We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So close to being great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Perivoli Restaurant

Perivoli Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$64
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
San Diego
Level Contributor
205 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“So close to being great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

The setting couldn't be any better; a stunning garden and grapevine awning covering the dining patio that is set off from the platanos square and completely blocks out the town noise.
The servers and staff are friendly but lack the refinement you would expect from such a classy place. 20 minutes after finishing our dinner and with empty wine and water glasses I had to get up from the table to track down a hostess to pay my bill.
We ordered the pork with plum entree as an app and it was dry and overcooked. For main courses we chose the Malaysian chicken and the lamb with yogurt and coriander. The lamb is the only one worth ordering from what we tried. Don't bother with wine by the glass, as it was terrible. Either buy a bottle or stick with water. Prices were fair and around 11 or 12 for most main courses and 7 for apps. Beef dishes were 18. Make a reservation just to be sure because every table was full by 9

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MatthewLeitner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    74
    44
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful courtyard restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We were so happy that we got off the main tourist strip and ate at Perivoli, which is tucked a few streets back in a beautiful courtyard. The food here was delicious and fresh. It was also far better value than many other places that we ate. Highly recommended!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not bad, worth a try”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

After not being able to eat there last year owing to refurbishments, we were adamant that we would try it this year. Booked a couple of days in advance and went for a meal. The food was nice, not great portion size but enough. We were then unable to continue our meal as the island had a power cut so booked again, another advance booking owing to its popularity. Again ordered different to the previous time, but as a vegetarian there is very limited options for main courses, 2 in all I seem to remember. More options as starters which is what I ordered plus a salad. It gets reviews as a vegetarian restaurant but this is not the case and there seem to be more options in the traditional tavernas elsewhere on the island. Got overcharged for water as what you get is not what it says on the menu, which it is not much but if this is the case for every customer, then they are making a steal.
Food aside, the setting is brilliant with a wonderful herb garden and plants that are so healthy and attractive. The toilets are also so very clean and very simple but stylish which I think resembles the restaurant. Staff are friendly but owing to how busy they are the do not have much time for smiling or pleasantries and we did seem as though we needed to eat a bit quicker than normal owing to people wanting to come in and eat. Expensive too to eat there and would say that although the food is nice, we did eat elsewhere and had better value and greater quantities feeling as though we got better value for money.
Worth a try but wouldn't say it is the best place to eat in the town. Sorry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 12sully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A FANTASTIC RESTAURANT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is a "must" if you visit Skopelos! We had read about it on TripAdvisor in advance and was also recommended it by the locals. Please note that you should pre-book table, as the restaurant is very popular! The surroundings are wonderful, the service surperb and the food magical! "THANK YOU" to both the chef and staff of "Perivoli" for giving us an uforgettable gatronomic memory from beautiful Skopleos!! :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LineRuud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Found it hard to believe we had to book two days in advance in order to dine there...found it even harder to believe once we din”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

The salad was absolutely rubbish. Not freshly chopped and with a rather peculiar combination of flavours, dressed with an indifferent and tasteless roquefort sauce. The pougakia dish was decent, yet not something exceptional and the eggplant something starter was literally soaked with oil. Definitely not cooked on demand.

The main dishes were a paramount failure!!! The lasagna pastitsio was reheated and incomprehensibly tasteless, whereas the malaysian chicken must wish never to have travelled all the way to Skopelos to end up being harassed in such a way. The utter disaster was completed by the prehestoric and grotesque dressing accompanying the plates. Lettuce leave, tomato and cucumber slices??? I mean seriously what did they have in mind?

Oh, by the way the garden in which it is located is beautiful, but then again why bother?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank michalis78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Perivoli Restaurant also viewed

Skopelos Town, Skopelos
Skopelos Town, Skopelos
 
Skopelos Town, Skopelos
Skopelos Town, Skopelos
 

Been to Perivoli Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing