We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dimitrios Village Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Missiria
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“not so great.”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

So I went to Crete with my family, end of May 2013.
As the hotel is/was not so popular and almost empty luckily we were given a room number right when we got there. We had two rooms, each for two people. For each room we were given only one card, which was the first thing that confused us, The second one was their "All Inclusive" which was all inclusive at all. All you could get was a beer and wine (mixed with water) and some non alcoholic beverages. For everything else you had to pay. Also Metaxa was included, but for "original" one you had to pay, because for all inclusive they were pouring it from some different bottle which didn't look like the original bottle. After that we all felt really bad and sick.
The beach - terrible. There were big stones everywhere. As I've seen in another hotels (was walking along the beach) their staff was cleaning the stones permanently. Also had a hard time in water - stones again. Without "sea schoes" it's almost impossible. Also the beach seemed to be "wild". In other hotel beach had a life guard, flags etc. while this was completely unsecured - if something happens to you while swimming no one will ever find out...
Another terrible thing - staff was angry all the time, I don't think I've seen them smile a lot. They weren't helpful and while asking them for help they turned around and didn't answer my question
For the beach volleyball - everything was "prepared" but again there were big stones so it was impossible to play without a shoes. And playing in shoes on sand is not so comfortable either.
Food was terrible. Everyday the same and if you want to try Greek you have to go to Tavern nearby. Salads with peas and carrot, one kind of meet and fish (everyday the same kind just cooked differently). And what have left from Breakfast we had for Lunch and so on. Food was without any papers saying what were we eating - it'll be a secret forever then :) So I always took something not even knowing what I am going to eat.
Rooms - quite big, with kichen, broken TV (in both rooms), old bed and old furniture which had that smell of old things. Towels were changed every two days. Beach towel was not given - everyone had to have their own.

I hope everyone should think more before going to this hotel - this wasn't my first time in Greece and from my earlier experience I have to say that Greece has better hotels than this in the same price category.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    60
    15
    12
    8
See reviews for
89
50
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We were the first time in this hotel. It was simply great! Pure relaxation!
Everything was right: food, staff, cleanliness -simply brilliant!
We felt very much at ease. Good value for money. All very friendly and hard-working,
Perfect location directly by the beach,

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lublin, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A large variety of culinary tastes, everyone will find something for themselves.
The rooms are large and very clean. A fully functioning air conditioning in every room.
Friendly service.
Nice location, walk to the center, where there is full of shops and night life goes on!
Pools, jakuzzy, sauna, gym, massage are the attractions available on a daily basis.
Animator helps parents entertain children with many different games.
Evenings at the bar, walks on the beach, which is adjacent to the hotel.
I recommend in 100%. I will definitely go back there once again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beata-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We enjoyed an excellent stay at Dimitrios Village Beach Resort. In particular, the staff were delightful and so helpful: nothing was too much trouble; the welcome was excellent, especially as it was late evening when we arrived and most guests had retired for the night; everyone was genuinely friendly; minor issues were resolved quickly and efficiently; most staff are proficient English speakers; in summary, we were looked after really well. Facilities are good: nice outdoor pool, small but big enough for serious swimming; sandy beach, although shingly on the sea-line (loungers and parasols are chargeable extras); wi-fi available for a modest charge. Breakfast buffet was fairly extensive, something for everyone I would say. The bedroom was comfortable and functional, we had the seaview that we requested with a balcony; it would have been preferred to have a proper double bed rather than two singles pushed together - the sheets were also rather short and it would have been good to have an extra pillow; it lacked the small touches (pictures and/or ornaments) that might be expected; the cleaners did a great job. The kitchen area was fine for our purposes, an efficient and sizeable fridge was particularly helpful; there was a big cooker which we didn't use, perhaps there was a lack of utensils if you really wanted to prepare a gourmet feast and it would have been nice to have some proper wine glasses rather than just tumblers. The bathroom was satisfactory, everything worked fine, though anyone over 5'11" tall (1.80 metres) would have to duck down under the shower head. The location is great: about 45 minutes stroll into Rethymno, mostly along the promenade (alternatively a €6 taxi fare), with plenty of tavernas and restaurants along the route between the hotel and Rethymno centre, decent food and other shops available very close to the hotel (it has its own mini mart for main essentials); 2 minutes drive from the Iraklio / Chania main road. Overall, we got great value for money, any minor reservations were far outweighed by so many positive features. This was our first visit to Crete and we loved it, we would definitely go back and would certainly be happy to stay at Dimitrios Village Beach Resort again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lamtara2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

In Finland they sold this hotel with 4(!) stars and it really wasn't worth it... Dirty, furniture broken, hard mattress, sometimes poor food...

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Have-a-NiceTrip76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oerlinghausen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2006

We stayed there with 4 persons in 2 Appartements. The hotel is located direct to the beach an not far from the beach avenue to the city rethymnon.
The hotel is 200 meter back from the main street an therefore quiete.
Rooms are partly bigger than expected. Appartements have a little kitchen. All is daily refreshed.
Especiality the staff is friendly and very helpfull. Two ladies (Marianne and Eva) speak english, german, greek and other languages. They have open ears for all questions guests may have.
Childrens are welcome and they will find special playgrounds.
A stay there for two or three weeks are o.k.
There are many shops, restaurands, bars etc around.

  • Liked — place near to rethymnon
  • Tips/Secrets — a good stay for west creta
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank trip-and-trap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2006

The Dimitrios Village Hotel is located east of Rethymnon (5-10 minutes by car) right on the sandy beach. I would not recommend this place for the elderly or tourists with small children, though, as the sea is almost always rough and becomes deep very quickly, with large pebbles near the beach.
Our two-level apartment had two rooms: a tiny bedroom and a sitting-room with two beds. We had en-suite facilities on both levels, with a jacuzzi on the lower floor and a very small shower and toilet on the upper floor. Although the bedroom had a door, I would not call it a room as instead of a wall we had sort of a screen. We had air-conditioning on both levels but had difficulty using ours for fear of catching a cold. It is better to stay in a one-level two-room apartment, which is cheaper, but these differ in size and some of them are on the basement floor, while others are in the attic, so try to avoid both.
The maid service was OK, but they did not clean the rooms on Sunday. The staff were not very friedly (except a German girl called Eva) but quite helpful. The food ( buffet at breakfast and dinner ) was the same every day, nothing special, so we preferred restaurants in the evening and sometimes cooked ourselves in the daytime. To buy food it is better to use a local shop across the road, which is cheaper than the nearest ones.
The hotel provides very modest sports facilities (beach volleyball and table tennis) and a small playground for kids. There are two tiny swimming pools but they were always overcrowded and smelled of chemicals.
To explore the island we rented a car (through the Internet, which is cheaper ) and enjoyed ouselves. It is better to have something like our Citroen C3 which suits Crete perfectly since some roads are really narrow. The road surface is much better than we expected and the traffic is not dangerous at all, unless you get somewhere too high in the mountains. Both the road signs and the maps of Crete are mysterious and you can not be sure that you will get where you want.
Next to the Dimitrios Village there is the Olympia Hotel, which is much cheaper but does not seem much worse, so if I was going to spend another 2 weeks in the Rethymnon district, I would choose the Olympia for a change. Another cheap hotel is the Rethymnon Bay but it is located close to the road.

Helpful?
8 Thank IrinaPetr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Missiria
0.2 mi away
smartline Dimitrios Beach
smartline Dimitrios Beach
#25 of 165 in Rethymnon
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aristea Hotel Rethymnon
Aristea Hotel Rethymnon
#2 of 10 in Missiria
131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#11 of 165 in Rethymnon
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iperion Beach Hotel
Iperion Beach Hotel
#15 of 165 in Rethymnon
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Odyssia Beach Hotel
Odyssia Beach Hotel
#4 of 10 in Missiria
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grecotel Plaza Spa Apartments
Grecotel Plaza Spa Apartments
#42 of 165 in Rethymnon
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dimitrios Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimitrios Village Beach Resort

Property: Dimitrios Village Beach Resort
Address: 27 Mandilara Nikiforou, Missiria, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Missiria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Missiria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dimitrios Village Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dimitrios Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dimitrios Village Hotel Missiria
Dimitrios Village Beach Resort Crete/Rethymnon Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing