We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3-star hotel masked as 4-star beach club”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gecko Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Migjorn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

as always it is in the details. this hotel is just not 4-star quality. not enough bang for your buck. we paid EUR 260 per night and we simply did not get the full value back. the profit margins of this place must be huge. relatively small rooms. phone broken. safe didnt work. thin walls so you hear everything in other rooms and on the floor. service is friendly though. location is great. breakfast: forget about freshly pressed orange juice and so is the rest of it. overall not to be recommended but then i also dont know about the alternatives in formentera...

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmopolitoswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
There are newer reviews for Gecko Hotel & Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

We do not have kids but we still loved it here. keep in mind children outnumber adults 2 to 1 so the pool is busy.If you have a family it is ideal chic hotel. For couples or singles it can be a bit much. But still loved it. Make sure you rent a scooter. They do not push it as hard as they should. It is all about exploring the beaches of the island. Service is slow but with a smile.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKUSTRIPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

On a day trip from Ibiza to Formentera, we decided to spend some time at gecko beach club. We rented a chair for 20 euros (drink and towels included) and spent the day around the pool area. Gecko is a small boutique hotel with lovely hotel grounds. It is a relaxing vibe, if you do not count the many screaming babies. Suprisingly many young families in this hotel, although this hotel is not designed for young families.
We had lunch at their restaurant, lovely setting with beach view, good snack menu. The beach looks terrifice from distance but from a closer look the algae from the sea made it less attractive. Over all, we loved to spend one day here, but prefer Ibiza for the vibe.

Room Tip: top floor, those with a huge terrasse with loungers and full sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank luxuryvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Staff tremendously attentive.
Great food. Great atmosphere. Great mojitos by Mateo.
Massage with Claudia is a must try.
Rooms & restrooms small but very clean.
Popular with families so it can get a bit loud with crying babies at times.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank YvonneR492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Visited here for cocktails one evening to discover an over-hyped, beautiful but dour place. Migjorn beach is full of little finds, including some seaside kiosk bar gems not even listed on tripadvisor which makes this place all the more depressing. I had a bland and poorly mixed vodka / limoncello frozen margherita type thing and my partner had a slightly better G+T. The ice dissapated rapidly and there was neither a straw or stirrer to mix it up again - which I would expect with a €12 drink.
What struck me most about this place is how I was so pleased we weren't hotel guests here. Although it looks great, and I have no doubt the rooms are fantastic, it's totally soul-less. We were offered a food menu, which consisted of a few barbeque options and not much else, for €50 a head. We were sat near the chef's BBQ station, and it lacked any fanfare at all, with the chef and waiters just hanging around and chatting. Nothing special here at all, and so we chose not to eat. Prices like this in a venue like Gecko, should come with a memorable experience. All we had was the Sting back catalogue for music accompaniament - with some songs repeated (perhaps the staff favs?). Not recommended, in my opinion this place is for unimaginative types who have money but no real taste.

Room Tip: Rooms are perpendicular to the sea, except for 2 rooms on the end. Terraces look fantastic.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank jodyodea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Formentera yoga is held at Gecko Beach Club - the perfect relaxing setting with a luscious grassy poolside covered in loungers and day beds overlooking the rugged Playa Mighorn.

Each day begins with a silent meditation walk along the beach. Loving the romance of sand between my toes I decided to leave my trainers at home - don't make this mistake as it is quite hard going underfoot. This is followed by a long morning yoga session where Jax goes really deep into the practise breaking down simple postures and re-teaching her students about the placement of their bodies. I went with a wrist injury worried that I wouldn't be able to do a lot of the postures and it totally corrected itself within a day under Jax's tuition. There is also a late afternoon practise so you average 4-5 hours of yoga a day and by the end of the 5 days your practise has more strength, integrity and focus. Classes take place on a covered deck surrounded by greenery looking out to sea. There is a wonderful resident healer called Leanne who takes the group through a guided chakra meditation each afternoon before the yoga session - she is also available for private one on one sessions for those who want to go deeper. Most of the day is free time so it feels like a proper holiday - we lay in the sun drinking virgin cocktails, swam in the sea and spent time exploring the little beach bars and restaurants along Playa Mighorn. This is the island of beautiful people, hair bleached by the sun, deep tans, surfers and cute young couples on mopeds. The food is excellent with a massive morning breakfast spread and a lovely healthy evening meal - lunch isn't provided but this was a good opportunity to explore.

I cannot recommend this retreat highly enough - especially if you do a busy, stressful job or live in a City - go, turn off your phone and be at peace. Your clients/partners/families will cope and you will return a better version of yourself. The effects last for quite a while when you return too so it's money well spent.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErinKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I love this hotel and island! I am so afraid that Americans will discover just how much of a jewel this destination really is...the island was featured in this month's Travel and Leisure.

I visited for a girls weekend and had the most relaxing stay. The grounds were wonderful, staff so friendly and helpful and breakfast delish! I was shoked how reasonable the prices were for such a ubscale mini resort. I was glad there was a pool because when we were there, there was some seeweed build up on the beach.

Cute restaurants and beach bars are short stroll down a very well maintained boardwalk. You must do a day trip to Illetes...one of the most insane beaches I have ever seen. A short bus ride away.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlampackerSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Migjorn
3.3 mi away
Hotel Riu La Mola
Hotel Riu La Mola
#1 of 5 in Migjorn
1,313 reviews
2.7 mi away
Blanco Hotel Formentera
Blanco Hotel Formentera
#4 of 31 in Formentera
457 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Cala Saona
Hotel Cala Saona
#3 of 31 in Formentera
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Apartments Paraiso De Los Pinos
3.2 mi away
Insotel Club Maryland
Insotel Club Maryland
#13 of 31 in Formentera
1,332 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostal Casbah Formentera
Hostal Casbah Formentera
#1 of 3 in Sant Francesc de Formentera
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko Hotel & Beach Club

Address: Ca Mari, 07860 Migjorn, Formentera, Spain (Formerly Costa Azul Hostal)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Formentera > Migjorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Migjorn
Price Range: £228 - £738 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gecko Hotel & Beach Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gecko Hotel & Beach Club is a boutique hotel situated on the magical island of Formentera, just meters away from the turquoise waters of Migjorn beach in the peaceful area of Ca-Marí. Its chic and modern design coupled with its idyllic ambience make Formentera's Gecko Hotel & Beach Club the perfect paradise to spend your vacation, sample the cuisine and enjoy a cocktail or to celebrate any type of special event such as weddings, parties, conferences or exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gecko Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gecko Beach Club Hotel Migjorn
Gecko Beach Hotel
Gecko Hotel & Beach Club Formentera/Migjorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing