We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gripsholms Vardshus and Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$206
US$169
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
First Hotel Almnas Park(Sodertalje)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scandic Skogshojd(Sodertalje)
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Hotel Park(Sodertalje)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$183
Quality Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic Sodertalje(Sodertalje)
US$197
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Malmkoping(Malmkoping)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
41
57
35
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
57
35
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssalmoncomfy bedfantastic foodone nightcastlestylecenturyswedenpersonnelharbourbirthday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Utterly charming in a 17th century building. The rooms are in a genuine old fashioned Swedish country style but very comfortable and immaculately clean. The hotel is at the lake’s edge in the ridiculously pretty village of Mariefred and looks across the water to the fabulous gloomy towers of Gripsholm Castle, which is also the Swedish National Portrait Gallery.

I stayed with two friends and we loved it.

Room Tip: Try to get one that looks across to the castle
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maire19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We spent a week-end here and really enjoyed the stay. We had a welcome drink, dinner and breakfast included to a price that was not cheap but neither expensive by Swedish standards. The staff was really nice and helpful, the hotel is in a nice old building but the rooms are really old as well. It see s that they were furnished 20 years ago and nothing changed. Especially the bathroom was quite poor. The dinner was nice, but slightly disappointing for the price, good but nothing special. We enjoyed a lot the breakfast on the veranda, with plenty of good food. The bread was lovely at dinner, but they had only one kind for breakfast. The location is fret, with view on the castle and a beautiful garden to take a beer, drink wine and just enjoy with your loved one. It takes one hour by car from Stockholm, so easy to reach. The small town is nice, you go around it in 20 minutes and there is not so much to do there. So me night stay was perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandr078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Right beside the lake and looking at the Slott. Boats around and charming gatans with the kyrk out the back. Lovely relaxed feel about this 400 year old inn (with modern extensions, of course!). Lunch in the 'pub' was very good and reasonable value. Great garden to relax in and view the castle and the lake.
Buffet breakfast was in the inn part of the hotel. Reasonable choice of Swedish staples but disappointingly no fish options.
Our room was decorated Swedish country style (I guess) and we were lucky to have a great view over the garden to the castle. Even though there was a restaurant below, we had open our window and heard no loud noises. The bathroom, with bath (shower over the bath), had Moulton Brown hand soap and bath wash.
A minutes walk from Storgatan / town square, shops including mini market, and Cafe Anna Pa.
Very clean. Comfortable beds.

A real delight to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doingittough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Our stay at Gripsholms Vardshus was a change in our original itinerary. Having researched the place we were originally going to stay, we were somewhat reluctant to agree to the change, but we did. We were not disappointed. We had a very nice suite with a beautiful view across the water to the Gripsholms Castle. The hotel was in easy walking distance of the castle and other areas of interest. It was early May and the town was not in full tourist mode, but we found the people we encountered in the town to be very friendly. One gentleman talked with us for quite awhile, giving us a history of the castle and the hotel. Dinner was good, but since there were only three tables occupied, I had the feeling we didn't get the best the chef had to offer...but as I said, it was good. The bed was very comfortable and the suite was nicely furnished. So....the change in our itinerary turned out to be a nice surprise.

Room Tip: Ask for the Victoria Suite.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebel1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Most people go to Mariefred to see Gripsholms Castle. This quaint little town is about forty-five minutes drive west of Stockholm. The little wooden houses look as if they have been around for almost as long as the castle which was started in the 14th century and completed in the 16th.

The Gripsholms Vardhus proudly displays the date 1609 above its front door. It is the oldest working inn in Sweden and the rooms are elegantly furnished, reminiscent of a bygone era. It overlooks the castle and water and in days gone by was the guesthouse for visitors to the king. A visit to the inn is almost enough reason to visit Mariefred itself.

I visited in the spring time when all of Sweden seems to be waking up from a long sleep. The weather was cold and crisp but the sun shone brightly. Unfortunately I could not really enjoy the outside of the inn as a wooden deck was under construction in preparation for the summer. But I did take long walks around the lake and through the deer park.

The buffet-style breakfast was fit for a king. Service is discreet but efficient.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews