We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely old cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Orchard Cottage

Beautiful small vintage self-catering cottage situated in an orchard in the town of Mcgregor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful small vintage self-catering cottage situated in an orchard in the town of Mcgregor
Orchard cottage in April Back of the cottages
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Beautiful small vintage self-catering cottage situated in an orchard in the town of Mcgregor
Orchard cottage in April
Back of the cottages
front of cottage
view from Orchard cottage
main bedroom
Second bedroom
Fire place in lounges
Open plan living room area
Open plan small living area
small kitchen area
bathroom 1
Bathroom in main bedroom
Area between the two rooms
area between the two rooms
Children play area
children play place
garden
garden
garden
BBQ area in the garden
BBQ are in the garden
BBQ area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
McGregor, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AroundThe...
Stockholm
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Lovely old cottage”
Reviewed 16 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Perfectly and interesting refurbished now including all modern comforts.
Hot when it was very hot outside.
The double bed was the best so far in South Africa!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2018
Thanks for staying with us. We hope that you had a wonderful time in South Africa and even if it was very hot this Feb., that you will still come back to see more wonderful places
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin S
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Felt at home the minute I walked through the door”
Reviewed 28 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third visit to McGregor and we struck gold this time. Petro has such a lovely cottage and we absolutely loved the stay. Even before our stay she was super helpful and friendly and sent me links with things to do in and around Mcgregor. Everything inside is super clean and well laid out. We realised we had brought too much with as everything is already supplied and thought of. This is a home away from home. The beds are incredibly comfortable. I highly recommend this place to anyone. Thank you Petro, we will definitely go back

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2018
Gavin, thanks for this very positive review. As a guest you need to feel that the cottage is your house for the time that you are there. Hope to see you back in McGregor in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rckt6667
Kommetjie, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful and peaceful”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Orchard cottage was an excellent choice, Clean, spacious for a family of four with adult children sharing a big room and bathroom. Our room was perfect, enough blankets and heaters to keep you warm and the facilities in the cottage were perfect. For those wanting a break away from the noise and traffic - this is the ideal location.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2017
Thanks for these hard-warming comments. We hope to see you coming back to McGregor in the future again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Thanks for staying with us. I hope that we will see you or some of your friends in the future again in McGregor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Simon H
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Escape to the country!”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is a wonderful country cottage made for a weekend away from it all. Immaculate condition, nicely furnished with all mod cons. French doors on both sides of the open plan lounge/dining to pretty gardens perfect for a family to spread out in. Wonderful fireplace for a chilly evening. Super comfortable beds and pure cotton linen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A perfect cottage in wonderful gardens
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing