We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Formentera Yoga with Jax May at Gecko = amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gecko Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Migjorn
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Formentera Yoga with Jax May at Gecko = amazing!”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I had a wonderful trip to Formentera earlier this year. My boyfriend and I travelled to Ibiza from London, and stayed there for the weekend, enjoying the early season on the party island for a couple of days before taking the quick ferry over to Formentera. It's such a beautiful island, so peaceful and restorative, with amazing beaches. I'd been looking forward to a yoga retreat with the fantastic Jax May Lysycia for quite some time, having previously attended a yoga course with her in the UK, and the Gecko retreat was simply wonderful. I love her dynamic, balanced approach to yoga, with an emphasis on stillness and peace, on really connecting to yourself, and restoring balance. Jax always takes the time to be thorough, and to explain what she means, and the reasons for everything, and the history, which is great. It felt so luxurious to have so much time devoted to yoga! And yet the middle of the day was left free for relaxation or any other activities. I also loved the silent meditation walks on the beach at sunrise each morning, the delicious healthy food, and really nice relaxed company. My boyfriend stayed with me at Gecko but he did not do the yoga, so he was able to read a lot of books, go for walks and bike rides, and just relax. He joined us for all our meals and was still very much part of the group, as everyone was friendly and welcoming, which was very nice. Most people travelled alone, plus there were one or two pairs of friends, and a mother/daughter duo. Abilities were mixed, as were levels of dedication, which was quite refreshing! I would definitely recommend both Jax's yoga, wherever it may be, and also the Gecko Beach Club itself, which is beautiful, with wonderful, quiet service. Bikes can be hired, and massages booked. The weather in April was quite changeable, sometimes hot enough to sunbathe and swim but other times quite windy and almost chilly, so prepare for variety if you travel in the spring. This is a special place and I can't wait to go back. I definitely plan to return for some more of Jax's gloriously rejuvenating yoga. Namaste!

Room Tip: I would think all the rooms would be great. Our room had a balcony with a sea view and it was beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelyogini89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    120
    32
    19
    13
See reviews for
77
161
47
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
158 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Second visit, still the place to stay in Formentera. Simple but good rooms, good breakfast, amazing pool. A couple of excellent additions since last summer - the kids' club has been extended in hours and activities yet still is very pleasantly informal. And the lunch menu with pizzas etc in the more active chiringuito is also very nice. They are trying to liven up sundowners with djs and g+ts etc, but with little success... to be honest, with places like piratabus, blue bar, cala saona, etc, they may as well give up.

Why only 4 out of 5? The hotel benefits from being on the beach but there is quite a lot of seaweed, so didn't use it. The prices are rising rapidly each year. The restaurant is packed for lunch but lacks a bit in atmosphere in the evening. And whilst some of the staff are amazing, especially poolside, chiringuito and the bar area, those in the restaurant could do with losing the attitude (esp one of the breakfast girls!).

Still very good and on the best island in the med!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
389 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Situated on the Migjorn beach this beach bar is attached and part of the Gecko hotel,
which we are lead to believe is where the celebs stay when on Formentera.
Staying down the beach at the Tayala bungalows (see my review) we stopped by for a drink and found it very nice sensible prices excellent service and good music.
Being end of season it was quiet but looks to be a nice hotel and would certainly stay there if we visited and didn't opt for self catering - which has its advantages.
Some photos to follow.

Room Tip: We visited the bar restaurant only
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We didn't stay here, but we ate here twice and planned to stay for an afternoon at the beach. The beach, however, was just "okay" and didn't measure up to many or even most of the other superb beaches on the island. The pool area was also very quiet. The hotel looked nice and well-maintained, but vacationing here would be a quiet experience. It is also quite some distance from other places on the island, so plan for a rental car or at least motorbikes. We saw a couple arriving by taxi and immediately thought that was probably a mistake, both in convenience and cost. The food at the restaurant was quite good and the service was excellent, but the prices were also the highest we had seen on the island, and the island is somewhat known for being pricey. Basically, very good food at Manhattan prices. (I don't mean to scare people away by the prices, as I did feel it was acceptable for the price, but don't expect a bargain.) And while the website makes it look like an active "W" hotel type experience, it is too small a place to have a "buzz" going. Perhaps for a honeymoon, or even a sedate long weekend with very young kids who want to play on the playground or pool. Actually, thinking about it, perhaps perfect for a quiet, romantic rendezvous, where neither wants much likelihood of running into someone they know Maybe that's what its all about... Ah, for those so inclined ... perfect.

Room Tip: few of the rooms face the ocean, but I'm not sure that's the best view anyway. Some have pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N700hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

We spent in this hotel few days in the middle of september .
The hotel itself ( living areas, rooms , swimming pool, the garden) is really above the avaradge for formentera. It is a really nice boutique hotel where you can easily spend a relaxing period.
The food is also really good. The ingredient are really fresh and high quality and the price is quite high .

The service overall is below the expectation. Despite the high level of the structure , the staff is quite young and not well trained to respect the expectations given the high price per night.

So some details to be fixed but overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matutone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We spent our last day on Formentera at the Gecko Club before catching an evening ferry. Reception and staff were very nice and efficient, and we appreciated the policy of sunbeds and umbrella being provided with the purchase of lunch. Unfortunately, the lunch turned out to be a disappointment, partly because there was a group discussing wedding plans seated right next to us in a nearly empty restaurant. Although the design is very attractive, there just seemd to be something missing in the general ambiance. The Gecko Club doesn't have rights to the beach, so you're umbrella and sunbed-less once you leave the pool area. The beach is not the best stretch of Migjorn. All in all the negatives outweighed the positives.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Very often you look at a hotel website and the reality disappoints - not the case here! This is a laid back place with excellent service. Our room ('The Gecko Suite') was marvellous with great views all round and loads of space. From what I saw of other rooms they were not as spacious but many looked like they had very nice aspects with sea and garden views. Our room was very well serviced every day by the maids, we did have to chase the comp. water a couple of times but I can live with that when everything else works so well.

The breakfast buffet is very good, not a ridiculous amount of choice but perfectly adequate for all tastes. Lovely fresh baked pastries were a particular favourite. The restaurant where that is served is covered but open to the air with lovely sea and garden views.

A very chilled and relaxed air pervades the place, but the service is generally excellent with bar, waiter and reception staff all extremely friendly and efficient. We 'fine dined' a couple of nights and the quality was great, but they do cater for a burger or something simple at all times if you prefer. You never have to dress up if you dont fancy it

Drinks are not cheap but we got very generous measures and the bar staff would pour according to our wishes for strength etc. There is waiter servcie right through the establishment and the staff soon got to know what we liked and were very pleasant to deal with.

The beach is literally right outside and is beautiful. It runs for miles each way and is dotted with other bars and restaurants of every type and price bracket. Be prepared to walk a fair way and you will be rewarded with some really good alternatives. Everything is strung out with a great sense of space. Take a torch if going in the evening as there is no lighting along the beach paths but they are very safe and clean.

We looked all around the island and would say this place is in a very good spot and definately at the top end of quality. Most of the other accomodation we saw was much more basic and the restrictions on development on the island mean there isnt much scope to improve other places.

I would advise to book rooms that are either on the first floor or overlooking the garden at the back of the property. A small row of rooms on the ground floor between car park and reception didnt look too well placed and are to be avoided.

There were some weddings at the hotel while we were there, but the staff worked really hard to make sure they didnt impact on our level of service, which in a small place they could. Infact they were a pleasure to watch, being held on the beach front or garden. We noticed how hard all the staff worked at these events to make them go well.

We would not hesitate in recommending this place as a little slice of the Carribean in the Med. It is certainly not the cheapest option on Formentera, but the quality for the style and price of the place is quite appropriate.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms nearest the car park on the pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinwilliams10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Migjorn
3.3 mi away
Hotel Riu La Mola
Hotel Riu La Mola
#1 of 4 in Migjorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
2.7 mi away
Blanco Hotel Formentera
Blanco Hotel Formentera
#2 of 28 in Formentera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hostal La Savina
Hostal La Savina
#1 of 3 in La Savina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casbah Formentera
Hotel Casbah Formentera
#1 of 3 in Sant Francesc de Formentera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Cala Saona
Hotel Cala Saona
#1 of 28 in Formentera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Entre Pinos
Hotel Entre Pinos
#1 of 2 in Es Calo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko Hotel & Beach Club

Property: Gecko Hotel & Beach Club
Address: Ca Mari, 07860 Migjorn, Formentera, Spain (Formerly Costa Azul Hostal)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Formentera > Migjorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Migjorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gecko Hotel & Beach Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gecko Hotel & Beach Club is a boutique hotel situated on the magical island of Formentera, just meters away from the turquoise waters of Migjorn beach in the peaceful area of Ca-Marí. Its chic and modern design coupled with its idyllic ambience make Formentera's Gecko Hotel & Beach Club the perfect paradise to spend your vacation, sample the cuisine and enjoy a cocktail or to celebrate any type of special event such as weddings, parties, conferences or exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gecko Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gecko Beach Club Hotel Migjorn
Gecko Beach Hotel
Gecko Hotel & Beach Club Formentera/Migjorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing