We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome restaurant essential to visit!”
Review of Gorgones

Gorgones
Ranked #16 of 55 Restaurants in Skopelos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome restaurant essential to visit!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Truly worthy of visiting! Its not too touristic and its so unlike all cafes in the harbour. Hidden in the streets of old town Gorgones catches your eye with an interesting design. Very cosy place with very friendly guys. Great sophisticated food, some dishes are purely local, some are more international. Been there several times and everything we tried there was very delicious. If i could, i would defo give this place a Michelin star :-)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fedor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    68
    22
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hannington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Gorgones is a lovely little restaurant, don't miss out by thinking it's just a small street taverna! There are three areas, the small dining room that fronts onto the street, the steep side-road where tables are on platforms or the beautiful garden room. It is clean, tidy, airy well-decorated and each area of the restaurant is quirky and fun. The food was simple but excellent - in fact some of the best use of herbs we've had in Greece ever. I had a dish of stewed pork with rice. It was beautifully tender, delicate and flavoursome. Jo had the stuffed tomatoes and declared them to be the best she'd ever tasted in over 22yrs of Greek holidays!! They do not do deserts but we were very pleasantly suprised to receive a bowl of delicious ripe cherries instead, compliments of the house. I highly recommend Gorgones for relaxed quiet dining I

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon-Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The real authentic Greek taverne”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Being on Skopelos the 2nd time, we are so happy that Eleftherios is still running Gorgones. He makes such good authentic Greek food. It is not such a touristic place and you feel welcome like being at friends immediately. Recommendation: don't look into the menu - directly go inside and look what he has available in his kitchen!

Helpful?
1 Thank Spontanentscheider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Poland, Poland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

very good design, very nice service and very good food. We really recomend it. Food was fresh and nicly prepared. Tree inside the restaurant and desing makes this places unique.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall
Level Contributor
114 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Quirky with great food”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were recommended to this restaurant by some other holidaymakers. Quirky little place, off the main harbour, in one of the side streets. Tables inside and outside on the steps. Small menu but quite a variety of food. Need to let them know one day before if you want any specific fish dishes. My husband loved the beef in tomato with mashed potato and the lamb in lemon. Both the chicken soup and the fish soup were just perfect for a coolish May evening. Great food, very good service and pretty and quirky location with a tree in the middle of one of the rooms!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsBHeswall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gorgones also viewed

Skopelos Town, Skopelos
Skopelos Town, Skopelos
 
Skopelos Town, Skopelos
 

Been to Gorgones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing