We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost everything as expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Migjorn
Pistoia, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost everything as expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We booked with Italian tour operator (Franco Rosso) and the holiday reflected what we were promised. Ca Marì is a nice location and allow you to easily tour the main attractions of the island (you can hire byclicle for free or book car/bike rental and the bus stop is just outside the hotel). We preffered the studio solution and were given one at the back side, quite position, clean with little problems to door closure and poor quality TV, bed and pillow. Cleaning staff polite but always around (seem never to finish cleaning). Most client choose the all inclusive making very expensive the extras at the bar for those like us with the half board. entartainement level in the average. Reception staff very profesional. Swimming pool and restaurant area could be cleaner, not many sunbeds and towels left to book the small place in the shadow. Not much beach facilities (but this is the same almost everywhere in the island). Nice and plenty food.
Check for the best bargain if you wish to book.

Room Tip: If you wish and intimate vacation ask for rooms/studio not facing the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laulab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Manager at Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Good morning from Formentera!
Thank you very much for your report. We are glad to know that we reached your expectations and that you had a nice stay with us. Regarding the studios, we are planning on improvements for next season, completing all rooms with new tv and more channel receptions, and general refurbishment. So If you decide to visit us again you will be able to enjoy the change! We are continually working on improvements on our service and to keep satisfaction high with all the different nationalities we cater for. We hope to be seeing you soon!!
Regards,
Daniel Tur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    353
    143
    64
    52
See reviews for
269
411
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We booked this holiday through Thomson all inclusive and although we arrived at our booked time we were greeted at the hotel at 14.30 to a very friendly receptionist.
We were advised the room would be ready for 15.00 and were allowed to use the facilities until then so we sat at the bar, even though the website states check in after 13.00.
On entering our room it was very nice and pleasant with an impressive view and very clean and tidy.
We wandered down for the evening meal and the food was absolutely exceptional I would go as far as to say it was fantastic there was catering for every ones tastes and as soon as you sat down a friendly waiter was at your service and ready to assist you.
The entertainment was good also, the Insotel entertainment staff go out of there way day in and day out effortlessly to give you a fantastic holiday experience, and are there at 12 when the bar closes in the evening and are there again to greet you at the door for breakfast in the morning. The bar staff again are fantastic and will assist as much as they can.
As for nationalities there were very few English in the hotel with it being mainly Spanish and Italian holidaymakers.
The bar area and swimming pools fantastic but only criticism was on one day there were no beds so had to go to the 'off shot' of the hotel down a few stairs, called South Beach they advertise 20% off for all inclusive guests, but this is only on certain items so had to pay 30 Euros for a luxury bed for the day.
Rooms cleaned on a daily basis with the cleaning staff being also very friendly. After the first night, when i woke in the morning i thought i had been sleeping on an ironing board with the beds being so hard.
If you are looking for a relaxing week sunbathing and chillaxing by the pool and the beach, with the odd day trip on the island, then being snuggled up in bed for 00.30 then this is the holiday for you, because by the time the bar closes and you feel like falling down ♫, there is pretty much nothing else but bed time.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again but next time I will certainly not book on a package holiday with the tour operator I booked with on this occasion.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Manager at Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Good afternoon from Formentera,
Just a few words to thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are continually working to make improvements, so we hope you will choose us again and let us know what you think!
Regards,
Daniel Tur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Reviews for this hotel vary however opinions are undoubtedly linked to expections. We chose the hotel as a base for exploring the island rather than for it's facilities and entertainment. We were therefore surprised to find a reasonably smart and busy place with lots going on. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. We were fortunate to have been given an upgraded room which was quite spacious, clean, comfortable and had a balcony with sea view. There was a huge choice of food at both breakfast and dinner and drinks were included with the evening meal ( a surprise as we were only on half board ). Quality was conistently good though main course choices were tastier on some nights than others. We didn't use the swimming pools but the pool area looked well maintained and there were plenty of sun loungers. We pre booked car hire for the week but there were bikes and scooters for hire on site as well as a little supermarket.

Overall the hotel exceeded our expectations and I would recommend it. It is geared up to all inclusive rather than the half board we were on ( not made clear by Thomson ) Travel via Ibiza and the ferry is really quick and easy. If booking with Thomsons however don't rely on much information from the rep who always seemed in a rush on the few times she visited the hotel and seemed to be able to tell us more about the history and pirates than how to get about on the island !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tkette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Manager at Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments!! We are glad to know exceded your expectations and we hope to be welcoming you back soon.
Regards from Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa.
Daniel Tur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

My room should had been Lux superior sea view. It was a very small room tht I could not go around because of my baggage (just two). The sea was visible if you extended your neck and whole body outside the window. The people there were very unprofessional, I cant listed all here because it will be too long ....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 4G4i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Manager at Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. It's a shame you did not bring to my attention or our guest service manager your discomfort as we could have tried to help you during your stay. We are continually working on improvements in the facilities and on improving our service. Thank you for your comments.
Regards,
Daniel Tur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Booked a double-room via the hotel web page for a short weekend break (2 nights) in the second half of September 2012. The hotel is easy to find, a 15-minute drive from the Port. But then, everything is 15 minutes from everything else in Formentera. Public transport buses also call on the hotel, and there is plenty of parking space in the vicinity.

I arrived three and a half hours before the hotel check-in time without really expecting to get the room that early. But the room was available, and made available to me immediately. Points for that.

The room was on the second floor (209), overlooking the hotel entrance, so no view to speak of. At first I was worried about noise, but the windows turned out to be soundproof.

The room was large and clean, if a little crowded because it had 3 beds. The bathroom was equally spacious and clean, with good quality cosmetics.

The hotel is situated on what is perhaps one of the least attractive beaches on the island. But the least attractive in Formentera is still way-better-than-average by normal standards. It has a nice wooden pathway leading to the Gecko Beach Club - a recommended walk.

The hotel pool is nice, but irrelevant - who would spend even a minute at the hotel pool when superb beaches with crystalline water are just a short drive away? Well, quite a few people do, as I found out to my astonishment.

I judge hotel breakfasts by the quantity and variety of fruits and local cheese, so I was happy. There was also bacon and eggs for people who eat such stuff, as well as many other things. The restaurant was large and the food plentiful - no queues. My only gripe was that the breakfast was served relatively late (from 8 am) and for a relatively short time (till 10:15).

Night entertainment at the hotel is something to run in the opposite direction from. It included some sort of a cabaret which appeared to consist mainly of loud shouting in different languages. Later, when everyone got suitably drunk, the band started playing international oldies hits. La Macarena, Y.M.C.A. - no stone remained unturned. Bizzarely, people seemed to enjoy this. When the band started playing "Mueve la colita bonita, rica" with everyone wiggling their behinds vigorously, that was my cue for clearing out of the area.

There is a small but well-stocked supermarket on premises, which I found great for stocking up on water. You will burn through litres and litres of water - it gets VERY hot on the island in the summer. Even at the end of September, with nominal temperatures around 26 Centigrade, the thermal sensation was at least 35. Very humid. Fortunately, the hotel room had efficient air-conditioning.

I didn't try any other hotel facilities - it would be a sin to waste even a minute longer than necessary in a hotel, in a place which has some much to offer. Just to mention that there was some sort of a beach club which didn't look half bad, and that there was good strong WiFi everywhere - always a big plus in my book.

One thing which I didn't like: For some reason, the hotel staff seems obsessed with the use of air-fresheners. I don't know what other smells they are trying to mask, but everywhere in the hotel it smelled like if you put 3 air-fresheners in a car and let it closed for a week. This can't be healthy. I asked the staff to refrain from using the nasty stuff in my room, so at least I got a respite there.

The hotel is quite expensive for what it is (EUR 172 per night including breakfast), but that's the "location tax". It would cost 40% less if it was in a less special place.

OK, I don't know what else to mention. Perhaps just the fact that for the first time in my life, I was refused a late check-out. But I can't really blame them for that, as it was never a part of the contract. What I can blame them for is that the maid barged into the room half an hour before the normal check-out time, ignoring the Do Not Disturb sign. But then, they'd allowed me to check in full three and a half hours early, so these things kind of cancel each other out, I guess.

I think I can recommend this hotel, overall. But if money is no object and you are comfortable booking a year in advance, stay at the Gecko Beach Club. That's a whole different level.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view if you can. They are much more expensive, but the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank K1000B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

Ounce you visit formentera, and you chose to stay in a hotel, i think insotel is good. overpriced, but all hotel in formentera are. Good food, really nice beach bar, relax. The beach in front of the hotel is not good, but 150 meter on the left you can go on lucky or blue bar. Motorcycling, auto, bycicle, bus on the hotel. Nice recepsionist Rosa! Enjoy formentera.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Besaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Ignore the bad reviews on here! This hotel was wonderful. We stayed here for 4 nights in August (husband and children aged 13 and 10). We came from the sister hotel Insotel Cala Tarida Beach in Ibiza. They were offerering stays at this hotel as the Cala Tarida Beach was very busy and this hotel was half empty. I loved the fact that you could still get a sunbed here at midday unlike the sister hotel!!! The staff were all so lovely and helpful too.

Hardly any English, mainly Italians and French. Food was very good. Drinks were all international brands. Entertainment Team were mainly Italian but all spoke English and were great with our children. The entertainment wasn't the best but was ok. Tennis Courts were free as was bike hire (for a small deposit). There is a main hotel block and then small blocks of apartments on the opposite side to the pool - ours was virtually on the beach with amazing views.

The pool was lovely and very clean and the children did water polo every day.

The beach was rocky but very quiet and the sea was so clear and a beautiful turquoise colour, ideal for snorkelling.

The two downsides to the hotel were the location, in the middle of nowhere and nowhere to walk to. Secondly the aircon was useless and leaked onto the floor every night.

Other than that we loved it. Most people who came from Cala Tarida Beach asked to stay longer and one German family had only been at Cala Tarida for one night then asked to stay at this hotel for the duration of their holiday and this was not a problem....they even sent over the rest of their luggage!!!

Even though Formentera doesn't have an airport, it's very easy to get to - only 35 mins by fast boat from Ibiza Town and the boats go very regularly!

The best part of staying at this lovely hotel was that it was free!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsp4668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Migjorn
2.9 mi away
Hotel Riu La Mola
Hotel Riu La Mola
#1 of 4 in Migjorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
2.9 mi away
Insotel Club Maryland
Insotel Club Maryland
#12 of 29 in Formentera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
2.9 mi away
Blanco Hotel Formentera
Blanco Hotel Formentera
#3 of 29 in Formentera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Entre Pinos
Hotel Entre Pinos
#1 of 2 in Es Calo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hostal La Savina
Hostal La Savina
#1 of 3 in La Savina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Club Punta Prima
Hotel Club Punta Prima
#2 of 9 in Es Pujols
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa

Property: Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa
Address: Playa Migjorn, 07860 Migjorn, Formentera, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Formentera > Migjorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Migjorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the middle of Formentera’s magnificent and quiet Migjorn beach. It´s ideal for families and couples with an entertanment program for adults and children, watersports at the beach, free bicicle rental, gym, indoor and outdoor pools. SOUTH Beach Club offers mediterranean food and cocktails, daybeds, chillout music etc for an extra charge, with discounts for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insotel Club Formentera Playa Hotel Migjorn
Insotel Hotel Migjorn
Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa Migjorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing