We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Love This Place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gecko Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Migjorn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2011

I think no place is perfect, but this comes close... I was here for a yogaretreat, but wouldn't spend another time 100 euros a day for 2 classes as there is no more delighting place for yogapractice as the beach, which is literally on the doorstep.
I was here in April and it was so peaceful. I probably wouldn't dare to go in July/August, but with children it would be ok. It's a very childfriendly place.
I don't know of any resort so nearby that offers the vibrations of locations you'd normally only experience in Thailand or Bali. I will definitely come back, even for just a weekendbreak. Or to take a break from Ibiza holidays. The place is really for everyone, the hip and happening, the restseekers, families. That's a pro, but at the same time might be a con.
The only thing I'd love the management to improve are the beds. The double was hardly big enough for me alone (I am tall but not fat) and the matress was hard.
The food is really good. Location awesome. Staff friendly. It was hard to leave the place for some exploration of the island but in the end very happy I did as the beaches in the north (les Ignettes) are just amazing.
I was thinking of extending my stay which in the end I didn't. Still regretting it....

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tjimmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2010

Nice hotel and location, very poor management. Beautiful views and simple white modern decoration. Very good breakfast . Unfortunately staff seems always stressed. Friendly waitress had to serve breakfast on her own for days, to the point of breaking into tears! Receptionist did not have time in three days and after several request, to send someone to remove two extra beds left in our room, for previous guest. Finally when they did, hair and pieces of paper, were left on floor for days.
Gardeners started cutting the grass right by the restaurant deck during breakfast, until guest asked them to move to the other end of the gardens. The Hotel management decided to paint the wooden deck around the restaurant and hotel entrance on the 17 of July, peak season, creating mess and chaos for days, when the hotel is empty during the winter months. Hotel is overpriced in high season.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francisco0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

I Have Just Returned from Gecko Staying at the Beach Club this week. My husband booked a surprise weekend to celebrate Our 15th Anniversary and I feel Compelled to write and express how absolutely perfect The Weekend WAS.

The Beach Club is Perfectly Located by the beach , close enough to Ibiza That the transfer took no time at all But far enough away to feel remote and exclusive Also . The Garden Room booked was beautiful and all staff very friendly and helpful.

The Was a perfect weekend and a wonderful treat for us both. We look forward to Returning .

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We had a superb 4 night break based around a friend's wedding. Dino and the team looked after us very well and gave us superb advice on where to visit during the day and where to eat dinner. The hotel has been thoughtfully designed and decorated throughout; complimenting the superb beachside location. The rooms are tastefully decorated, in keeping with the surroundings, and give you the feeling of simple luxury. The service and the food were good; the team worked very hard to make it a memorable wedding. If I return to the island I will revisit the hotel and do not hesitate in recommending it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJW556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Stayed here for our honeymoon after getting married in Ibiza. The hotel looks amazing and the grounds are really pretty. It's right on the beach and you can also sunbathe in the garden with waitress service for excellent cocktails. The staff were really friendly and the breakfasts were particurly good. We ate at the restaurant and also went out to places which the staff recommended and booked for us. Easy to hire a car and go off to see the Island, only downside of Gecko is that it is not on the best beach and there was a bit of seaweed unlike other beaches around the island. The rooms were clean and newly decorated but did seem a little overpriced in terms of size and luxury. However overall we enjoyed our stay here a lot. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah1981Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

We stayed three nights for a wedding at this hotel. Our family room - one double and two single beds - was a good size and extremely well equipped with air conditioning and a more than adequate bathroom (shower only). We had one of half a dozen garden rooms, perfectly placed for the beach while also very quiet.
From the moment we arrived, staff were very welcoming and attentive. The public areas are luxurious, with outdoor settees and tables, awning-covered eating areas, and sunloungers on a large grassy area. There is no pool but the beach, right next to the hotel, also has sunloungers and umbrellas, but does not belong to the hotel, so expect a charge. Swimming is clean and safe. However, be prepared to avert your eyes if you are of a sensitive disposition: nudists of all ages dot the beach in both directions.
Formentera's attractions are limited, and the Gecko Beach is fairly remote, so it is ideal for those looking for a luxurious beach holiday, with perhaps the odd excursion to the island's beach bars.
Lastly: what a great venue for a wedding. Outdoor seating, a great wedding banquet and dancing into the night.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Just returned from 5 days at Geck Beach, with my Husband and our two boy's, aged 3 and 1 year. We had the most amazing time, the staff could not do enough for you, the restaurant was 5 star, with a great childrens menu and the family room with it's own terrace was ideal, for small children. We felt we could really relax , while the children played safely in the beautiful gardens.
Have already booked for next year !!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charliep55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Migjorn
3.3 mi away
Hotel Riu La Mola
Hotel Riu La Mola
#1 of 5 in Migjorn
1,359 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostal Casbah Formentera
Hostal Casbah Formentera
#1 of 3 in Sant Francesc de Formentera
181 reviews
1.1 mi away
Apartments Paraiso De Los Pinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Blanco Hotel Formentera
Blanco Hotel Formentera
#4 of 31 in Formentera
485 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Cala Saona
Hotel Cala Saona
#3 of 31 in Formentera
454 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Entre Pinos
Hotel Entre Pinos
#1 of 2 in Es Calo
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko Hotel & Beach Club

Address: Ca Mari, 07860 Migjorn, Formentera, Spain (Formerly Costa Azul Hostal)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Formentera > Migjorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Migjorn
Price Range: £303 - £921 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gecko Hotel & Beach Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gecko Hotel & Beach Club is a boutique hotel situated on the magical island of Formentera, just meters away from the turquoise waters of Migjorn beach in the peaceful area of Ca-Marí. Its chic and modern design coupled with its idyllic ambience make Formentera's Gecko Hotel & Beach Club the perfect paradise to spend your vacation, sample the cuisine and enjoy a cocktail or to celebrate any type of special event such as weddings, parties, conferences or exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Gecko Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gecko Beach Club Hotel Migjorn
Gecko Beach Hotel
Gecko Hotel & Beach Club Formentera/Migjorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing