We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Am Samui Palace

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Am Samui Palace
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a very good resort, in an excellent location in central Lamai. The pool is large and deep. The rooms are clean, and have air conditioning that works. Breakfast is a small but good selection of western foods, fruit, cereal, toast, coffee,etc. and a little thai style food - noodles or rice. There is an egg chef to make your eggs as you like.

We stayed in the Pool rooms, and you could faintly hear the late night music from down the road (nothing to keep you awake). We were here in the quiet season, and the staff were very attentive and friendly. Within walking distance are the beach, the night markets, the best bars, and the outdoor pole dancers (that's where the music comes from), and there is plenty of good food to eat in Lamai. I would stay here again without hesitation. I'd also like to suggest you use their airport transfer service, the van is brand new, and the transfer cost is comparable to any other taxi service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    77
    25
    4
    4
See reviews for
34
79
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Nice resort. Garden rooms were more than okay. But during night very noisy... sometimes very loud music until 5 o clock in the morning. But not fault of the resort. And finally too many russians in Lamai. If it s going on in this way you can forget Samui soon as a paradise holiday location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bannasanuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roudnice nad Labem, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Hello, we spend there 5 nights in February and it was realy excellent. The hotel is situated on very good place. You are in the centre of Lamai Beach but not on the main street, the hotel itself in on the courtyard, so there are no cars or motorbikes to hit you in front of the reception :-) There is only 5 minute walk to the beach and let´s say 25 - 30 minutes walk from the Grandfather and Grandmother rocks.
The hotel itself is very comfortable and cosy. We had a room on the first floor with swimming pool view and I can say that you can hear the noise from the city, but the worst is the noise from another balconies or swimming pool.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, but I would prefere better/communicative english. I think only 2 ladies on the reception were speaking to be able to understand to each other. By the way we were able to communicate.
Very very good breakfast!!!!!
I can recommend to anybody who is looking for very nice hotel with good price in the centre of Lamai Beach.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are situated to the swimming pool view, this is not a problem, when you don´t have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renata V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We staye here 4 nights i february 2014. Perfekt location and VERY plessent personell :) :) It`s a pretty cheap hotell, but it`s in the senter of Lamai, and still pretty high quality :) The pool area is clean and nice, and the beach is just 2-5 min walk :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bompibl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at Am Samui for 5 nights. We arrived at Samui after a rather disastrous 24 hour journey from Bangkok and so the last thing we wanted was a bad place to start our vacation in Samui. Am Samui is defintely value for money. The location is perfect. Just 2-3 mins walk from the beach. Right across the night market and in close proximity of the restaurants and pubs. The staff is pretty helpful and the most pleasent thing is all the girls at reception please decent or good english. They were always keen to help us out and were prepared to provide any advice. On the first night we asked them the address for a restaurant we found on internet and they called the restaurant, booked a table for us and drew a map of the way to the restaurant. Extremely helpful. You can hire bikes through the reception and they will do their best to find out an option for you. They also book all the day trips to Tao and Nang yuan but they are not too pushy (unlike other places who have a cut on the booking so they always push you to book through them).
The rooms are basic. The bathroom didnt have a bath tub. But end of the day you get what you pay for. This place is a lot cheaper than other 3 star places and being in Samui we spend most of the time at the beach or out dinning or enjoying the night life.
The only drawback to me was the breakfast. They certainly need to upgrade the standards. Saw few flies hovering around the fresh fruits counter. Not something you want to see!!
You need to be extremely choosy while selecting the room. There are some pubs nearby that plays music till like 4-5 in the morning. So be clear about your preference when checking in or even better when booking.
Overall, this place is value for money. Great location and helpful staff. Only wish they have better breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hardik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We hadn't booked anywhere for 6 of our 21 days touring Thailand. We found this gem just by walking round Lamai. We actually stayed in their annex building about 3mins from the main hotel.

It was just on the edge of all the bars so nice and quiet. A huge room, basic with TV and ac and very clean. Constant hot water! We could use any of the hotel facilities if we wished.

The staff were really friendly and helpful, the best we encountered in all 7 hotels. It was also by far the cheapest. The 4 or 5 star hotels we stayed in could learn some valuable lessons in customer service.

We didn't eat in the hotel. The breakfast looked basic buffet but for 200 baht ok.

Probably our favourite all round experience in Thailand. Certainly the best value by far.

Thank you :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marcus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

My husband and I stayed for our honeymoon an thought it was amazing. The staff were so helpful and friendly from the desk staff to the porters. They gave us good advice and really looked after us. We stayed for 9 nights and it felt like home. The rooms were really nice and the location was excellent. It's really close to the beach and the centre of town. It's also really good value for money. We paid 300nzd for hotel in Bangkok to end out honeymoon on a high and ended up with a smaller room. We preferred am samui by far. It ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank April R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#28 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#15 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aloha Resort
Aloha Resort
#43 of 50 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Varinda Garden Resort
Varinda Garden Resort
#20 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#10 of 42 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Am Samui Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Am Samui Palace

Property: Am Samui Palace
Address: 124 / 39 Moo 3 T. Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Am Samui Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Am Samui Palace is a tranquil family owned resort with the genuine feel of a Bed and Breakfast. It first opened its doors only 3 years ago, embracing the approach of providing warm and personal services to all their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Am Samui Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Am Samui Palace Koh
Am Samui Palace Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing