We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartamentos Bellavista Gomera
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Only here for two nights ( did 4 nights in Valle Gran Rey and were on our way to 2 nights in San Sebastian) but a very nice, comfortable and friendly place to stay it was. No hesitation staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarnsleyMicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

My wife and I spent 9 nights in these comfortable apartments in October. We wanted a spacious apartment which is certainly what we got. Well equipped and clean, our accommodation offered a lovely view of the coastal environ from our balcony/terrace. When not out walking, we spent many hours there taking in the vista, painting, reading , relaxing in the sun and enjoying the peaceful ambience.
Playa Santiago ( 8 mins walk from the apart) is a quiet unspoiled resort. Life centres on the harbour and plaza and there are a number of decent bars and restaurants along the promenade. We tried all the restaurants and would particularly recommend Don Tomate (consistently good) and Jujonia where the sea food and steaks were good although too heavily salted on occasions.
La Gomera is a stunningly beautiful little island. If you are after the type of beach holiday offered by Teneriffe and the larger islands it would be wise to avoid it. There are very few of the usual tourist trappings instead you will find a paradise for the serious (and not so serious) walker. Many of the walking trails are accessible either directly from Santiago or by bus. We chose to explore the island using public transport ( do enough driving at home) and found the bus service pretty reliable. Although San Sebastian would probably make a better base for exploring the island by bus ( all routes go there), we managed to get around very well and preferred the feel of Santiago. We thought we were pretty good walkers but some of the trails we took were challenging enough for us oldies. We would particulary recommend visiting Imada, a beautiful village high up in the mountains and walking from/ to there. Be warned that the cafe/bar is closed on Fridays as we found out having walked from Las Toscas anticipating a beer and food only to be disappointed.
We will definitely return and will choose the same apartments and base again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nigelmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our family (two retirees and our grown up daughter) have stayed in one of the second floor two bedroom apartments on several occasions over the last ten years and we have never been disappointed. The service and value for money are unbeatable in our view. For a quiet, relaxing holiday in the sun this will take some beating. Liz, Elena and John are a great team and have always gone out of their way to ensure we have the best possible experience. This year was not our first visit and is unlikely to be our last.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have their own directly accessed terrace. The lower floor apartments need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We have just returned from our 10th visit to these apartments. Everything was as splendid as ever.the showers even better this year. The apartments are clean,fresh and extremely comfortable. Everything you need is provided for a thoroughly relaxing holiday on this beautiful island. Liz, Elena and John will do everything possible to help you enjoy your stay here. Their knowledge and passion for the island is very obvious. la Gomera suffered from devastating fires last Summer but it is recovering well and in 6 weeks we managed to walk about 30 different routes ,mainly unaffected by the fires. My Husband and I would recommend the island and accommodation to any independent travellers who love walking and peacefulness and who enjoy the culture of Spain

Room Tip: Make sure you get a balcony.the views are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackyandbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

After having spent four days in a "snuff box" (a hotel room on the north side with a fig tree in front of the veranda and a high rise building in front of the ocean all decorated in shades of brown) I don't thik I have been as happy to see IKEA furniture ever in my life. This was defenitely from IKEA's high end, and it was picked out by an English lady for Spain, so in spite of the light and the IKEA, it still had a very Spanish feeling about it.

The interior of this hotel was so light and airy that I could almost hear the larks singing and the whistling from the birches as I walked in the door. I probably did hear the larks, as they are in Africa in the winter, and the whistle was from palm trees, but except for that, the interior of this hotel was like walking into a Northern summer house by the beach. We had room No 203 in the middle of the stairs and according to the land lady, the smallest room in the house, but it was both very charming and very practical and with a full view of the ocean from the balcony. The kitchen/living room/office was small but practical. It was furnished with vicker furniture which had the right hight for comfortable sitting, eating and computer use. The bedroom was very cosy and I know it had IKEA's most expensive matress - and two pillows for each and crisp clean bed spread. For two people it was also very cosy. The internet was perfect and if you bring your own scart cable, you can connect it to the TV and watch programmes from home in the TV! Elena, Liz and John were very helpful when we needed it (which wasn't very often because we were very happy there), and I must also point out that the free use of a washing machine (with detergent) located in an excellent library with books in most European languages is also a plus. The place was spotless when we arrived, but since all needed for house keeping was in the house I told the maid I could keep it clean myself, so I can't say more about the cleaning than that, but I am sure that that is fine there also.

So if you don't mind spending time with very old German hikers or even older English golfers and in general prefer to have a holiday with no noise and without talking to people (which has nothing to do with the Bellavista hotel, but the average tourists of Santiago), this hotel is an oasis in the middle of an "old folks town". And by the way, the dog barked every night when we were there also, but to us it was some welcome noice. Although I found the town of Santiago incredibly boring and too old, I can give my warmest recommendations to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are two people on a romantic holiday, ask for room 203.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tullemor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Nice people running these apartments, but I can't recommend this place. We had an apartment overlooking a side road and a roof with only a partial view to the sea. We had our own entrance but the rooms in our apartment were small, although the kitchen was well-equipped and the beds comfortable. A dog barked almost all the time we were there, and the sound carried from the fields. It's a good 10 minute walk to the main part of the village and beach. Maybe other rooms in the Bellavista are better, but we weren't happy with ours. Sorry.

Room Tip: Check which room you are in. If it is the one at the side of the house, ask for another with an unin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Epicurious01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in late December 2010. We had been planning to go walking but my partner was taken ill and so we had to spend more time in the apartment than we'd planned. John, Liz and Elena were very helpful, pointing us in the direction of the medical centre with some notes in Spanish for the doctor. The apartment was clean, well appointed, spacious and light/bright. The laundry facilities and library are good. There is wifi although we could only getting it working for part of the time we were there. It was being upgraded so there may have been teething troubles, or maybe it was our computer. If booking I would suggest you ask for a terrace or balcony on the same level as your accommodation. We had a private terrace with good views but it was out of the flat and up 2 flights of stairs. The best thing about the apartment was the location. A quiet minute stroll through farm land to the shops, restaurants, ferry and beach at Santiago. It has a very old fashioned, rural and peaceful atmosphere. It is directly connected to Tenerife by ferry - 3 a day from Los Christianos.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alison_6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Santiago
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tecina
Hotel Jardin Tecina
#1 of 2 in Playa de Santiago
1,641 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Gomera
Hotel Villa Gomera
#2 of 9 in San Sebastian de la Gomera
93 reviews
9.3 mi away
Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural
Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural
#1 of 7 in Hermigua
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Parador de la Gomera
Parador de la Gomera
#1 of 9 in San Sebastian de la Gomera
630 reviews
10.2 mi away
Las Casas del Chorro
Las Casas del Chorro
#1 of 4 in Agulo
25 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Tapahuga
Apartamentos Tapahuga
#1 of 5 in Playa de Santiago
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Bellavista Gomera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Bellavista Gomera

Address: Santa Ana 84 | Playa de Santiago, 38811 Playa de Santiago, La Gomera, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > La Gomera > Playa de Santiago
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Playa de Santiago
Price Range: £42 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a quiet pedestrian lane in the old part of the village, but only a five minute walk to the beach, shops and restaurants, Apartamentos Bellavista Gomera provide the perfect combination of a peaceful setting whilst being close to all amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Apartamentos Bellavista Gomera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Bellavista Gomera La Gomera/Playa De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing