We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average restaurant with nothing special.”

Flower Paradise & Roestiland
Ranked #13 of 155 Restaurants in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$19
Cuisines: European, Swiss, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Röstiland is a small resort with 6 bungalows and 2 apartments. We love to spoil you with our excellent cuisine. Do not hesitate to visit us and surprise you. We have closed every Sunday. Best regards and hope to soon. Veronika, Franz and Team
Phuket, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“An average restaurant with nothing special.”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I found this place to be boring with what I would describe as overpriced pub food. It is one of those restaurants either too lazy or cheap to even give you clean cutlery with your main. They simple leave the dirty stuff on the table, considering it only seats about 40 max it wouldn't be much to replace your cutlery. Both the owners asked me "is it Ok?"in quite a negative way as I was eating, almost like they expected you to say "no".!! FYI the question to ask is "how is your meal"? not "is it OK?"
Anyway not a place I would ever bother going back to. It is there for european people who don't eat Thai food as was evident by the lady telling the couple next to me "we are closed tomorrow so you will have to go to..." another european restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    94
    31
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southend on Sea
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Wonderful change!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our dinner here last night so much that we returned for breakfast!
The hosts and staff are very friendly and full of advice about the dishes they serve.
The food was amazing. We loved the rostis, a nice change from Thai food.
Breakfast was great too, we had a ham & cheese rosti each whereas one would have been more than enough between us!
You will pay a little more than most of the local places but it is certainly worth it, top notch hospitality. These guys have got it just right!
The setting is lovely too!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andi_wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent choice and worth a visit”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Had the pleasure of lunch at the Rostiland restaurant on our recent trip to Koh Samui. Absolutely delicious food served by the lovely friendly staff (Cristina is a star) and the owners who were only too happy to help.
Would highly recommend the pork with cream and rosti particularly if you fancy a change from chicken and rice ! Nice ambience with a comfortable laid back vibe, this place is certainly worth a visit if you are in the area. Oh and not overpriced either ! Look forward to returning sometime.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good option near Renaissance”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Had a great lunch with the family. enjoyed the rosti. kids enjoyed the garden with live parakeets.

Was only disappointed with the service possibly because we were first customers for lunch; the owners were busy entertaining their friends.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ednava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
2 reviews
“Delicious Rösti! Large enough portions!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We ate in Röstiland two times and always ordered a meal that included Rösti. It's really tasty and a very good alternative to thai food. The swiss owners are very friendly and the restaurant area is really cozy (nice and quiet garden, pool table, relaxed atmosphere). We can really recommend this place!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flower Paradise & Roestiland also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Flower Paradise & Roestiland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing