We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal property for a family or friends get...”
Set in large south-facing and established garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Set in large south-facing and established garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Set in large south-facing and established garden
Front aspect
Master bedroom
Double bedroom
Lounge
Master bathroom
Family bathroom
Garden
Double bedroom
Utility room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Fulbourn, Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Trevor E
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal property for a family or friends get together”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

WOW!!! Is my families reaction (10 adults, 5 children) of our weekend stay at Beechwood House to celebrate a birthday. We were welcomed by James and Erica, the friendly owners, who showed us all the facilities. The bedrooms were airy, as one would expect in a period property. The big lounge is well appointed with large screen TV. The extensive kitchen opens out to the dining area, with table accommodating 10, it also as a separate table which the children claimed as theirs. The two self-contained separate studios have everything one could ask for. The separate indoor heated swimming pool was well used, as we're the extensive grounds, great for hide and seek, plus a chocolate egg hunt.

The girls were relieved of preparing meals with the men cooking on the BBQ, breakfast was DIY. Saturday was Curry Night, provided by a Personal Chef, Frank Boddy of Wild in the Pantry. Frank cooked, served an excellent meal, then washed up, letting the girls remain at the table enjoying the company.. He also did Sunday lunch.

I have no hesitation in recommending Beechwood House, knowing how much we all enjoyed it. A friend has booked it, for a long weekend, to celebrate their Golden Wedding.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen opening directly into the large dining area.
Liked least: No negatives
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2015
It was so nice to see three generations enjoying the house, gardens and swimming pool during the course of your birthday and family get together.
Very best regards.
James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmk39
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful and Homely place to stay near cambridge”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

A beautiful house 15 minutes from Cambridge with a lovely garden. James gave me a jovial and laid back tour and then we enjoyed a weekend of swimming, eating and graduating. Hope to return in the future.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2015
I'm so pleased that everything was as you had hoped and that you all had a great university reunion at Beechwood House.
Regards.
James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy L
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful accommodation - comfortable and homely”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I stayed at Beechwood House with 15 girls for my sister's hen weekend and we had a wonderful time. The house and grounds are beautiful and having an indoor pool was much welcomed feature. All the rooms were clean and tidy and extremely comfortable. We had so much room to spread out in, you could find yourself a little spot just to read if you wanted to. The gardens are wonderful for an early morning walk and the pool area was kept to a high standard and we enjoyed it very much. The annex to the house is a modern addition and it was beautifully presented and as comfortable as the house itself. I would definitely recommend this accommodation to anyone, including family groups.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: For me the gardens were a favourite, very peaceful
Liked least: There was nothing I disliked
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2015
Well done on keeping the 'surprise' until you drove in to the drive! I'm delighted that the house and all our arrangements were as expected and made for such an enjoyable weekend.
Best Regards.
James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmazinHaz...
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant for large group”
Reviewed 5 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Property was lovely and just perfect for our family group to celebrate a special birthday.
It was very clean and comfortable and the bottle of bubbly & chocolates on arrival was very welcome. The pool was a great addition to the weekend and enjoyed by all. The weather meant that we didn't use the garden but it is a lovely view!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2015
It's always nice to see large family groups getting together for a special occasion and I'm delighted it was such a success.
Best Regards.
James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry H
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Another roaring success”
Reviewed 10 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We visited Beechwood House two years ago for a Family reunion and it was voted an unqualified success by all members of my Family - three qrown children and five grandchildren.
It was not difficult to come back for another visit. On entering the door it was just like coming home..warm, comfortable and welcoming. Time with my Family is priceless and the surroundings and facilities of Beechwood House are outstanding and suitable for all age groups. We were delighted with our stay last time and this second visit lived up to all our expectations.
By the way the pub down the road offers excellent fare and another local warm welcome..

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2015
It was great to see you all again and I was so pleased that you felt Beechwood House was looking better than ever. Please come and stay with us again, you are always most welcome.
Best Regards.
James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomE1984
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing house perfect for trips to Cambridge”
Reviewed 1 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

After looking at what felt hundreds of possibilities for a Surprise birthday gathering for my Fiancee, i finally found this gem of a house.

It was a perfect option and with more than enough space for 9 of us to lounge around in the pool and have a perfect get together all finished off with a dinner cooked in the amazing kitchen.

With it also being close enough for everyone to get there and close enough to Cambridge that we could all have lunch and wander round the historic city.

It also helped that the owner James couldn't have been more helpful with answering any questions i had and the booking process was simple. The lovely gesture of champagne and chocolates on arrival really says it all.

Thanks again James and Beechwood house for a wonderful stay, already looking forward to returning soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and pool
Liked least: N/A - all was great
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2015
I'm so pleased you found Beechwood House to be the 'gem' amongst so many other houses and that you all had such a wonderful time.
Best Regards.
James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic weekend with friends”
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I spent a long weekend at Beechwood House with a group of 6 friends in October. The whole process - from booking/arriving/departing - was made incredibly easy. James met us when we arrived, making us feel very welcome. The house itself was perfect for what we were looking for - the large kitchen and dining areas were ideal, as was the large sitting room area with television. We also made use of the swimming pool, which was pleasantly heated at what was otherwise a cold time of year! Aside from spending evenings at the house, most daytimes were passed walking around and exploring the local area, which can be highly recommended to anybody planning a visit.

In all this was a thoroughly enjoyable weekend, which was largely due to such a fantastic house. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Beechwood House and hope one day to make a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2015
Thank you for your kind words and I’m delighted that your stay with us exceeded expectations!
Best Regards.
James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing