We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uniquely Swedish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gripsholms Vardshus and Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Mariefred B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Uniquely Swedish”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Utterly charming in a 17th century building. The rooms are in a genuine old fashioned Swedish country style but very comfortable and immaculately clean. The hotel is at the lake’s edge in the ridiculously pretty village of Mariefred and looks across the water to the fabulous gloomy towers of Gripsholm Castle, which is also the Swedish National Portrait Gallery.

I stayed with two friends and we loved it.

Room Tip: Try to get one that looks across to the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maire19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    55
    33
    14
    6
See reviews for
23
73
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We spent a week-end here and really enjoyed the stay. We had a welcome drink, dinner and breakfast included to a price that was not cheap but neither expensive by Swedish standards. The staff was really nice and helpful, the hotel is in a nice old building but the rooms are really old as well. It see s that they were furnished 20 years ago and nothing changed. Especially the bathroom was quite poor. The dinner was nice, but slightly disappointing for the price, good but nothing special. We enjoyed a lot the breakfast on the veranda, with plenty of good food. The bread was lovely at dinner, but they had only one kind for breakfast. The location is fret, with view on the castle and a beautiful garden to take a beer, drink wine and just enjoy with your loved one. It takes one hour by car from Stockholm, so easy to reach. The small town is nice, you go around it in 20 minutes and there is not so much to do there. So me night stay was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandr078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Right beside the lake and looking at the Slott. Boats around and charming gatans with the kyrk out the back. Lovely relaxed feel about this 400 year old inn (with modern extensions, of course!). Lunch in the 'pub' was very good and reasonable value. Great garden to relax in and view the castle and the lake.
Buffet breakfast was in the inn part of the hotel. Reasonable choice of Swedish staples but disappointingly no fish options.
Our room was decorated Swedish country style (I guess) and we were lucky to have a great view over the garden to the castle. Even though there was a restaurant below, we had open our window and heard no loud noises. The bathroom, with bath (shower over the bath), had Moulton Brown hand soap and bath wash.
A minutes walk from Storgatan / town square, shops including mini market, and Cafe Anna Pa.
Very clean. Comfortable beds.

A real delight to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doingittough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabaster,
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Our stay at Gripsholms Vardshus was a change in our original itinerary. Having researched the place we were originally going to stay, we were somewhat reluctant to agree to the change, but we did. We were not disappointed. We had a very nice suite with a beautiful view across the water to the Gripsholms Castle. The hotel was in easy walking distance of the castle and other areas of interest. It was early May and the town was not in full tourist mode, but we found the people we encountered in the town to be very friendly. One gentleman talked with us for quite awhile, giving us a history of the castle and the hotel. Dinner was good, but since there were only three tables occupied, I had the feeling we didn't get the best the chef had to offer...but as I said, it was good. The bed was very comfortable and the suite was nicely furnished. So....the change in our itinerary turned out to be a nice surprise.

Room Tip: Ask for the Victoria Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebel1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Most people go to Mariefred to see Gripsholms Castle. This quaint little town is about forty-five minutes drive west of Stockholm. The little wooden houses look as if they have been around for almost as long as the castle which was started in the 14th century and completed in the 16th.

The Gripsholms Vardhus proudly displays the date 1609 above its front door. It is the oldest working inn in Sweden and the rooms are elegantly furnished, reminiscent of a bygone era. It overlooks the castle and water and in days gone by was the guesthouse for visitors to the king. A visit to the inn is almost enough reason to visit Mariefred itself.

I visited in the spring time when all of Sweden seems to be waking up from a long sleep. The weather was cold and crisp but the sun shone brightly. Unfortunately I could not really enjoy the outside of the inn as a wooden deck was under construction in preparation for the summer. But I did take long walks around the lake and through the deer park.

The buffet-style breakfast was fit for a king. Service is discreet but efficient.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Gripsholms Vardshus is a charming and very comfortable hotel. The rooms are beautifully furnished in traditional Swedish style. The restaurant is superb - not cheap but not too expensive by Swedish standards and certainly value for money. Very friendly staff. The bed is one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in! The location is fantastic with views over the lake towards Gripsholms Castle (itself well worth a visit). Mariefred is within easy reach of Stockholm, and is very good alternative to staying in the city. It works as a business hotel, but even better for a holiday!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyReview186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballywalter County Down Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We were at Mariefred in May 2009 and stayed at Gripsholms Vardhus & Hotel for a couple of nights whilst on an architectural tour of Sweden. The hotel is situated right across the lake from the magnificent royal castle of Gripsholm.

Mariefred is a very beautiful village and we guess it can get quite busy in the summer months as it is only around 45 minutes to one hour from Stockholm. In the summer there is a steamer service from Stockholm, which must be fun and there is also a miniature steam railway in the village which runs from the steamer pier to the castle and beyond.

Gripsholms Vardhus dates back to 1609 and is reputed to be Sweden's oldest inn - they had just celebrated their 400th birthday!

The hotel is extremely pleasant and check in was swift and bags were efficiently delivered to our room [a rare treat in this egalitarian country!]. The room was in fact a suite with an enormous sitting and dining room with working open fireplace. The bedroom was fine and with more comfortable Hastens beds than we encountered in Stockholm. The bathroom had a large jacuzzi corner bath.

On arrival, we were given a delicious buffet lunch. Dinner, however was a disappointment. It was Ascension Day, they were very short staffed [whilst the restaurant was very busy] and the only dining option was their rhubarb festival menu - salmon with rhubard, wild boar with rhubarb and then rhubarb with rhubarb. There was a wine menu to go with it. The service was pitifully slow - they just could not cope - the salmon OK but the wild boar tough & tasteless and were rhubarbed out by the time we got to pudding. An expensive but not great experience.

Breakfast the following morning was wonderful - a fantastic buffet with masses of cold and hot options and a facility to squeeze your own orange juice - just like at home - wonderful!

We were back from our architectural tours fairly early that afternoon and found that the management had put a gift and note of apology for the dinner debacle the previous evening into all of our rooms [the tour organiser had complained]. However, we decided to do our own thing that night for dinner; the village restaurants did not look over-exciting so we went to the local supermarket and bought ingredients for dinner and then to the state Systembolaget to get wine and beer to go with it. We invited seven of the others in our group to join us for dinner in our suite [it was enormous!] and the hotel staff were only too happy & helpful to bring up glasses, crockery, cutlery, ice etc etc for our meal - Thank you to them! We lit the fire and had a delicious and very happy dinner and then stacked everything neatly in one corner of the dining area for the staff to collect after we had checked out the following morning.

Gripsholms Vardhus is a magical place to stay at . The rhubarb dinner was a disappointment but we are sure it was an unlucky one off bad night. The place is just too well run to have the sort of experience all the time and the buffet lunch and the two buffet breakfasts were absolutely first class.

We would like to return.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwlunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariefred
10.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Rogge
Best Western Hotel Rogge
#1 of 2 in Strangnas
74 reviews
23.4 mi away
Gorvalns Slott
Gorvalns Slott
#1 of 2 in Jarfalla
376 reviews
13.4 mi away
Sodertuna Slott
Sodertuna Slott
#1 of 2 in Gnesta
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Lejondals Slott
Lejondals Slott
#1 of 3 in Bro
18 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel Torpa Pensionat
Hotel Torpa Pensionat
#3 of 4 in Sodertalje
41 reviews
15.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Park
Quality Hotel Park
#1 of 4 in Sodertalje
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gripsholms Vardshus and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gripsholms Vardshus and Hotel

Property: Gripsholms Vardshus and Hotel
Address: 1 Kyrkogatan, Mariefred 647 30, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Sodermanland County > Mariefred
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mariefred
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gripsholms Vardshus and Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gripsholms Vardshus and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gripsholms Vardshus Hotel Mariefred

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing