We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, best part of the beach, clean and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rummana Boutique Resort
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Rooms are smallish, though adequate for two people.

Bedlinens and towels are all very clean - replaced everyday which is nice. The bathroom has an candle / oil burner to keep it nice and fresh. Rooms are well cleaned every day, with a little note to say who had cleaned it and what time!

Aircon is a tad noisy, but you do get used to it.

Shower is not brilliant, as it's non-thermostatically controlled - quickly going from warm to hot then cold then back to hot. Not nice if you've got a bit of sunburn!

The room comes with breakfast. Breakfast consists of a continental breakfast spread. You'll get juices, fruits, cereal, salad, bread, pastries, omelette, bacon, and some local food every day.

Only ate a couple of times at the restaurant, but the food really was excellent - tasty, well presented. Not cheap though!

Lamai town is about 15 min walk from Rummana up the hill then down into the town.
Chaweng town a 20 min taxi / tuktuk ride.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Lots of shops nearby - 7-11, Familymart and cheap restaurants right outside, along with car rental / bike rental, tour operators, massage etc etc.

Rummana provides deck chairs, umbrellas and beach towels at the beach. PC at the restaurant provides free internet access. Can get busy. In-room wifi is expensive.

This is the quiet section of the Lamai beach as it is near Hin Ta Hin Ya. Beachbars / restaurants a 15 minute walk away. Beach was not particularly clean is we were there a month after the floods.... got noticably better whilst we were there though. Too many dogs, too much dog poo on the beach.

What it needs:
1. Improved showers
2. Free internet access via wifi
3. Flat screen TV in the rooms
4. Quieter aircon

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2011

We loved this hotel and didn't want to leave. The rooms are like bungalows but they're big (or maybe it's just that the space is used well) with a little living area built in, and a nice bathroom. Great care is taken, and on arrival you get flower bracelets and the room has flowers all sprinkled through and welcome spelled out in petals on the bed. We took a photo, it was so charming :-) Air con was good and not too loud, so we slept the best we had the entire trip. The bungalows are set out between little paths and bridges etc that run through the grounds with lots of plants. It's a bit of a maze through a little tropical paradise to get to the pool and the restaurant and beach. Hotel is right on the beach and the pool and restuarant lead right on to the beach. Restaurant and beach bar are good, very nice food. Free internet on a computer in restaurant. Tons of staff so everything is efficient and they all seem very happy in their work so are very friendly. You don't even notice your room get turned over - it's like pixies come while you are out, even if only for a short time! Would recommend this hotel to people looking for a relaxing hotel in a peaceful part of Samui.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank caztravel96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We arrived Rummana Boutiqe Hotel Resort hanuary 2011.
It was our third stay at this hotel - Our second home. Ever since we first arrived this hotel in 2008, we`re always felt very welcome. The staff are very friendly and the food excellent.
In our opinionthis is a great hotel for couples but not so suited for familys with small children.
The cosy byngalows are suited for two persons, the pool for grownups and the waves on the beach are a little to big for children.
This is an excellent place - a paradise - for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank UncleLarstrheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We arrived Rummana Boutiqe Hotel Resort hanuary 2011.
It was our third stay at this hotel - Our second home. Ever since we first arrived this hotel in 2008, we`re always felt very welcome. The staff are very friendly and the food excellent.
In our opinionthis is a great hotel for couples but not so suited for familys with small children.
The cosy byngalows are suited for two persons, the pool for grownups and the waves on the beach are a little to big for children.
This is an excellent place - a paradise - for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UncleLarstrheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We stayed for one month, I could have stayed for another month, we did not want to leave - fantastic does not really cover it - we strongly recommend this resort if you like the smaller hotels with a personal touch. This amazing boutique resort consists of good sized individual villas located in an lush tropical garden setting right on the beach. The decor style is "shabby chique" that has a special charm all of it's own. The huge beds are unbelievably confortable with both soft and hard pillows. The only minor criticism regarding the room is that storage space is a little limited. What really stands out about this resort are the staff, we have travelled all over the world and stayed at some wonderful hotels but the quality of service we recieved from the staff at the Rummana exceeded anything we have experienced before. All the staff were first class, attentive, polite, fun ( if you wanted that), nothing was too much trouble, absolutely top class. The service provided at this resort well exceeds what you would expect from a resort in this price bracket. My wife and I love good food - the restaurant in this resort in phenominal, high quality gourmet food at brilliant prices. Even the snacks are works of art, we tried some of the best restaurants in Koh Samui and payed a lot of money, the food is better in the Rummana and a third of the price. The restaurant offers a vast range of snacks, phenominal Thai cuisine and a good range of European dishes, try the Ceasar Salad, fabulous, the steak is to "die for" as is the fillet of sea bass. Every single dish we tried in this restaurant was exceptional. We often criticise hotels for being overpriced when it comes to drinks and food prices, the Rummana gets it just right, just a little bit "up" on the street prices for the drinks but not extortionate and the food prices are similar - fantastic value for money, resulting in the fact that lots of guests eat and drink in the resort unlike many other hotels that are empty at nights because their prices are too high.
We cannot recommend this hotel / resort enough - just brilliant - do not expect the facilities of a large complex, just expect a fantastic time with top class service. One last thing, this resort is not really suitable for small children.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

we stayed here over the new year. the hotel is in a great location at the end of the beach so you can walk to Lami in about 15min along the beach. the rooms did not have a lot of storage but were nicely presented and very clean. the staff were lovely and allways had a smile.
We were there over new year so had to pay for the gala dinner. it was a bit expensive but they put on a great selection of food and entertainment followed by fireworks. You do need to pay for drinks on top.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fran_juk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We were greeted at the airport with Ae from Rummana holding a big clear sign with our name. We recieved the traditional welcome experiance from Rummana with a band of flowers around our wrists, wet face towel and chilled water. Both Ae and the driver were very talkative and informative with our journey to the resort which took about 45mins.

Once arriving we got to relax in their lounge style receiption area, 2 fresh young coconuts and checkin while relaxing. Pretty cool checkin :)

Before I came when emailing the airport pickup I mentioned we were newly weds and if they could give us a room near the beach and do any to make our stay special.

After getting the grand tour by Ae we were taken to our room which was impreesively right near the beach, restuarant and pool area, you couldn't have ask for a better location. Once entering our room they had done the room up in honeymoon style with heart/swan shaped towels on our bed inside a huge heart of flowers and also a basket of fruits, roses and a happy honeymoon cake...wow!!! Was not expecting that. We paid a very good rate for our rooms and got the best service.

The location is a real relaxing part of Samui, right on the beach, away from all the hussle & bussle of the main centers. Some great places to enjoy close by is walking to Grandfather and Grandmother rocks / Markets. Also best place to eat out (one of the best in Samui we reckon!) is Sabienglae Restaurant - 10 mins walk down the road, just ask reception for directions. The best deal to get a ride into the main centre is standing on the side of the road and wave down a sawng taews (song-towel / a red taxi truck) It's 50THB each to Lamai Center & 100THB to Chaweng.

We also suggest checking out Namuang Safari Park (do one of their tours) for elephant tracking, 4x4 waterfall, 5 x animal shows etc Many Samui day tours were priced over 2,000THB but we always got then down to 1,400-1,700THB, just keep trying a different agents till you find a good one!

HAVE FUN

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trippin-on-paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
1 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
726 reviews
1.6 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 51 in Lamai Beach
433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Beach Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 51 in Lamai Beach
781 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#13 of 51 in Lamai Beach
569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort
Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort
#23 of 51 in Lamai Beach
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rummana Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rummana Boutique Resort

Address: 124/10 Moo 3 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: £47 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rummana Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Rummana Boutique Resort, a little goes a long way. Masterfully designed in every aspect, choose from our "Island Chic" Deluxe Villas or Rummana Suites for a perfect stay, private, peaceful, well-equipped and fully stocked, you'll never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rummana Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rummana Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rummana Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing