage, which is one of the original McGregor cottages - only the bathroom and kitchen have been added to the original building. What is now the fireplace area was originally the the cooking area & you can still see the original outhouse at the bottom of the garden! You are right, there is something so soothing and peaceful about Pear Tree Cottage which seems to release all the stresses of city life and almost makes you feel brand new..... Thanx for taking time to review the cottage and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My boyfriend and I recently had the wonderful experience of celebrating our 5 year anniversary in Sunbird Cottage. We received a lovely welcome from Simon, and were delighted with all the facilities available. The hosts were very accommodating and always easy to contact.

It was such a pleasure being able to soak up the peaceful surrounds and just enjoy our time in this quaint little village. The effort that Simon and Bronwen have made to ensure a romantic, beautiful and enchanted getaway in this cottage is much appreciated.

Being "Mother Nature's daughter", my stay at this cottage was such a beautiful experience! What I loved most was the thunderstorm that occurred the morning of our departure - there are no big buildings in McGregor that could block the sound so it felt as though the sky was collapsing! Magical. I also loved that the sunbirds visited us and were just the prettiest colours ever!

I feel really blessed to have been able to enjoy this cottage for 5 days. We left feeling very peaceful, and relaxed (as promised by Simon!) and more in love than ever!

Thank you, we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen C, Owner at Cape Cottages McGregor, responded to this review, 23 April 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your romantic 5th anniversary at Sunbird, and thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We look forward to accommodating you again next anniversary, if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grabouw, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We had our "belated" wedding-anniversary getaway and stayed in Hoopoe Cottage. The Cottage has it's own little garden as to relax on the stoep and look and listen to all the birds chattering. The Cottage is very well equipped and have everything you need and more from a self-catering place. Our hosts made it even more special with a bottle of cold sparkling, choccies and candles waiting for us (at an extra cost). Our 5 year old daughter loved that she had her own kettle, cups, tea and sugar in her room...we were only aloud to make it there! ;)

Really a lovely place to stay! Thanks Simon and Bronwyn!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen C, Owner at Cape Cottages McGregor, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your belated anniversary stay at Hoopoe Cottage, which is a favourite amongst many of our guests who return again and again. We try to upgrade each cottage in some way every year, and the LG Solardom microwave/convection/grill was a very popular addition last year. We have recently upgraded the DSTV bouquet to "Extra" which is one down from "Premium" which is the top package, and upgraded our ADSL so that we can offer a faster and better Wi-Fi service to our guests - with our compliments. Thanks for taking the time to review Hoopoe Cottage and we hope you return to Hoopoe Cottage again to celebrate your next anniversary - if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
western cape
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I have now stayed here a couple of times. The cottages are always well prepared. Every thing that you need is at hand. I really enjoyed having wi fi reception as well as Dstv. In all a really great place to stay. In a lovely village. Great walks and wineries nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scousemanWesternCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen C, Owner at Cape Cottages McGregor, responded to this review, 23 April 2016
Many thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed hour stay and we look forward to accommodating you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2013

On four occasions in the last few years my husband and I enjoyed a magical escape at the Cape Cottages in McGregor. We particularly liked Pear Tree Cottage. Simon and Bronwyn couldn’t be warmer hosts. We took full advantage of all the luxuries offered to us:- crisp white linen; a shower under the stars; a cosy fire; wine on the veranda and, of course, the wonderful picturesque ambiance of McGregor.

As a direct result of staying there, we have decided to live in McGregor permanently.

Jennifer Stipcich

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen C, Owner at Cape Cottages McGregor, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Pear Tree Cottage is one of the original McGregor cottages and a personal favourite of ours too - and instrumental in bringing us to McGregor - it was love at first sight!
McGregor is certainly a quaint little place quite unlike any other and a lovely place to visit - and an awesome place to live.
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review of our cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2013

What a truly delightful little place Sunbird Cottage is. From the fairy lights strung in the tree outside to the Robins that come and visit while you tarry in the garden. I especially loved the outdoor shower which offered a much-needed departure from my 'everyday' routine. Thanks again to Bronwen and Simon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen C, Owner at Cape Cottages McGregor, responded to this review, 23 April 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your romantic stay at Sunbird and enjoyed the wild birds. We have recently added nectar feeders for the Sunbirds which has attracted dozens of the exquisite little birds and the gardens are alive with their little piping whistles. Plus the local flock of some 30 Guinea Fowl now also visit the gardens in the early morning and late evening which is a real privilege. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McGregor
0.6 mi away
Fountain Place Guesthouse
3.0 mi away
Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor
0.2 mi away
Le Bonheur Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Village Lodge
Old Village Lodge
#1 of 7 in McGregor
366 reviews
10.5 mi away
The LemonTree House
The LemonTree House
#12 of 24 in Robertson
44 reviews
4.5 mi away
Whipstock Guest Farm
Whipstock Guest Farm
#6 of 9 in McGregor
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cottages McGregor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cottages McGregor

Property: Cape Cottages McGregor
Address: Mill Street | Western Cape, McGregor 6708, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > McGregor
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in McGregor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cottages McGregor consists of two charming luxury self catering cottages with a guesthouse feel, located in the secure upper part of the quaint, historic mid Victorian village of McGregor, just under 2 hours from Cape Town and fifteen minutes from Robertson in the Valley of Wine & Roses on the R62,the longest Wine Route in the World. Offering luxury and charm, these romantic cottages are tastefully decorated and luxuriously appointed and set in beautiful, private ,exclusive use, rose filled gardens. Each cottage has a luxurious bathroom with shower and bath and a fully equipped kitchenette. DSTV PREMIUM television is an optional extra, and free Wi-Fi is included in both cottages. For summertime, each cottage has a fan and is shaded by large trees and a vine covered stoep which overlooks mature gardens to the mountains. In wintertime each cottage is warmed by an open log fireplace and has a wall heater/s, and an electric blanket. The cottages are within walking distance of all amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cape Cottages McGregor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing