We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and food.”
Review of Ilias Taverna - CLOSED

Ilias Taverna
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great service and food.”
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

This place has a great location being as close to the sea as you can get. We had the sea bass and the sardines both were excellent. Lightly charred on the outside moist and juicy on the inside. Cost 45€ with 2 appetizers 1 beer 1 fresh oj.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank barryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous chicken souvlaki!”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This place has attractive tables on the pavement, right next to the sea. It's great value for money and the service is friendly and attentive. I would recommend the chicken souvlaki; the meat was lightly charred on the outside and incedibly moist and tender inside. We also had great greek salad and tzatsiki, washed down with 500ml of very cheap but very drinkable house wine.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lively, fun, entertaining, tasty and attentive what more can I say.”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We were on Honeymoon and were here to enjoy the food drink and relax. We did decide that we would take notes on the places we ate so we could write reviews when we got back. So gave scores out of five for each element.
We used the price of a 500ml bottle of Amstel as our benchmark for comparison of prices at a glance.
Amstel here was €3 so better then average 4/5.
Portion size was good 4/5 we didn't need any more.
Service we gave 5/5 the owner was loud, lively and fun and kept everyone entertained.
Toilets (always a concern in Greece) this was the only letdown as they were below standard, could do with a clean and a lock on the door 2/5.
Quality of food 4.5/5 it was excellent I actually think I would book another holiday back to the island just to try the lamb it was so tasty I have never had better. The Swordfish was so fresh it was almost wiggling.
Chairs, we like comfy chairs (not kitchen chairs that make you want to leave asap) here they were kitchen chair type but they had cushions so get 2.5/5.
General, an absolute gem of a place and even though individual elements didn't get top marks I have given the overall marks as Excellent. On our first night it was raining the owner offered lifts back to peoples hotels in his own car! He was at points dancing and on the weekend nights got my wife up dancing and smashing plates. They invited us too their son's 27th birthday and plied us with wine. We did not realise that they did not take credit cards and when we discovered this they insisted that we did not worry and just paid the next day. All in all a place not to miss, it really helped make our holiday.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter25001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Charming and lovely food!”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Located on the pavement by the road along the sea in to the Skopelos town it really is a special atmosphere, sitting there through sunset until it turns dark in the light of the lanterns. The owner is an institution in town, a lovely guy! Earlier he used to run a restaurant up in the middle of the town, and the we always ate at is place ther underneath the big tree. He is always greeting passing people so cheerfully and friendly either you stop at his reataurant or not.
The food is fantastic!! Greek an simple, but there is something special with the tastes, and his grill is acknowledged.
This year I tried ot the fish of the day (red mullet?) and the gyros. Both were delicious!!
Look forward to next year and next time we wisit!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank xiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
88 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good basic taverna food but not the pork souvlaki”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We ate here twice and the food was very good except for the pork souvlaki. There was nothing wrong with it except that it was belly pork and tough. Also, for the money paid I would have expected proper chunks of pork not belly pork. The chicken souvlaki was superb and just as I would have expected. On our second visit I chose chicken fillet which was beautifully cooked and we also had a pork chop which again was absolutely fine. It is a bit pricey for what it is though.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jennywren31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ilias Taverna also viewed

Skopelos Town, Skopelos
 
Skopelos Town, Skopelos
Skopelos Town, Skopelos
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing