We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mustn't let standards slip......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Jardin Tecina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 May 2012

As regular visitors to Tecina for many years, both with our young son and previously as a couple, we really love this hotel but feel that it may need a few touches on the tiller to keep it from going off course.

Whilst endorsing all the positive things that other reviewers have to say about the hotel and the island we feel that it has stood still in some areas over the last few years and is perhaps going backwards in others.

On our most recent visit in April this year we were very disappointed with the evening entertainment on offer, unlike previous years.

The buffet food, although still enjoyable and varied, seemed to have a noticeably higher amount of "recycling" than I remember and lacked a little something - also the buffet closed earlier at supper this year meaning if you arrived much after 8.30 you felt in a rush and the deserts were almost gone..

The very attractive golf course is still far too expensive considering it's mostly empty - to rent a set of clubs, buggy etc plus green fee will take you easily over the £100 mark and the course, though benefittng from great views, is just not that good.

And were we imagining it or were the (usually friendly) staff a little demoralised? They certainly seemed to work hard enough but lack that little bit of professional enthusiasm you come to take for granted when staying in international hotels of this category.

And what happened to the pool table, and the tapas bar, and why were the table tennis tables moved to a less convenient spot? And why did charming Anne in Guest Relations leave? And why couldn't our favourite room be guaranteed when the hotel was half empty?
These are all relatively small things taken individually, but added together may signal a downhill trend.

Come on Tecina, we do love you, but please have a long hard look at yourself in the mirror and resolve to try harder!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank NovoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

598 - 604 of 1,627 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

We have just returned from a 10 night stay on the island.
The hotel is very tranquil and welcoming. It has beautiful grounds set on the cliff top. The staff go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Hotel rooms are large and clean with all the usual facilities. Food is very good, particularly at breakfast. Guests are mainly older couples and there are very few children.
The island is very unspoilt and tourism has minimal impact on the natural environment. Many people enjoy hiking - some routes are very challenging. We enjoyed the escorted Island tour (but not the lunch!) If you are looking for a relaxing holiday then La Gomera is a good choice.

The journey to and from the hotel is very long. We were met at the airport and driven to the ferry terminal at Los Christianos. The sailing takes approximately 45 minutes followed by a further 30 minutes taxi ride to the hotel. As there are a limited number of sailings the transfer can take several hours - we had lunch at a hotel in Los Christianos on our return before another taxi ride to the airport. I would suggest you research the timings before booking.

Room Tip: Opt for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank downland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaCarrillo, Community Manager at Hotel Jardin Tecina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you had a good experience at our resort . We will be more than glad to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The island of La Gomera has stunning volcanic scenery, and is very quiet, unspoilt and not at all touristy. Jardin Tecina, a lovely hotel perched on a cliff top overlooking the sea, with interesting gardens, is the biggest hotel on the island, as far as I could tell. We had a spacious and comfortable room, and enjoyed copious breakfast and dinner buffets; the only criticism of the dinner buffet was that there was little provision for vegetarians - pasta with tomato sauce or roast sweet potatoes doesn't really fit the bill - too many of the vegetable dishes, eg chickpeas, had meat hiding in them. I felt it was difficult to get out and about - we had not taken driving licences, and would not particularly have wanted to drive on the very bendy roads, but it was pure chance as to whether you would find out that the hotel had shared taxis (but only once a week to the main town, San Sebastian, and at the taxi driver's convenience, not yours) or that there was an island tour, again once a week. Basically this is an island for serious walkers, and if you are not into serious walking perhaps best to go somewhere else, unless you are happy to lie by a pool all day (but the pools were cold and it was quite windy on some days). We talked to several other guests who were repeat visitors, some having been there many times, but I would not go there again, probably because there is not enough to do unless you want to go rambling.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jennyeccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaCarrillo, Community Manager at Hotel Jardin Tecina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for your comment. At Hotel Jardín Tecina we offer a varied program of sports and activities named Tecinactiv including professional tennis courses for children and adults, varied guided hikes, different routes along the island and individual bike renting, dives for beginners and advanced from shore or boat, varied boat trips with the possibility of bathing in the coves of the island. Guided tour of the hotel among flowers and plants from around the world, and golf, a 18 holes golf course with spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean and Mount Teide in Tenerife. Also our Animation-team offers a complete program with activities during the day and the night. At out Hotel there’s no time for boredom. A varied program of activities which includes: Stretching, Pistol shooting, Rifle shooting, Archery, Aquagym, Waterpolo, Watervolley, Pool games, Beachvolley, Spanish-lessons, Pin-Pon, “Petanca”, Sjoelbak, Darts, Bingo, Sports (Basketball, Volleyball, Football), Tennis Tournament, Show’s with our Animations-team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We returned after an interval of 4 years - having previously been regular visitors.
The comfort and food and facilities are still of extremely high standard, but many of the building and development projects around the island seem not to have advanced at all in 4 years. The small catamaran (Garajonay Express) no longer runs along the La Gomera coast. Fewer ferry operators ply between Tenerife and La Gomera but Fred Olsen has reduced its number of sailings daily. Co-ordinating travel from UK to Tenerife South Airport and then onwards to La Gomera is a nightmare, involving unreasonably early departures and unreasonably late arrivals. It begins to look as if TWO overnight stops en route are now necessary (in Los Cristianos and in Madrid).

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms are on the first floor - with a balcony and the possibility of a through draught...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chrisdrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Fabulous hotel. Be wary of going "all inclusive". Fortunately we chose not to and went for breakfast and dinner so no drinks included. There are 3 restaurants at the hotel and you can only eat for "free" in one of them - you have to pay supplements to eat in both of the other restaurants, even if you go AI. I can't comment on them as we found the food very good in the main restaurant and didn't want to pay any more than we had already. Also at lunch time the menu at the main pool bar and down at the beach club bar only offered a certain number of dishes to "all inclusive" and the dishes which we would have chosen had supplements. We were a party of 5 as we took our children aged 23, 21 and 18 with us and we ate lunch in the hotel each day and had drinks at coffee time, lunch time and with dinner and afterwards in the bar and our bill at the end of the week was half what we would have paid extra to have gone all inclusive! This would be my only complaint about the hotel. It was not full so there was no "running for the sunbeds" and it looked as though there were plenty anyway and that this is possibly not a problem, although wouldn't rule it out as, although there were signs around, people still reserved the sunbeds - can't understand why as there were hundreds! I agree with some other reviews that it is a bit of a pain to get to the island but it is worth it as the hotel is so nice and La Gomera is very unspoilt and uncommercialised, unlike the ghastly Tenerife which you have to pass through to get there! Lovely big rooms overlooking the ocean. Not a huge amount to do there unless you like walking in the National Park. There is a golf course attached to the hotel. Went on a good whale watching trip. You can easily walk to the little village where there are some nice cafes and restaurants and a nice atmosphere. All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel and would go there for a relaxation holiday but as I said, not much else to do there.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for a great view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dolly099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Spent 10 days in an ocean front room at the Jardin Tecina in the month of June.

After having read many reviews, mainly from guests having stayed several times at the resort, I was convinced that this would be an excellent choice. And it was!

What we liked most:
- fantastic seafront rooms, when sleeping you leave the windows open and you'll hear nothing but the sea, rolling over the rocks at the bottom of the cliff!
- Having a glass of cava on the room's balcony, enjoying the spectacular view to the ocean.
- outside dining and breakfast, on the Canarian balcony of the main restaurant
- possibility to have dinner served at your table, daily menu for half board guests in the a la carte restaurant
- impeccable garden
- location next to the small village of Playa Santiago with a few restaurants (book half board, and have lunch in the village, cheap and nice!)
- the island itself: it is so peaceful and tranquil here, if you need a week to de-stress, definitely book la Gomera!! Besides La Gomera is one of the more authentic islands (just like La Palma and El Hierro), where mass tourism simply does not exist.

What we liked less:
- long trip to get there (flight to Tenerife, boat to San Sebastian), never the less you instantly forget all this as soon as you arrive.
- the quality of the beds is not great, matresses are way too soft.

Would we go back? Definitely! Now I understand why some guests visit the Jardin Tecina even for the 15th time.

Room Tip: Certainly pay the supplement for the frontal ocean view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kristof V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Transfers

2 hours 30 minutes including a ferry crossing

The above is a direct copy from Thomsons website. So is this:

Please note that there are a limited number of ferries per day from Tenerife to La Gomera. Please ensure that there is a ferry suitable for your flight if booking as hotel only. Due to limited ferry times, it may be necessary to wait up to 6 hours in Tenerife.

We thought, perhaps naively, that the six hour bit applied to hotel only bookings and that as Thomsons were booking the lot for us then they would choose a flight that met the 2 hours 30 minutes criterion. We were therefore surprised when we had to spend 3.5 hours in Los Cristianos on the outward journey and we arrived at the airport 5 hours before our return flight.

That said, we would still have booked if we had understood the true position. The hotel is worth every penny we paid!

Room Tip: High level superior room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Santiago
6.5 mi away
Parador de la Gomera
Parador de la Gomera
#1 of 9 in San Sebastian de la Gomera
626 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Gran Rey
Hotel Gran Rey
#2 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
211 reviews
9.5 mi away
Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural
Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural
#1 of 7 in Hermigua
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Playa Calera
Playa Calera
#1 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
219 reviews
9.9 mi away
Charco Del Conde
Charco Del Conde
#4 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jardin Las Hayas
Jardin Las Hayas
#22 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jardin Tecina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jardin Tecina

Address: Lomada de Tecina s/n, 38811 Playa de Santiago, La Gomera, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > La Gomera > Playa de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Playa de Santiago
Price Range: £112 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jardin Tecina 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jardin Tecina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin Tecina Playa De Santiago
Hotel Jardin Tecina La Gomera/Playa De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing