We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Am Samui Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Am Samui Palace
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at Am Samui for 5 nights. We arrived at Samui after a rather disastrous 24 hour journey from Bangkok and so the last thing we wanted was a bad place to start our vacation in Samui. Am Samui is defintely value for money. The location is perfect. Just 2-3 mins walk from the beach. Right across the night market and in close proximity of the restaurants and pubs. The staff is pretty helpful and the most pleasent thing is all the girls at reception please decent or good english. They were always keen to help us out and were prepared to provide any advice. On the first night we asked them the address for a restaurant we found on internet and they called the restaurant, booked a table for us and drew a map of the way to the restaurant. Extremely helpful. You can hire bikes through the reception and they will do their best to find out an option for you. They also book all the day trips to Tao and Nang yuan but they are not too pushy (unlike other places who have a cut on the booking so they always push you to book through them).
The rooms are basic. The bathroom didnt have a bath tub. But end of the day you get what you pay for. This place is a lot cheaper than other 3 star places and being in Samui we spend most of the time at the beach or out dinning or enjoying the night life.
The only drawback to me was the breakfast. They certainly need to upgrade the standards. Saw few flies hovering around the fresh fruits counter. Not something you want to see!!
You need to be extremely choosy while selecting the room. There are some pubs nearby that plays music till like 4-5 in the morning. So be clear about your preference when checking in or even better when booking.
Overall, this place is value for money. Great location and helpful staff. Only wish they have better breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hardik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We hadn't booked anywhere for 6 of our 21 days touring Thailand. We found this gem just by walking round Lamai. We actually stayed in their annex building about 3mins from the main hotel.

It was just on the edge of all the bars so nice and quiet. A huge room, basic with TV and ac and very clean. Constant hot water! We could use any of the hotel facilities if we wished.

The staff were really friendly and helpful, the best we encountered in all 7 hotels. It was also by far the cheapest. The 4 or 5 star hotels we stayed in could learn some valuable lessons in customer service.

We didn't eat in the hotel. The breakfast looked basic buffet but for 200 baht ok.

Probably our favourite all round experience in Thailand. Certainly the best value by far.

Thank you :)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Marcus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My husband and I stayed for our honeymoon an thought it was amazing. The staff were so helpful and friendly from the desk staff to the porters. They gave us good advice and really looked after us. We stayed for 9 nights and it felt like home. The rooms were really nice and the location was excellent. It's really close to the beach and the centre of town. It's also really good value for money. We paid 300nzd for hotel in Bangkok to end out honeymoon on a high and ended up with a smaller room. We preferred am samui by far. It ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My wife and me stayed in the hotel during our honeymoon this autumn. We've chosen this hotel since it's located in the center of Lamai town but almost near the beach. The rating was at a high level while the price is fair.

Over a week we stayed here, everything was almost perfect. There were a nice room which was cleaned every two days, a big swimming pool, nice exterior, etc. The breakfast was quite poor though. Besides, it's very noisy at nights due to nearby disco-bars.

Service was at a high level too, until... one day when we returned to our room and found out that a golden ring of my wife - which she left on a cupboard a few hours before - disappeared. For sure, the hotel personnel told us they didn't steal yet, but nobody else could do it. We didn't call the police since the ring wasn't expensive, but just decided to warn you here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vic23tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed only for one night in a garden view room, we should have upgraded to pool view as the pool is nice. Breakfast is good, staff were helpful and the location is excellent, close to bars and restaurant but perfectly quiet in its location. Worth a stay if going to Lamai which is nice place.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank RyanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Very nice hotel near shops, restaurants and the food market. Large, clean and fresh rooms, unfortunately very loud and noisy at night. Breakfast was included. Very nice and helpful staff. Our toilet stopped working late at night so we went down to the reception to ask for help. It took 1 minute and there was a guy fixing it. Very large and nice pool. Took 3-4 min to the lovely beach. They provide you clean pool-towels that you also could bring to the beach. Good laundry service, 50 bath/kilo cleaned, folded and ironed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggiie307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It was a last minute rushed booking, so we were unsure, but it turned out to be a really lovely hotel.

Our twin room was clean, tidy, spacious and comfortable. Had a big balcony (albeit overlooking the car park) and there was a safe, clean towels and TV.

The pool area was lovely, but with the beach just 5 mins away we spent most of the days down there.

The staff were helpful and polite - all in all a nice 3 day stay and somewhere I'd recommend for location and value for money.

Room Tip: I would suggest paying the extra for a garden/pool view room, as the noise from the main strip outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigbadkevsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
718 reviews
1.0 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 51 in Lamai Beach
426 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#1 of 51 in Lamai Beach
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#13 of 51 in Lamai Beach
567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#18 of 51 in Lamai Beach
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weekender Resort
Weekender Resort
#35 of 51 in Lamai Beach
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Am Samui Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Am Samui Palace

Address: 124 / 39 Moo 3 T. Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Price Range: £35 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Am Samui Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Am Samui Palace is a tranquil family owned resort with the genuine feel of a Bed and Breakfast. It first opened its doors only 3 years ago, embracing the approach of providing warm and personal services to all their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Am Samui Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Am Samui Palace Koh
Am Samui Palace Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing