We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in super location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Migjorn
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in super location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed for two weeks in this hotel
. Great hotel with lovely facilities and in a great location next to interesting and beautiful beaches. Great room that included cooking facilities even though on AI basis. Staff were very nice and patient and always willing to help. Great food in the restaurant and snacks at the poolside bar. Nice relaxing holiday. The hotel caters well for kids. In a quiet area which is generally unspoilt and nearby on the beach are a couple of popular small friendly bars and restaurants with a true local feel. If you need to get out and about then taxis are reasonable and buses cheap. Very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms over reception are noisy with guests arriving/departing. Rooms towards the beach are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review following your recent visit.
Your feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide and we are therefore delighted that we have met your expectations and made your stay with us an occasion to remember.
Your kind comments that the Staff are nice and patient are most appreciated. They take great interest in our guests to ensure that their stay is comfortable and memorable and so we are pleased that their efforts were noticed. I shall ensure that your kind feedback is shared with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you and your Family back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Clarissa Ferrario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    353
    143
    64
    52
See reviews for
269
411
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Had a lovely one week stay at this beautiful hotel which is very popular with Italians,Spanish and Germans .Not much you can fault about it friendly staff, great peaceful location,and kept spotlessly clean by an army of early morning cleaners every tile and slab inside and out is cleaned daily.The restaurant serves a wide selection of good food from the buffet style food or the chefs specials which are cooked fresh in front of you every night and morning. The only thing you can fault are the beds they are very small with a rock hard mattress very uncomfortable and make for a poor nights sleep the rest of the bedroom is bright and airy with a decent size balcony with chairs to relax on and watch the sun set over the beach.A tip for around the hotel is to ask for the in house credit card they do not offer it to you.Go to reception and ask for it.This way you can book everything to your room pay at the end of your holiday and speeds up the service in the bars.

Room Tip: If you have a sea view room ask for extra key so you can put the air conditioning on in the early ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard1265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Manager at Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Richard1265,
thank you very much for taking the time of sharing you kind comments with us and tripadvisor users!
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be welcoming you back soon at our Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa.
Many regards from Formentera.
Daniel Tur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed here for a week (7th June to 14th June) Lovely hotel, reception staff extremely professional and helpful throughout my stay, some of the names I recall are Elisa and Rodrigo - Rodrigo was very helpful when i suffered a jelly fish sting (and the life gaurd who sorted it out for me). All were extremely professional and helpful. Hats off to them.
The hotel is very well located the area is lovely. There a lot of Italian, Spanish, German as the majority of people staying at this hotel. Only a handful of British. The pools are well maintained and there are steps down to the beach and it is pristine apart from cigarette stubs - what a shame that holiday makers are leaving them in the sand. As everyone else has said if you walk half a mile along the boarded walk way you come to a lovely long stretch of beach. Please note that it is a nudist beach so it is very much a mixed bag of who is covered and who is not. There is enough room for all as the beach is so long.
The food in the hotel is great - only quibble is that the vegetarian options could have a V next to it to make it clear. Also be careful of the fish dishes as they do have small bones - I found some of the fish dishes overly salty and then other times it tasted delightful.
There are a lot of children at this hotel and it is down to the parents to keep them in check at dining times. My other quibble was about Jacinto telling a male friend to wear long trouser next time he attends dinner, however I did not hear him say it to any other the other europeans wearing shorts - Not really sure why the double standards.
There is a lovely little cafe/restaurant/bar over the road - Carbela's I think it is called, that is also worth checking out - great food over there if you go half board and there is also free wifi.
All in all a great holiday and I would definitely recommend if you want sun and relaxation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Manager at Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guest,
first of all, we thank very much for sharing your review on Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa.
Formentera is a fantastic Island and we do our best to fit in and be a perfect complement to a complete holiday.
We have taken note of your comments on the beach and also the suggestions for the vegetarian food. And we will make sure the staff mentioned also receive your comments.
Kind regards,
Daniel Tur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just arrived home after spending a week here to celebrate my birthday. Cannot fault the hotel, staff and food all excellent. The rooms are large and clean, the restaurant was always clean and well stocked with great food, my wife is a veggie and she had a great choice, fresh fish everyday and loads of fresh fruit, veg and salads. Drinks were all the proper ones no cheap imitations, and large measures!!! Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet holiday in the sun.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 158, had a seaview of such but I think all rooms are similiar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Manager at Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments and for taking the time of sharing them with us.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your holidays and we hope to be welcoming you back very soon!!!
Regards,
Daniel Tur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stratfordupon avon Warks
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

we arrived here from alternate accommodation in which we weren't happy....what a difference....this was a lovely light bright clean hotel. The rooms were clean and spacious and had nice modern clean bathrooms. The restaurant was always busy but served a wide variety of well presented, well cooked food, some cooked to order. The staff were helpful and friendly, the pool area was kept clean and tidy and the pool was beautiful. A short walk from the pool took you onto a beach which although not pristine white sand with no rocks was perfectly adequate and you could easily find a spot to lay down and the sea was crystal clear but ICE cold!!! Very refreshing. If you walked about 1/2 mile along a walkway alongside the beach you would arrive at the main beach, a long unspoilt strip of white sand....perfect ....
The only criticism I could have of this hotel is that there were a lot of children running around unattended by any parent....and they were a positive nuisance in the dining room some nights and the foyer area every evening running screaming etc ....this is really a parental issue but maybe the hotel need to point out to parents that their children are their responsibility before some sort of accident occurs. As the kids dominated the public areas most evenings we never managed to get seats etc for any entertainment so I cannot comment on the quality of this..... It would be a really good idea to make the Insotel Club Maryland THE hotel for kiddies with great facilities etc and to make the Formentera Playa adult only.......with all this being said , we have already booked for next year as we had a lovely holiday

Room Tip: the higher rooms are better than the lower rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nikita1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Manager at Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guests,
We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for sharing your comments on the hotel.
We work to improve our facilities and service every year and it is very helpful to read what you find we are doing right and also the suggestions you give us to keep improving.
It is also very good to know you have already chosen us for your next visit to Formentera. I look forward to welcoming you back at Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa!!
Many regards from sunny Formentera!
Daniel Tur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We checked out on Saturday 5th October 2013 having enjoyed a wonderful week holiday half board at this hotel. Our room 417 had a beautiful view across the sea front. We thought the food there was amazing with a different selection each evening and of a high standard.
The grounds were beautiful and clean and lovely swimming pools. The entertainment was great and enjoyed the aqua aerobics.

When we arrived home we have booked straight back up to go again 27th September 2014 for our wedding anniversary this time we have opted for the all inclusive option. If your looking for a lovely romantic holiday with beautiful scenery and lovely food and nice people then this is the place to go.

Many thanks to all the staff Mr and Mrs Bull.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Director General at Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hello Joanne,
thank you very much for your kind comments and for taking the time to share them with us. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and also that you have decided to revisit next september.
We will do our best to make sure you and your husband have a wonderful holiday!
Looking forward to welcoming you again at our Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa.
Regards from Formentera,
Daniel Tur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Just returned from a week's holiday at this hotel. Stayed in one of their Junior Suite Lux Sea View rooms on the 2nd floor, which was fantastic. The room was a great size, with a large king size bed, wall-mounted flat screen TV, ipod dock, separate dressing area and the biggest bathroom with a fantastic view of the sea. It had a great wrap-around balcony which looked out over the swimming pool on one side, and the beach on the other. I would definitely recommend staying in one of these rooms. They were very clean and modern, with lots of space, and came with free wi-fi which was a great perk. The only issue I had (and it is a tiny one) was that the English TV channels were very limited - only found BBC World News and the Disney channel.
We only had breakfast included, but it was fantastic. It is a buffet style, although there is someone cooking fresh eggs and omelettes to order. The variety and quality of the food was great. I am a really fussy eater, and I had no problems at all. Also ate lunch one day at the South Beach Club restaurant, which was nice.
We had no problems regarding getting sun-loungers, but it was the end of September so might be more of an issue in peak-season. They maybe could do with a few more parasols as the sun did get very hot around lunchtime. The beach in front of the hotel was nice, but small. However, you only have to walk a few minutes along the board-walks to get to other larger beaches. The sea was lovely and warm, and great for swimming in, with gorgeous white sands.
The staff were all lovely and very friendly, and a credit to the hotel.
All in all, we had a fantastic time - loved the hotel and the location. Would definitely return another time, and would book the same room again (247).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mugrad2967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Director General at Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear guest,
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I thank you for your kind comments.
We hope to be improving some of the aspects that you mention, like the limited amount of english TV channels. Also we hope to be implementing some new aspects in our food & beverage offer and also in some of our facilities.
September is a fantastic time of the year to visit Formentera! We hope to be welcoming you again soon!
Kind regards,
Daniel Tur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Migjorn
2.9 mi away
Hotel Riu La Mola
Hotel Riu La Mola
#1 of 4 in Migjorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
2.9 mi away
Insotel Club Maryland
Insotel Club Maryland
#13 of 29 in Formentera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
2.9 mi away
Blanco Hotel Formentera
Blanco Hotel Formentera
#2 of 29 in Formentera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Entre Pinos
Hotel Entre Pinos
#1 of 2 in Es Calo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Club Punta Prima
Hotel Club Punta Prima
#2 of 9 in Es Pujols
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Casbah Formentera
Hotel Casbah Formentera
#1 of 3 in Sant Francesc de Formentera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa

Property: Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa
Address: Playa Migjorn, 07860 Migjorn, Formentera, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Formentera > Migjorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Migjorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the middle of Formentera’s magnificent and quiet Migjorn beach. It´s ideal for families and couples with an entertanment program for adults and children, watersports at the beach, free bicicle rental, gym, indoor and outdoor pools. SOUTH Beach Club offers mediterranean food and cocktails, daybeds, chillout music etc for an extra charge, with discounts for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insotel Club Formentera Playa Hotel Migjorn
Insotel Hotel Migjorn
Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa Migjorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing