We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel for families and couples”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gecko Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gecko Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Migjorn
Certificate of Excellence
Gebenstorf, Switzerland
1 review
“Fantastic hotel for families and couples”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

We stayed at this beautiful, calm, lounge hotel with fantastic kitchen (former Michelin star cook from Morocco) end of May 2012. We had fantastic weather and the personel did an incredible job with our 2 year old little boy Fynn. They kept an eye on him when we were eating, provided us with babyphone so that we could enjoy a nice evening dinner while he was already sleeping in our room.
The pool and the beachchairs are very nice and well maintained. The pool has one undeep part for the kids and other deep part for the adults to swim. The kids immediately get used to their part of the pool and play there non-stop.
The atmosphere at the hotel is very relax and private. It feels that you are spending time with your family at a beautiful villa by the sea. We rent a little car and discover the incredible beaches on the island. It gave us the freedom and flexibilty we were looking for. I can only say good things about this hotel and we will definetly return in 2013.

Room Tip: We had a room with huge terrace on the 1st floor facing the pool and with fantastic sea view. Excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    118
    31
    19
    12
See reviews for
76
152
46
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I had a wonderful trip to Formentera earlier this year. My boyfriend and I travelled to Ibiza from London, and stayed there for the weekend, enjoying the early season on the party island for a couple of days before taking the quick ferry over to Formentera. It's such a beautiful island, so peaceful and restorative, with amazing beaches. I'd been looking forward to a yoga retreat with the fantastic Jax May Lysycia for quite some time, having previously attended a yoga course with her in the UK, and the Gecko retreat was simply wonderful. I love her dynamic, balanced approach to yoga, with an emphasis on stillness and peace, on really connecting to yourself, and restoring balance. Jax always takes the time to be thorough, and to explain what she means, and the reasons for everything, and the history, which is great. It felt so luxurious to have so much time devoted to yoga! And yet the middle of the day was left free for relaxation or any other activities. I also loved the silent meditation walks on the beach at sunrise each morning, the delicious healthy food, and really nice relaxed company. My boyfriend stayed with me at Gecko but he did not do the yoga, so he was able to read a lot of books, go for walks and bike rides, and just relax. He joined us for all our meals and was still very much part of the group, as everyone was friendly and welcoming, which was very nice. Most people travelled alone, plus there were one or two pairs of friends, and a mother/daughter duo. Abilities were mixed, as were levels of dedication, which was quite refreshing! I would definitely recommend both Jax's yoga, wherever it may be, and also the Gecko Beach Club itself, which is beautiful, with wonderful, quiet service. Bikes can be hired, and massages booked. The weather in April was quite changeable, sometimes hot enough to sunbathe and swim but other times quite windy and almost chilly, so prepare for variety if you travel in the spring. This is a special place and I can't wait to go back. I definitely plan to return for some more of Jax's gloriously rejuvenating yoga. Namaste!

Room Tip: I would think all the rooms would be great. Our room had a balcony with a sea view and it was beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelyogini89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
158 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Second visit, still the place to stay in Formentera. Simple but good rooms, good breakfast, amazing pool. A couple of excellent additions since last summer - the kids' club has been extended in hours and activities yet still is very pleasantly informal. And the lunch menu with pizzas etc in the more active chiringuito is also very nice. They are trying to liven up sundowners with djs and g+ts etc, but with little success... to be honest, with places like piratabus, blue bar, cala saona, etc, they may as well give up.

Why only 4 out of 5? The hotel benefits from being on the beach but there is quite a lot of seaweed, so didn't use it. The prices are rising rapidly each year. The restaurant is packed for lunch but lacks a bit in atmosphere in the evening. And whilst some of the staff are amazing, especially poolside, chiringuito and the bar area, those in the restaurant could do with losing the attitude (esp one of the breakfast girls!).

Still very good and on the best island in the med!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
384 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Situated on the Migjorn beach this beach bar is attached and part of the Gecko hotel,
which we are lead to believe is where the celebs stay when on Formentera.
Staying down the beach at the Tayala bungalows (see my review) we stopped by for a drink and found it very nice sensible prices excellent service and good music.
Being end of season it was quiet but looks to be a nice hotel and would certainly stay there if we visited and didn't opt for self catering - which has its advantages.
Some photos to follow.

Room Tip: We visited the bar restaurant only
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We didn't stay here, but we ate here twice and planned to stay for an afternoon at the beach. The beach, however, was just "okay" and didn't measure up to many or even most of the other superb beaches on the island. The pool area was also very quiet. The hotel looked nice and well-maintained, but vacationing here would be a quiet experience. It is also quite some distance from other places on the island, so plan for a rental car or at least motorbikes. We saw a couple arriving by taxi and immediately thought that was probably a mistake, both in convenience and cost. The food at the restaurant was quite good and the service was excellent, but the prices were also the highest we had seen on the island, and the island is somewhat known for being pricey. Basically, very good food at Manhattan prices. (I don't mean to scare people away by the prices, as I did feel it was acceptable for the price, but don't expect a bargain.) And while the website makes it look like an active "W" hotel type experience, it is too small a place to have a "buzz" going. Perhaps for a honeymoon, or even a sedate long weekend with very young kids who want to play on the playground or pool. Actually, thinking about it, perhaps perfect for a quiet, romantic rendezvous, where neither wants much likelihood of running into someone they know Maybe that's what its all about... Ah, for those so inclined ... perfect.

Room Tip: few of the rooms face the ocean, but I'm not sure that's the best view anyway. Some have pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N700hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

We spent in this hotel few days in the middle of september .
The hotel itself ( living areas, rooms , swimming pool, the garden) is really above the avaradge for formentera. It is a really nice boutique hotel where you can easily spend a relaxing period.
The food is also really good. The ingredient are really fresh and high quality and the price is quite high .

The service overall is below the expectation. Despite the high level of the structure , the staff is quite young and not well trained to respect the expectations given the high price per night.

So some details to be fixed but overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matutone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We spent our last day on Formentera at the Gecko Club before catching an evening ferry. Reception and staff were very nice and efficient, and we appreciated the policy of sunbeds and umbrella being provided with the purchase of lunch. Unfortunately, the lunch turned out to be a disappointment, partly because there was a group discussing wedding plans seated right next to us in a nearly empty restaurant. Although the design is very attractive, there just seemd to be something missing in the general ambiance. The Gecko Club doesn't have rights to the beach, so you're umbrella and sunbed-less once you leave the pool area. The beach is not the best stretch of Migjorn. All in all the negatives outweighed the positives.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Migjorn
3.3 mi away
Hotel Riu La Mola
Hotel Riu La Mola
#1 of 4 in Migjorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
2.7 mi away
Blanco Hotel Formentera
Blanco Hotel Formentera
#2 of 29 in Formentera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hostal La Savina
Hostal La Savina
#1 of 3 in La Savina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casbah Formentera
Hotel Casbah Formentera
#1 of 3 in Sant Francesc de Formentera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Cala Saona
Hotel Cala Saona
#4 of 29 in Formentera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Entre Pinos
Hotel Entre Pinos
#1 of 2 in Es Calo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko Beach Club

Property: Gecko Beach Club
Address: Ca Mari, 07860 Migjorn, Formentera, Spain (Formerly Costa Azul Hostal)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Formentera > Migjorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Migjorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gecko Beach Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gecko Hotel & Beach Club is a boutique hotel situated on the magical island of Formentera, just meters away from the turquoise waters of Migjorn beach in the peaceful area of Ca-Marí. Its chic and modern design coupled with its idyllic ambience make Formentera's Gecko Hotel & Beach Club the perfect paradise to spend your vacation, sample the cuisine and enjoy a cocktail or to celebrate any type of special event such as weddings, parties, conferences or exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Gecko Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gecko Beach Club Hotel Migjorn
Gecko Beach Hotel
Gecko Beach Club Formentera/Migjorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing